We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Cooper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper Hill Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 22, 2007

It was my first experience staying at a bed and breakfast, and now I am hooked. I had enough points for a free night in a hotel in Brattleboro as I drove through New England, but I decided to explore a little more of Vermont. Since the state is well-known for its many B&B's I decided this would be the route, and I spent hours searching through reviews and visiting websites before settling on the Cooper Hill Inn.

From my first contact with Lee on the phone to make the reservation, I knew I had landed on a place that was going to treat me well. I arrived early in the week to find signs of a weekend wedding. I now understand why this is such a popular place to get married. The views are unrivaled and perfect to beautiful outdoor wedding photos.

As it turns out, I was the only guest that evening, and Charles and Lee were very accommodating hosts. They even invited me out on the lawn at night to watch the Leonid meteor shower. I slept like a baby with the window open in a room with a king-sized bed with a view towards the east. I am not a morning person, but daybreak was so enticing that I went out for a morning stroll. I came back just as they were heading out to pick blueberries for breakfast! Needless to say, breakfast was scrumptious.

I can't wait to return next year with my husband, but I will try to make it during foliage season. I highly recommend going out of your way to find this B&B.

  • Liked — Spectacular views and friendly hosts.
  • Disliked — Spotty internet and cell phone signals, but great excuse to unplug!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TraveLibrarian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We spent a fantastic Presidents weekend at the Cooper Hill Inn. Charles & Lee were superb hosts, providing driving directions when we lost our way in the Vermont backroads during a storm, waiting up for us to arrive close to midnight, recommending activities and restaurants and sitting by the fire to chat.
Paid very decent rates for a King deluxe room - good sized room with a balcony facing the spectacular views, king sized bed, in room fire place and jacuzzi in the big bathroom. The inn had two common lounge areas for guests to relax in, including a big TV, Wii game system and books. Breakfast was plentiful & delicious, especially the blueberry pancakes, and in the afternoon tea, coffee, snacks and wine were put out for us to enjoy.
There are acres of woodland on the property for snowshoeing, and It's located about a 10 minute drive from Mt Snow for skiing etc.
Overall we were extremely happy with our stay at the Cooper Hill Inn, and if you're looking for a relaxed, welcoming, warm and comfortable place to stay I'd highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Hosts, breakfast, good value, great room, spectacular views
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, NY
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed at the Cooper Hill Inn in December of 2006. Our gracious hosts Mr. and Mrs. Wheeler were fantastic. They were both so helpful and pleasant. They went out of their way to ensure that our stay was perfect. Our room was so quiet and comfortable.
Breakfast was outstanding. The inn has terrific views of the mountain. This is my second stay at the Inn and I would not go elsewhere. We are already planning our next stay.

I highly recommend staying here.

Francesca and Richard Golas

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank Ubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2007

This review is regarding a stay during March 2005. My boyfriend and I went skiing at Mt Snow at the last minute and decided we would spend the night. We didn't have reservations ahead of time and only a booklet to help us find a place.

Most of the hotels and B&B's on the main road were filled up. I called the Cooper Hill Inn and was told they had vacancy so we drove up the long drive to see what was available.

As it turned out the owners were not there and the individual covering for them was surprised by a walk-in. As a result she wasn't really sure of the rate to give us. She gave us a fantastic rate on a room with a queen bed facing the back yard. There wasn't a TV if that's important. It had a great view of the mountains and was small but spacious enough with a private bathroom.

Our only complaint about that room was that when people walked down the hall the plates on wall jiggled and made noise. We actually removed them and put them back up prior to leaving.

It wasn't a typical B&B as the house was newer but for us it worked. We also only stayed one night and didn't use the amenities it did have.

However, I saved the best for last. The breakfast was the best we have ever had at a B&B. I'm not sure if it was because someone was covering that didn't normally but it was fantastic and we have never forgotten it. We had lots of scrambled eggs with cheese as requested, pancakes, sausage and OJ with coffee. We personally love to have a very large breakfast prior to skiing as it ensures we aren't that hungry for lunch and are able to get a good day of skiing in.

We will definitely think of the Cooper Hill Inn when we return to Mt Snow but can't help think that it might not be the same if the owners are there. :)

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — distance from mountain
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
3.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
128 reviews
11.3 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
351 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kitzhof Inn
Kitzhof Inn
#9 of 12 in Dover
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Hill Inn

Property: Cooper Hill Inn
Address: 117 Cooper Hill Rd, Dover, VT 05341-9647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular panoramic mountain views. At Cooper Hill you can watch the moon rise and the sunset at the same time! A great place for weddings retreats and relaxation in the summer and for skiing and snowboarding in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cooper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing