We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEDDING NIGHT”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Stoddard, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WEDDING NIGHT”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

we got married in Oct & came here for our honeymoon .nice location ,friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Nice breakfast that they put on in the morning. Not far away from really good dinning & skiing , night life.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark677108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My new fiance and I spend two nights at the Snow Goose and couldn't have asked for more. Location is great - right next to the mountain and nestled among several local restaurants/pubs. Accomondations were great- awesome breakfast, wine n' cheese in the afternoon, fire place, jacuzzi, etc. Not too mention Cyndee was a huge help with the proposal aspect - setting up some champange and roses. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I have stayed with Cyndee and Ron 4-5 times over the past 4 years. We cannot express how much we have enjoyed each visit. Staying at the Snow Goose is more like spending time with family than staying at an inpersonal hotel. The breakfasts were always amazing, and the 5pm wine and cheese in front of the fireplace was fantastic!! We made new friends each night we were there!
We look forward to spending time at the Snow Goose again soon.

Tim

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDaly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My father and I recently stayed at the Snow Goose Inn. Before we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to hear that our room had been updated. When we arrived at the Snow Goose Inn, we were warmly greeted by one of the staff. She showed us to our room which was very spacious and had a queen and twin bed. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The Innkeeper Cyndee, showed up a little while later with the wine and cheese. She was very friendly and is very dedicated to the hospitality industry. The breakfast that Cyndee made was fantastic! There are a variety of items to choose from such as eggs, omelets, pancakes, french toast, bacon, and you can mix and match. Each guest gets a blueberry muffin and it was still warm from the oven! This was the best blueberry muffin I have ever had. I ordered the french toast with bacon which were both delicious. I would highly recommend the Snow Goose Inn to anyone that is staying in the Dover area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A group of us have stayed at the Snow Goose Inn nearly every fall for several years now. It's a great place to get together with friends and enjoy the whole Vermont experience. The rooms are cozy & the breakfasts are exceptional. Your choices are much more extensive than at most B &B's , so you can order what you'd like. Everything is fresh and local. The hosts are very helpful with choosing local restaurants & guiding guests to the right choice. Guests can enjoy a cozy wine & cheese & chat by the fireplace in the evening, prior to heading out to dine. We enjoyed a lovely and fruitful outlet shopping day in Manchester VT. The outlets there are picturesque - not mall like - and nestled around the lovely town set amidst gorgeous mountains.

Room Tip: All the rooms are cozy & very "New England". Check out the website & chat with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

For anyone who's looking to get away from the cell phone, social media & video drama world (if just for a selfish moment), this is the New England way to do so! The old world charm of this B & B brought us to a well needed weekend escape. Although we went post-foliage & pre-snow, the experience of the Snow Goose Inn was so graciously instilling to our needs of relaxation, calmness, romance and stress-free environment. The "chef prepared" personalized breakfast was deliciously unexpected. We are already preparing a group trip so our friends can experience the spiritually fulfilled time we endured.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've been staying at The Snow Goose for a decade now -- which says a lot about the quality of this wonderful, rambling New England inn. The rooms are comfortable, the service is friendly, the breakfast always enjoyable. And I've never heard a word of complaint about the extra work involved in accommodating my disability and my special diet. In fact, the owner, Cyndee Frere, makes it easy for me to travel when other places say no. The Snow Goose has my unqualified recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing