We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again!”
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would stay there again!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have been going to Mt Snow for 49 years -we rented ski houses for holiday weeks, weekend day trips growing up & normally just go for the day now. I remembered fondly SNow Lake Lodge and chose to go there this beautiful March weekend. Price was perfect and location ideal. Yay Moovers! My husband was frightened by all the negative comments but I prevailed. It was clean and staff was welcoming. Yes, it is dated but please! It is just a comfortable ski lodge that you see all over the Northeast. How many of the critics wore their boots from the muddy parking directly into their rooms? How can a hotel keep everything new and pristine when its customers don't care? We had nachos and chili for late dinner - good & no complaints. Continental breakfast is normally muffin, oj &coffee so we were pleasantly surprised to see more. The Hampton Inns, etc. have made people forget what a continental breakfast really is. My only complaint had more to do with a guest than w/hotel - the floors ARE creaky - you can tell when you walk on them. The person(s) above us got up at 6 a.m. both mornings and appeared to be aiming for 10000 steps before 9 a.m.!!! That is inconsiderate & bad manners! I thank the lodge for a nice stay and it didn't cost $1000...Wish the pool was open-wanted to show husband the pool we used to sneak into as teenagers! :) :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your comments about Snow Lake Lodge. Often times, guests with possitive comments do not take the time to post their thoughts, and we appreciate that you took the time to do so. Many, many guests feel the same about Snow Lake Lodge as you do; the history, the nostalgia, the friendly staff, etc. The base area location is very convenient and we agree....Yay MOOvers (free local shuttle service provided by the Deerfield Valley Transit Association - painted like cows). We hope to see you and your husband back again. You'll have to visit in the summer to show your husband the pool, as it is seasonal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    64
    30
    30
See reviews for
60
34
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you want to flash back to the late 70's stop in and check this place out. They haven't done a thing since then other than give the bathrooms a quick make over. The rooms are tiny and outdated. The room is about 10 x 12 if your lucky. The sheets were old and naughty. Luckily I was here on a guys trip because my wife would have turned around and left. This place is a great location, but you can stay a few mile away in much nicer places. I would never return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doms1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Snow Lake Lodge was built in 1962. It has undergone updates over the years, most recently in the fall of 2010. Rooms received new paint, carpeting, drapes, bathroom fixtures and flooring. Common areas were also upgraded. The lodge has definitely not been completely re-built, therefore the size of the rooms are just what they were in 1962. I will pass your complaints about the bedding/sheets onto the management of the hotel and the housekeeping staff so they can address that situation. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dover hotels

Colchester, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My fiance & I stayed once in 2011 and again this year because of the close proximity to Mt Snow and reasonable price. The room layout is a bit odd, upon opening the door to the room you are looking right into the closet (which is a great size), and have to kind of shuffle your luggage to the right or left to get into the room. This trip we stayed in room 201, a corner room with a king size bed, desk and a recently remodeled bathroom. Our room had a great view of the mountain. The furnishings and linens are dated but clean. The only problem we had with our room was the thermostat, it was probably 20-30 degrees outside, I set the thermostat to between 65-70 degrees but woke up to a room closer to 50. (Possibly because of the thin walls?) Problem resolved when I cranked the heat to 80 to get it into the 60's. The lobby of the hotel is on the first floor, one level up from ground level. There are outside stairs or an elevator-helpful when carrying luggage. The front desk personnel were very friendly, they let us know that we could use their facilities after a day of skiing and we had no issues checking in or out. The only information I didn't get was that there was a continental breakfast. I didn't realize this until reading other reviews, perhaps it is only on weekends? We went off site for dinner and drinks but peeked into the bar when we returned which was pretty quiet, normal for a week night. Our bed was very comfortable, we woke up well rested and had a great day of skiing. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the mountain side for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts about Snow Lake Lodge. I am sorry that you were not informed about the complimentary continental breakfast upon arrival. For future reference, during the ski/snowboard season, Snow Lake Lodge offers the continental breakfast daily. I will inform our management and maintenance teams about the heating issue you experienced. I am happy you enjoyed your time with us here at Snow Lake Lodge and Mount Snow Resort. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had such a great time such a great hotel a little rough around the edges but very lodge like great views of the mountain beds were comfortable bathtub was great breakfast was great overall nice day

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts about Snow Lake Lodge. We really appreciate the positive feedback. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place was about what I expected. It had a great location, a convenient shuttle service to Mount Snow, a bar/pub restaurant, a so so continental breakfast, and was showing signs of age. They advertise that they have renovated their rooms. We booked 4 rooms, only 1 was renovated (room 200). Our mattress had seen better days. Was I disappointed- no. Again, for the price I paid, it was what I expected and met all of our basic needs. Would I stay here again?
Yep. The room, although in need of updating, was clean.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flarasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts about Snow Lake Lodge. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your stay at Snow Lake Lodge, with one exception - the mattress. We are hoping to replace all the mattresses in the near future. All 92 rooms were renovated in 2010 (new flooring, bathroom fixtures/tile and more). The mattresses were not replaced in 2010. We hope that you will visit Mount Snow and Snow Lake Lodge again. Many guests return for the reasonable prices, base area location and great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pros: Inexpensive, very close to Mt Snow, 5 minute ride on free shuttle bus, good continental breakfast included with good coffee (per my coffee dringking spouse), wonderful friendly staff, small indoor and outdoor hot tub, outdoor pool (summer only), on site bar with fireplace and pool table, clean room bathrooms, warm rooms with baseboard heating.

Cons: Hotel built in 1962 & looks like never rennovated since. Exposed heating pipes in hallways and bedrooms. Dormatory feel to rooms, with drab stained carpets, tired furnishings, creaky floors, thin walls that allowed you to hear conversations in adjacent rooms and hallways. Wierd room layout requiring a right angle turn immediately after entering room door. Small short beds (NOT queens) with sagging mattresses and clean but old sheets and beadspreads. Tube style TV. Room had desk but no chair.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Of the 'cons' that you listed, most cannot be addressed without completely rebuilding the hotel. Snow Lake Lodge was built in 1962. It was most recently renovated in 2010. There are some exposed heating pipes in hallways and bedrooms. The rooms are small, and most have 2 full size beds, not queens. In many cases, there is no room for a desk. Unfortunately we cannot change the thickness of the walls or angles of the room entry. I will pass your comments about the stained carpets to our management and housekeeping staff, as that can certainly be addressed. We hope the friendliness of the staff, good continental breakfast, reasonable pricing and short shuttle ride to the lifts will make you a return guest of Snow Lake Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The resort is located on a lake at the base of Mount Snow ski area. It is about a 3 or 4 minute drive to the base of the mountain and the Grand Summit Lodge

The Snow Lake Lodge is old – I’m not sure when built, but definitely could use an overhaul. You have to trek up two flights of stairs to get to the lobby. Lobby is large, and a bit outdated.
There is a restaurant / bar off the lobby – I never saw more than 4 or 5 people in it. Not overly inviting.

Room – Could barely get through the door to the room and into the room due to the way it was constructed. There were two beds in the room. Decor was a couple of decades out of date. One straight back chair in the room, no desk. TV was in about a 21 inch tube style.
Bed was fairly comfortable – surprisingly so. The bedspread, sheets and blanket were lower quality.

Heat was a baseboard along the wall. Wall AC unit. Phone – good old push button phone – again, at least 15 or 20 years old. Made me think of when I was a kid before electronics.
Bathroom – it was clean. Sink was a small cabinet with very little counter space. Tub was clean & the shower worked well.

Breakfast is served in a large room on the ground level. Not much to rave about. Bunch of round tables, some with table cloths, some without. The food left a lot to be desired there was Coffee, juice, small Danish, muffins, bread, bagels & english muffins with a toaster. Some cereal & that was about it. Good thing about it – the coffee was good and it was free.
There is wifi in the common areas & some rooms. My room wifi was great. I was able to video chat with my family while there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneerdonna, Guest Relations Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Snow Lake Lodge was built in 1962. It has had many upgrades in the past few years including new carpeting, bathroom fixtures and flooring as recently as Fall 2010. Walt's Pub was actually completely re-done just a year ago. WiFi was added years ago, but you are correct that the rooms do not have flat screen TVs. Snow Lake Lodge has many loyal fans who return again and again, for the history, nostalgic charm and low prices. I hope you will return to Mount Snow again. Perhaps you would like to try the Grand Summit Hotel which is a much newer, full service hotel at the foot of the lifts and trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
17.8 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
272 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
10.4 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.6 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Property: Snow Lake Lodge
Address: 7 Snow Lake Road, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located lakeside with spectacular views of the mountain, Snow Lake Lodge, Mount Snow's economy lodge with basic rooms, is a real value. A free shuttle will take you to and from the slopes and you are walking distance from a great evening of entertainment at the Snowbarn (open winter and some special events only). After a full day of play, take a soothing sauna or hop into the indoor or outdoor hot tub. Walt's Pub with light fare menu, schedule varies. Light continental breakfast included in the rates during the ski/snowboard season only, served daily 7-10 am. This is a non-smoking lodge. Features: 92 rooms. Indoor hot tub and sauna and outdoor hot tub. Free WiFi in common areas and the majority of guest rooms. Snow Lake Lodge is on the "MOOver" shuttle route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Dover
Mount Snow Snow Lake Lodge Hotel
Snow Lake West Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing