We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been going to the Snow Goose Inn for over 10 years, and have had wonderful and relaxing experiences each & every time. The innkeeper, Cyndee is always warm, welcoming, & friendly. The breakfast she prepares are wonderful, & the wine & cheese hour is always a relaxing way to wind down the day. Cyndee, & her husband Ron, are always wondful at helping the guests get to know each other. I have come to think of the Snow Goose Inn as my home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_stein6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Snow Goose Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 352 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at the Snow Goose Inn. The room was clean and spacious, breakfast was delicious and Cyndee was a charming host. The only qualification I'd make is for the carpets, which were in need of some attention or replacement.

Room Tip: The Snow Goose suite was perfect for our honeymoon stay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNTDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was so disappointed with my stay at this B and B . I picked this B and B because of the # 1 ranking. It certainly doesn't deserve such a high rating. There are much nicer B and B s in West Dover that are of a higher quality for the same price (robes, bath and body lotions, updated bathrooms with double sinks, beautiful porch, flat screen TV ) Our room at the Snow Goose had a mildewed shower curtain, stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, outdated furniture, broken porch and an old TV. Not even the breakfast was that outstanding. The blueberry muffins might be the inn's only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mdkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Snow Goose Inn when we did the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge, we chose a package for a standard room and the weekend we chose didn't have any standard rooms available so they upgraded us to a bigger room. The place was really nice and charming our room was clean and the breakfast was great! The only thing I could say is that this place can use a little updating when it comes to wallpaper and decor in the room and maybe a little more cleaning. Overall the Snow Goose inn is definitely worth visiting. I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thetraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge, and the package that we purchased included a standard room at one of the many local inns. We chose the Snow Goose Inn (after all of the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor). The Inn did not have standard rooms available for Labor Day weekend, but Cyndee generously upgraded us to a fabulous room with a fireplace, jacuzzi and balcony for no extra cost. The B&B was incredibly accommodating of our fairly late arrival from Boston.

Breakfast each morning was AWESOME, with the option to choose from many different dishes off of a menu. We left breakfast each morning stuffed and ready for full days of hiking. We would definitely return the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Snow Goose Inn and had a wonderful night! Last year, we were the high bidder in an auction for a night at the Snow Goose, due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to use our gift certificate before the expiration date. I contacted Cyndee and she could not have been more gracious about extending our certificate. Upon our arrival at the Snow Goose we found out our room had been upgraded! We were in a room even larger than we needed but the room was great! We had a view of the back gardens & the front of the inn. The room was very large, the bed was comfy, the bathroom large. The A/C worked great, there was a TV and a loveseat and the wireless was free! There was a lovely wood burning fireplace but it was too warm to use. In the evening there was wine and cheese on the deck. Come the morning, there was a fabulous breakfast!!! Your choice of menu options, made just for you! Starting with wonderful muffins and coffee, fruit plate, fresh juice and the entrée of your choice & great home cured bacon! Mmm, Mmm, It was all DELICIOUS!! Also, hummingbirds at the back window feeders for entertainment. Cyndee and Ron could not have been more gracious, welcoming and accommodating! Thank You and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meehanlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at Snow Goose for our 26th Anniversary. Quaint rooms, ours overlooked the front and had access to the upstairs porch. Cyndee and her qualified staff rolled out the red carpet for breakfast. Many choices of tasty Vermont products and specialties for all and mix and match if you like. The area was absolutely gorgeous. Opportunity to play the nearby golf course and took LOTS of pictures. Highly recommend Snow Goose for your getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
167 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $180 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing