We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limelight deal for Cooper Hill Inn”
Review of Cooper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper Hill Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Rochester NH
2 reviews
“Limelight deal for Cooper Hill Inn”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

First let me say the inn is really pretty and the view amazing. However it's not handicap friendly, guest rooms are on the second floor, the stair case only has railing on one side. We never received an email regarding dinner,so we had to go out and try to find a place to eat, which cost us an additional $40.00, when we came back all the other guests were having a great time enjoying dinner. The next morning at breakfast they were talking about how much food there was, to bad the inn keepers couldn't find enough to add us. Also, there was a thirty dollar credit for dinners which we never got and the owners never mentioned it to us.
There are no tv's in the rooms, there is a tv room. There's no air conditioning that we could see, we kept the window open to get some air and it rained all night so we had to keep a towel on the window sill.

The owners are nice, but seem to us not really interested in bending to accommodate the guests.

I think it should have been noted on the offer that the inn was. Not handicap friendly and they have a tv room versus tv's in each room.

There was only one chair in the room and it was very low to the floor and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesandLee, Owner at Cooper Hill Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. We love the interaction that we normally have with our guests and take our energy from them. We are a small country Inn with all ten of our rooms on the second floor of the building. We have never represented it as handicapped friendly and there was no mention of any problem with stairs when the reservation was made. We follow a deliberate policy of not having TVs in the rooms as guests seem to appreciate the difference and enjoy interacting together in the big TV/game room or in the Living room by the fireplace. We are off the beaten track and we accept guests by reservation only, so our guests are generally looking for something a little different. We are particularly chagrin that this guest chose not to participate in our dinner as we are very proud of our food. We serve eclectic Asian food family style, and we only serve guests of the Inn. We sent this guest an email with the menu but she did not respond and we only prepare food for those who have confirmed that they will be dinning with us. Had the guest expressed an interest when she arrived we would have done our best to accommodate her but she did not mention dinner until shortly before it was being served to our other guests. Our rooms do not have air conditioning. That is not generally an issue as our nights are quite cool here at 2300 feet in the Green Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed a nice relaxing weekend here back in October 2011. Sorry it took so long to write this review. Great views and very relaxing place to be. Best part - food was really tasty (loved the bok choy); the company - met some really interesting people; and our hosts Lee and Charles just nice people -they even joined us on the back deck for a galss of wine and some good stories before dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbtobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you want a beautiful bed and breakfast nestled in the hills of Vermont, look no further than the Cooper Hill Inn. Lee and Charles, the owners, made us feel quite at home, and the room, although small, was perfectly clean and comfortable. The food was outstanding, and the fireplaces and main rooms made us feel right at home. The view of Mt. Snow was beautiful, and the location (15-20 minutes from the mountain) was ideal - it was about a 10 minute drive into town, giving the feeling of a getaway while still being close enough to the shops to enjoy time in Vermont. I would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a bed and breakfast experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for two nights while skiing at Mt. Snow. The Inn is about 5 Miles from Mt. Snow which equals a 10 Min drive through town. We can only say good things about the B&B and highly recommend it. The views and location is incredible. The bedrooms were nice but a little small. The Common rooms were welcoming and so nicely decorated. The owners were very helpful and their hospitality was top notch. They also cooked breakfast which was really good. Fresh Blue berry pancakes Yum!

This was our first B&B so we don’t have others to compare it too, but the experience was amazing after returning home from a weekend of skiing and 5 hours of driving I felt refreshed the B&B reminded of how relaxing life should be.

Room Tip: The let us pick our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlnTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I purchased a package for the Inn from Living Social for my husband's birthday. We had an amazing time! The view all around is truly spectacular. The inn keeper's, Charles and his wife, Lee, were truly hospitable and down to earth. They made us feel very welcome and were so helpful with tips on where to go and what to see. After a long day driving around, it was nice to come back to the inn, enjoy a glass of wine and sit in the game room or by the fireplace and either chat with other guests, or just relax by ourselves. A must stay in Vermont! We hope to come back in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chihealer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Charles and Lee are very hospitable! The breakfast was wonderful and views are postcard worthy! This is a gem in southern Vermont!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm10538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We did this spontaneously as a livingsocial deal~we could not have been more pleased, more spoiled, or more full...in particular the dinner was fantastic-would return in a New York minute! View of sunrise also a
Phenomenal treat!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
3.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
124 reviews
3.5 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.3 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Hill Inn

Property: Cooper Hill Inn
Address: 117 Cooper Hill Rd, Dover, VT 05341-9647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular panoramic mountain views. At Cooper Hill you can watch the moon rise and the sunset at the same time! A great place for weddings retreats and relaxation in the summer and for skiing and snowboarding in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cooper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Hill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing