We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Inn with the best view in all of Vermont!!”
Review of Cooper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper Hill Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
atkinson, NH
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the Inn with the best view in all of Vermont!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Last weekend we had the pleasure of staying at the Cooper Hill Inn in East Dover, Vermont.
The inn is very nice perched on top of a mountain and has spectacular views. Although the room was small we had a wonderful king sized bed (extremely comfortable) and a partial view of the mountains and it was very clean although it smelled a bit musty. The hosts Charles and Lee were very friendly and interesting having lived all over the world and were just as interested in our backgrounds as we were in theirs. We felt very comfortable here like we were part of a family and we were encouraged to use the porch, deck and living room where we all wound up on sat night with two other couples and enjoyed our complimentary wine and cheese after a wonderfully delicious dinner cooked by Lee. We love Chinese food and this was really authentic and delicious and plenty to eat. The cooking class on sunday morning was interesting and although I felt some of the younger crowd were a bit bored with Lee's history of Asia my husband and I thorougly enjoyed it, I wish we had spent a bit more time cooking and a little less talking. My husband left his cell phone charger in the room and they were very kind to send it out to us priority mail the next day at no charge. Charles was extremely kind and cooked me french toast on sunday as I heard Lee say to another guest that Charles was famous for his french toast, so I left him a note on his desk to ask if he would make if for us on Sunday and he did and it was certainly delicious. Charles cooks the breakfast and Lee the dinner, a perfect compliment to each other
I would definitely stay here again and frankly the no TV in the room was not an issue for us at all as we were out and about all day and when we got back to the inn at night we fell asleep, who needs TV?
So thank you again for a wonderful weekend and we hope to be back there sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra195310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merrickville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We loved our weekend getaway at Cooper Hill Inn! It was just the right medicine for us as two hard working helping professionals who needed a quiet retreat to rest and recover. The hosts were friendly and helpful in every way. Lee's cooking was delicious and even though I have a fair bit of experience with Asian cooking I definitely learned a few new tricks in her cooking class. We especially appreciated Lee's values in using fresh, locally grown, seasonal, organic ingredients. Charles gave us directions to a nearby farmer's market and a cheese shop for more local culinary treats. I can't believe another reviewer complained about no tv's in the rooms. Who needs tv when there are wonderful natural views and walking trails everywhere! (Although we did enjoy a movie in their big screen tv room one night). The spectacular sunrise coming through our window each morning was a lovely bonus. I highly recommend this to anyone who could really use a healthy, relaxing retreat in the rolling hills of Vermont. ~ Siobhan & Grant, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: You can let your hosts know if you prefer a sunrise or a sunset view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NH
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

First let me say the inn is really pretty and the view amazing. However it's not handicap friendly, guest rooms are on the second floor, the stair case only has railing on one side. We never received an email regarding dinner,so we had to go out and try to find a place to eat, which cost us an additional $40.00, when we came back all the other guests were having a great time enjoying dinner. The next morning at breakfast they were talking about how much food there was, to bad the inn keepers couldn't find enough to add us. Also, there was a thirty dollar credit for dinners which we never got and the owners never mentioned it to us.
There are no tv's in the rooms, there is a tv room. There's no air conditioning that we could see, we kept the window open to get some air and it rained all night so we had to keep a towel on the window sill.

The owners are nice, but seem to us not really interested in bending to accommodate the guests.

I think it should have been noted on the offer that the inn was. Not handicap friendly and they have a tv room versus tv's in each room.

There was only one chair in the room and it was very low to the floor and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesandLee, Owner at Cooper Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. We love the interaction that we normally have with our guests and take our energy from them. We are a small country Inn with all ten of our rooms on the second floor of the building. We have never represented it as handicapped friendly and there was no mention of any problem with stairs when the reservation was made. We follow a deliberate policy of not having TVs in the rooms as guests seem to appreciate the difference and enjoy interacting together in the big TV/game room or in the Living room by the fireplace. We are off the beaten track and we accept guests by reservation only, so our guests are generally looking for something a little different. We are particularly chagrin that this guest chose not to participate in our dinner as we are very proud of our food. We serve eclectic Asian food family style, and we only serve guests of the Inn. We sent this guest an email with the menu but she did not respond and we only prepare food for those who have confirmed that they will be dinning with us. Had the guest expressed an interest when she arrived we would have done our best to accommodate her but she did not mention dinner until shortly before it was being served to our other guests. Our rooms do not have air conditioning. That is not generally an issue as our nights are quite cool here at 2300 feet in the Green Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed a nice relaxing weekend here back in October 2011. Sorry it took so long to write this review. Great views and very relaxing place to be. Best part - food was really tasty (loved the bok choy); the company - met some really interesting people; and our hosts Lee and Charles just nice people -they even joined us on the back deck for a galss of wine and some good stories before dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbtobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you want a beautiful bed and breakfast nestled in the hills of Vermont, look no further than the Cooper Hill Inn. Lee and Charles, the owners, made us feel quite at home, and the room, although small, was perfectly clean and comfortable. The food was outstanding, and the fireplaces and main rooms made us feel right at home. The view of Mt. Snow was beautiful, and the location (15-20 minutes from the mountain) was ideal - it was about a 10 minute drive into town, giving the feeling of a getaway while still being close enough to the shops to enjoy time in Vermont. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a bed and breakfast experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for two nights while skiing at Mt. Snow. The Inn is about 5 Miles from Mt. Snow which equals a 10 Min drive through town. We can only say good things about the B&B and highly recommend it. The views and location is incredible. The bedrooms were nice but a little small. The Common rooms were welcoming and so nicely decorated. The owners were very helpful and their hospitality was top notch. They also cooked breakfast which was really good. Fresh Blue berry pancakes Yum!

This was our first B&B so we don’t have others to compare it too, but the experience was amazing after returning home from a weekend of skiing and 5 hours of driving I felt refreshed the B&B reminded of how relaxing life should be.

Room Tip: The let us pick our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlnTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I purchased a package for the Inn from Living Social for my husband's birthday. We had an amazing time! The view all around is truly spectacular. The inn keeper's, Charles and his wife, Lee, were truly hospitable and down to earth. They made us feel very welcome and were so helpful with tips on where to go and what to see. After a long day driving around, it was nice to come back to the inn, enjoy a glass of wine and sit in the game room or by the fireplace and either chat with other guests, or just relax by ourselves. A must stay in Vermont! We hope to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chihealer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
3.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
2.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
3.2 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
3.5 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
74 reviews
2.3 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Hill Inn

Property: Cooper Hill Inn
Address: 117 Cooper Hill Rd, Dover, VT 05341-9647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular panoramic mountain views. At Cooper Hill you can watch the moon rise and the sunset at the same time! A great place for weddings retreats and relaxation in the summer and for skiing and snowboarding in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cooper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing