We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
“Best Ever!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Never felt more welcome! It was the perfect atmosphere - innkeeper is so personable and great at making all guests feel comfortable. Wine and cheese by the fireplace to meet other travelers and unwind after a day of hiking. Jacuzzi tub and pet friendly. Absolutely loved it and can't wait to go back. Oh! And breakfast is delicious!! Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor - perfect for dog people. Has it's own private door, so an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Snow Goose is a fantastic property where you will have a wonderfully relaxing time!
The Goose, of course, is where you will sleep and relax by your fireplace or in the Jaccuzzi,
and the Gander is when you take the scenic ride at Mount Snow to the top and back and then go back up to the summit and hike down! Fantastic!
Don't forget to try the Snow Goose Bacon!
Many thanks to Cyndee and her most courteous teammates!

Room Tip: The Snow Goose suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family stay in the early part of August, 2012, was superb. Cyndee, the inn-keeper, is a gracious host and a class-A professional in the hospitality business. We are a family of three children, came all the way from distant Israel, and stayed at a spacious suite in the third floor of the Snow Goose Inn, which is all you'd expect of a bed and breakfast in Vermont in the form of style and aesthetics. Cyndee catered to all our needs and requests, including letting us use the laundry room and kitchen. Breakfasts are delicious, typically taken in the dining room or on the balcony. The Inn is located in the heart of Green Mountains in southern Vermont - a true gem of a region. We warmly recommend Snow Goose and will surely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here as part of the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge. They were orginally one of the inns that were in partnership with the challenge, however since we saw they had great ratings we decided to call and find out if they would still honor the special price. Cyndee (the innkeeper) called the mountain to find out abotu the package and called us back and said she would do it! Our stay included a bottle of wine, a $15 dinner credit, registration for the challenge, a two-night stay, and breakfast for each morning. It was a fantastic deal. The breakfast was amazing...the Snow Goose eggs benedict is a must try when you are there. The wine and cheese at 5:30 was great.

We had arrived late on Saturday night. Cyndee left a welcome letter at the front desk for us indicating where our room was and left everything prepared for us.

The staff was great and check out was a breeze. We were sad to leave. We would definitely come back and recommend others to stay here. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportingdb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Inn for a night in early August while we were visiting the Mount Snow area. Cyndee was an amazing host - she left us wine and cheese for our late arrival, presented us with an incredible breakfast (still dreaming about it), and even accommodated our last minute travel changes. We have been staying in the Mount Snow area now for several years and the Snow Goose is my top choice of everywhere we have stayed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed August 31 to September 2nd. We decided to splurge and booked room 13, a huge suite with a king sized bed, private balcony, massive jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv and fireplace. Turns out it has a separate room as well with a sofa bed and tv one room below. We originally thought I was a common area, not part of our suite, hahaha. The room was clean and comfortable. We didnt have a chance to use the fireplace because the nights were unseasonably warm :( Cyndee the owner and operator of the Inn is extremely gracious. She helped us with reservations, hiking trails, etc. She and her staff made every effort to make us comfortable. She also cooked up a terrific breakfast for us every morning! I must say that for us the only negative is the distance from home or else we would come down sooner. Thanks Cyndee for making our first weekend getaway in a long time a memorable one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The fiancee and I spent the weekend here and had a great time. I'm not an experienced B&Ber, so I'm not exactly sure what I should be comparing this place to, but here are some factors:

Cyndee, the innkeeper, is very nice and friendly and lots of advice for people who needed it regarding where to have dinner or what to do. (We didn't really seek out any of that advice, but I heard her giving it to others.)

Rooms are fine. Deluxe rooms have Jacuzzis and porches and fireplaces.

Breakfast is GREAT. AWESOME blueberry muffins.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are barely more expensive in the off season. Just do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meschwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.3 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#8 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing