We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Years and Still My Favorite Inn in the Mt. Snow Area”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Since 1996, I've owned and run a Vermont based luxury adventure touring company. I can't begin to count how many site inspections and stays I've had at inns and hotels all over New England, the Adirondacks and the Canadian Maritimes. I mention this because researching hotels and restaurants is a part of how I make my living.

My experience with the Snow Goose In has been exceptional and I have brought many, many guests here from various parts of the world. The Inns three great strengths are the rooms, the breakfasts and Cindy Frere.

The rooms we use at the inn have everything I like to see in a New England Inn. They're nicely but subtly decorated and most of them have their own decks with balconies, large spa tubs and true wood burning fireplaces. The latter is becoming rare in inns because of the obvious need for extra insurance as well as the extra cost of wood, maintenance, etc. That being the case, its really a pleasure to know that one can come to the Snow Goose and enjoy a true wood fire as well as a soak in the spa tub.

Some inns tend a bit too much towards doilies and an over-abundance of decoration and knick knacks. The Snow Goose isn't cluttered like that.

Many inns have gone to fixed breakfast menus or, even, continental breakfasts. Cindy's breakfast menu is fairly broad and delicious. She offers the kind of breakfasts that few us have the time or energy to make when we're home.

Finally, there is Cindy herself. I think she was born to be an innkeeper. She is gracious and friendly but also allows us plenty of privacy and time to ourselves. She also has always extended herself to our guests - helping them with special arrangements, throwing wet clothes in the drier for them on a rainy day, etc.

In a perfect world the Snow Goose would serve dinner as well as breakfast. Otherwise, it has been the perfect inn for my tours. We have the option to bring guests anywhere we want and the Snow Goose remains our first choice inn in this area.

Obviously, I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NMT-Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 352 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2008

Without a doubt, my recent three night stay at the Snow Goose Inn was among the best of my life. The inn is quaint and lovely. The rooms are delightful. The owners are a dream. And breakfast? Breakfast is PERFECT. Also, the location is central to many Vermont attractions. Or, if you prefer, you can just relax and hang out at the Inn. There are books on every shelf, a fabulous Vermont puzzle on the third floor, and gorgeous property to stroll upon... and did I mention that wine and hors d'oeuvres are served every late afternoon? Great service, great people, great everything!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmd436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed for a long wknd at this lovely inn. We were not able to get in during normal check in times but that was no problem...Cyndee/Ron left the light on, the room open and the key in the room for us. From the wonderful scent when you walk through the door to the phenomenal breakfast each day we enjoyed ourselves immensely. The fireplace was ready to go, the double jacuzzi tub was a treat, our bed was comfy, the reading room was cozy. It was easy to find but just enough away from the hub bub to sit quietly on the back deck. We did not go w/any specific intentions so Cyndee's knowledge of the areas happenings was appreciated. You are addressed by your name from day one which is a nice personal touch. They are down home, real people that are so welcoming. A great variety from home baked goods, to healthy alternatives, to the house special bacon. My boyfriend still stands by his claim that Cyndee's was the best omelet he has ever had. It is an older home so you will hear the neighbors but nothing disturbing just homey. I live w/my home clean enough to be healthy but dirty enough to have fun in life so I found the surroundings adequate. Some of our OCD relatives may have taken issue w/the cleanliness. Just depends on your perspective. Other than that, I can not think of a single thing we did not like. We will recommend our friends/family and definitely make our best attempt to return as often as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miki4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Cyndee & Ron were fabulous Innkeepers! The atmoshere, the ambiance, the rooms, the breakfast were all perfect! The warmth of this bed and breakfast can not be beat. We found a jewel in the Mount Snow region. We loved our four days and will be going back for many years to come. If you are in the Mt. Snow area I highly recommend The Snow Goose Inn. Be prepared for a Currier & Ives retreat with hot chocolate, tea, and a puzzle/game sitting area. LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!
Sincerely,
Carol Krass

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelduo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Have stayed at Snow Goose Inn twice. Once in winter during ski season and now in fall. The rooms are rather special and very large. Both times, had superior and friendly service. Accomodations way beyond any Inn, hosts were incredibily helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and went where we should go. Immaculate and in a great location.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Tarheel_Traveler405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Our stay at the Snow Goose Inn was lovely and charming. Cyndee and Ron's hospitality was wonderful and Cyndee's delicious breakfasts were something we all looked forward to in the morning.
The inn and the staff were warm and welcoming to their guests, I would go again.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank OregonNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

This was our fifth stay at the Snowgoose Inn. This year we booked 5 rooms as we brought 4 other couples along with us.
Everyone was amazed by the warm, cozy atmosphere and loved the delicious, homemade breakfasts. The golfing, shopping and restaurants are all perfect for a nice getaway. Next year we hope to repeat the same week with the same friends. Thank you Cyndee and Ron for making our stay wonderful.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank lyanna501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#6 of 12 in Dover
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
132 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $180 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing