We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Snow, The Snow Goose Inn on Presidents day week wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mount Snow, The Snow Goose Inn on Presidents day week wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

I'm sorry this took so long to post. My husband and our Pug Max, LOVE the SGI! We traveled up to Vermont with another couple and Cyndee made all of us feel from the moment we arrived like a member of the family. This was the first time we traveled with Max and she made us feel so comfortable leaving him while we were out skiing during the day. As all the other reviews had stated breakfast is just lovely. I especially love the detail that Cyndee has to everything, from juice in champagne glasses to your fruit in a martini glass, little trivia cards left on the table and fresh green mntn coffee. Vermont cheddar with wine is delightful after a long day of skiing. We would love to go back someday. It was a real pleasure!

One thing (about Mount Snow) the trails arent marked very well. Be careful if you're not a diamond skiier. Blues can fall into moguls without warning. But, after you find these spots, you know where they are. Trails were lovely that week-end b/c of fresh snowfall everyday. Plus side is trails are pretty wide. We would go back to Mount Snow overall.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakerupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We spent a ski weekend at Snow Goose and then returned for a second time because we had such an amazing time! And, so romantic --We just got engaged in the Inn! The owner Cyndee was so warm and welcoming! It's a home away from home! Cyndee takes care of your every need, has wonderful recommendations for rentals, ski passes, and is a great cook! We loved skiing all day and coming back to sit in front of the fireplace. Everything was wonderful. I couldn't say a bad thing!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Ma.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Wonderful visit, great room, great staff and great price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psldcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We recently stayed at the Snow Goose Inn (our 7th time) for a two night getaway. As always, Cyndee went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. A warm fireplace, a clean & cozy room, excellent food, and 8 inches of fresh snow! What more could you ask for a trip to VT?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProCiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

This was our first time staying at the Snow Goose Inn, and we definitely will return many times in the future.
We walked in at 5:30 PM on a Thursday after checking out of a room that was not what we expected. Cyndee could not have been more acommodating. She showed us the room and told us we could look
around the inn before we decided if we wanted to stay. It took us about 2 minutes to say yes. We met
some of the other guests right away and were enjoying wine, cheese, and good conversation in front of
a warm fire. What a great beginning of our wonderful 4 night stay. Delicious breakfast, wine and cheese,
friendly guests, clean charming room, warm fires, and most importantly our gracious innkeepers, Cyndee & Ron, made this a wonderful experience at this lovely country inn. Thank you for your hospitality.
Norm & Josie Neill

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggerNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

We could not of had a better experience. My husband and I stayed at the Snow Goose Inn surreptitiously. The Friday before we had a very bad experience at a friend's sharehouse, so at 6:00 am on Saturday we called around to see if there were any vacancies in the hotels/BBs near the mountain. We were blessed to find a vacancy at the Snow Goose Inn. We arrived before 7 am basically "off the street", we got a room with a fireplace and a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Having come from the sharehouse this place was like heaven to us. Cindy was more than hospitable. I am 5 months pregnant and had only slept 3 hours the night before. She more than made us feel comfortable and welcome. She offered us breakfast THAT morning, which we were only supposed to get breakfast the morning after our stay. The smell of fresh muffins coming from the kitchen was wonderful. She made me tea and settled us into our rooms. The breakfast is fabulous. There is an actual menu that you can choose from, fresh fruit, fresh homemade muffins and fresh homemade whole wheat toast. They use local produce. It was delicious!
The location of the Snow Goose is also great. It's down the block from the entrance way to Mt. Snow. I could not recommend this B&B more. Enjoy your stay and tell Cindy Michele says "hello"!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

This may sound like an over exaggeration. It is not. If you are looking for a charming, Vermont bed and breakfast with a great location to a ski mountain, The Snow Goose Inn would rank enough for a high recommendation and this review would be done. But that only scratches the surface of what makes this Inn so unique and incredible.
To start with, if you read the reviews from other guests you will notice one common word over and over..."Cyndee." Cyndee, along with her husband Ron are the Inn Keepers, but so much more. From the moment you walk in, until the time you leave, you are welcomed with the kind of ambience one might expect from your favorite Aunt or friend. Cyndee has that unique gift of making you feel right at home and accommodating your every need. For example, there is an open refrigerator policy stocked with juices to Pelligreno. There is a basket of her famous blueberry muffins left on the counter for anyone to enjoy. Every night, she serves wine and cheese by the fireplace
in the living room. But what makes that even more special is the great conversations that spontaneously happen among the guests...and Cyndee. Even my normally shy, soft-spoken teenage daughter was engaged and fascinated by the night. To continue with the the above and beyond details of this Inn, The rooms have fireplaces in them. Okay, so do a lot of places.(I recently stayed at a place at another ski resort with a fireplace in the room that sold Duraflames for in the lobby for $7 each.) So what makes these fireplaces any better. Again, it comes down to Cyndee and he staff. Every day when we arrived back from skiing, the fireplace was cleaned and set up with new logs and starters. A new pile of wood was also provided to feed the fire. The rooms are equipped with jetted tubs which helped my old back after a rigorous workout on the slopes.
Had enough yet? Well here is the best part. The breakfasts are to die for. Cyndee, a graduate of culinary school and comes from a family of restauranteurs, makes the absolute best breakfast one could ever desire. The bacon is made with a hint of brown sugar. The eggs Benedict are made with a unique blend of lemon and spices. My wife ordered them every breakfast, and she is a picky eater. (sorry honey, but you are.)
And Ron made my 10 year old son's hot chocolate and checked twice to make sure it was just the right temperature. He actually stood and watched him take the first sip and then asked if it was ok. Yes this is a small detail, but your stay will be filled with these small pleasant details.
In summery, you will feel at home, you will feel comfortable, you will be cozy, warm, and deliciously fed. You will feel compelled to spend an hour and a half (if you type as slow as I do) typing a review on the day after you get back instead of getting back to your normal life.
If you do decide to go, and a I hope you do, Give Cyndee a hug from me!

Seymour and Jamie, Ct.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seymour4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.3 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#7 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing