We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cooper Hill Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Dover B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed Presidents weekend at at the inn. We had a comfortable room, enjoyed relaxing in the two common rooms, delighted in delicious breakfasts. Charles and Lee are accommodating hosts who are most interesting to talk with. We had a very late arrival and they stayed up to wait for us. The inn is situated at the top of a hill affording spectacular views. Close to skiing. We recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a weekend to go skiing. The inn is located in a beautiful setting (and would have had a spectacular view if not for the snowstorms!), and there are fantastic facilities for cross-country as well as downhill skiing nearby. We had a good day at Timber Creek nearby, but the second day we went 20 minutes west to Prospect Mountain, which was AMAZING for cross-country. Charles and Lee were good hosts who clearly enjoyed getting to know their guests, and we enjoyed breakfasts and the dinner we had (wonderful soup, Asian stir fries, especially the swordfish!). Charles's wine choices are great. The only word of caution I'd give is that the facilities are pretty budget. We went on a LivingSocial voucher, and we didn't have high expectations, so we weren't disappointed, but this is not the inn to choose for a dream romantic getaway. The decor in the rooms was spartan, fixtures were a bit rusty, the bed in our room was two twin beds pushed together, there was a small but annoying early morning plumbing problem, and somehow even in the middle of a blizzard there were a couple of flies buzzing away on our ceiling. Overall, I'd say it's a great place for a skiing getaway, but not if what you're looking for is a luxurious atmosphere.

Room Tip: If I ever went again, I'd make sure to spring for one of the costlier rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arguropeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Charles and Lee were very accomodating and very friendly. The building was very nice, the views great, and the breakfast delicious. We did not have dinner there, but it sounded great. I would highly recommend Cooper Hill Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Cooper Hill one weekend in January. There were only two other rooms in use that weekend, so it was a small crowd.

My room, a king suite, had a gas fireplace and a whirlpool tub. Both were well used over the course of the weekend. Wifi is free and easily accessible. I attended both the cooking class and Saturday night dinner. Lee is am amazing cook, and very knowledge as well.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knobhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed during Jan. 2013 for two nights. Charles and Lee are both extremely nice and friendly people. We lucked out big time because there were only two other couples that stayed at the Inn. Having dinner at the Inn was a great idea for us because we made friends with these couples. Lee's Chinese food is amazing and breakfast is great too. She even provided us with Apples to Apples after dinner. We drank wine and played til wee hours in the morning next to the fireplace in the living room.

The water pressure in the bathroom was excellent. There was plenty of hot water for us. Both of us didn't like the old smell in the rooms but otherwise we had a great time. I did find it interesting though that Charles didn't fully salt the driveway. We had freezing rain the night we arrived and I had to go back and forth to my car to move things in. The driveway was literally an ice skating rink.

Otherwise we had a great time during our two night stay. Charles and Lee are great people, the rooms were great, the stay was excellent and we are looking forward to recommending people to this Inn and us coming back in the near future!

Room Tip: Ask how many couples are staying. We lucked out with the only people in one wing. I imagine if the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douismaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Where do I start? Lee and Charles were great hosts, the room was clean, cozy and quiet, the food was delicious and the location and views were breathtaking. We feel so lucky to have viewed the most spectacular fall leaves and spending 3 days here. If you are looking for the get away in beautiful Vermont-this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Charles you magnificient amazing innkeeper, Thank you for making our stay so delightful. Let me tell all of you on the webs how amazing this place is. I don't think you can get better views. We went hiking and didn't find better views. THE VIEWS! the rooms were cozy and comfortable and that's not code for small and cramped.. that literally means they were well decorated and clean and made you feel like you were going home for bed after a long day of being in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. Yeah i mean it, the whole dang country.

It would be a shame if you didn't go here. It would be a shame if you didn't decide to visit vermont. Charles gave us great tips on where to go and what to do.

The breakfast was delectable.

Unfortunately didn't get to meet Lee, but I hear that she's great and her food is great.

Can I just quickly tell you that the garden out back is so well stocked with all sorts of fruits and vegetables that they actually use for their breakfasts!

Their maple syrup comes from their neighbor!

Yeah I think I might want to live here, but I can't it's an Inn and I'm just a student. But if you get a chance to come to Vermont then stay with Charles and Lee at the Cooper Hill Inn. It will be magical. I guarantee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gworm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
4.2 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
3.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.5 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Hill Inn

Property: Cooper Hill Inn
Address: 117 Cooper Hill Rd, Dover, VT 05341-9647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular panoramic mountain views. At Cooper Hill you can watch the moon rise and the sunset at the same time! A great place for weddings retreats and relaxation in the summer and for skiing and snowboarding in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cooper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing