We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More comfortable than home”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2008

Coming in from a day's skiing, tired and wind blown, there was only one aspect of the Snow Goose Inn that surpassed the warmth of a crackeling fireplace and private jacuzzi in each room.

That was the sincere warmth of the owner Cyndee. She really and truly conveyed a feeling of welcome and projected an ambience of extended family.

The property is ideally located at the foot of Mount Snow, easy to find and get to, The furnishings are quaintly and meticiously appointed to enhance the atmosphere of friendship. Many guests meet in the common areas for wine, cheese, crackers, and friendly conversation..

We have been guests twice now and plan on keeping the inn as the home base of our annual ski adventure and romantic get away.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Golf-Hack01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 352 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2008

My husband and I spent an idylic weekend at the Snow Goose Inn in West Dover Vermont. I had an image of the perfect Inn for a snowy Vermont getaway, and The Snow Goose was so much more than I anticipated.

The Inn is easy to get to. We pulled up to a chamringly rambling building all aglow on a cold New England night. The owners, Cyndee and Ron Frere, greeted us at the door with an easy warmth and showed us to our room, wonderfully furnished with country antigues and a huge fireplace all set to light. WIth a wood pile that was replentished daily, we kept it going the whole weekend. The bed was comfortable and our large bathroom was complete with a luxurious jacuzzi bath. Our friends had equally pleasant rooms, all different, and set up to accommodate families from two to a crowd.

The Inn is large enough to handle groups in the common areas, but these are designed to allow smaller groups to find cozy spaces as well.

Plan to forget any New Year's resolutions about diets while here. The breakfasts were homemade, delicious and plentiful. The varied menu allowed us to try something different each morning - you can't leave without tasting the blueberry pancakes!

There is wonderful shopping nearby and lots of outdoor activities. Some of us started our days with hikes in the nearby woods; others just settled back with another cup of coffee and watched the birds at the numerous bird feeders on the balcony outside.

Cyndee and Ron made some excellent recommendations for some of the area restaurants for dinner and were most helpful with reservation arrangements.

This will definitely become a getaway that we return to again and again, and I am anxious to explore the area in some of the other seasons as well.

Add this to your list of "must visit" spots.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Roy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We wanted an active, scenic, outdoor getaway with cozy indoor surroundings, and of course great food. I usually head for the tropics for my vacations, this year I'm so glad I tried something new to ring in the New Year. We found everything we were looking for in West Dover, Vermont at Snow Goose Inn. Our consummate host, Cyndee, made us feel right at home. Talk about warmth and top-notch hospitality; it has earned 5 stars and then some in my book! Snow Goose is a lovely Inn, perfectly sized, and extremely well maintained. Cyndee prepared our delicious, generously portioned, full fresh country breakfasts to start our days off right. Then it was off for a day of snowboarding on nearby Mount Snow, snowmobiling with High Country Tours, or a horse drawn sleigh ride at Adams Farm.
What a pleasure at the end of a long day to return home to the inn for wine (optional), cheese and conversation with other guests, a great blend of families and snuggled up couples. We capped off our days with a dip in the Jacuzzi, and a roaring fire warming the room to perfection. A room which was by the way large, well decorated like the rest of the Inn, and provided us with a comfy bed for a good nights sleep.

Note: For lunch and dinner we found tasty spots like TC's Family Restaurant, Ravello and Maple Leaf Brewery.

Weather conditions couldn't have been better. It snowed nearly the entire time, this is late December early January. Make sure you have an all wheel drive vehicle.

Don't leave without trying Cyndee's made to order, hand dipped chocolate covered strawberries.

Thank You Snow Goose for a time we won't forget, we're already sending friends your way.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYCtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

As soon as we checked into the Snow Goose Inn, Cyndee the owner had a nice smile and treated us to a friendly welcome. We travel with our two little chihuahuas, and they were welcomed as well.

Our room was spacious and included a hot tub with salts, it was very cozy. Also , there was a separate door that led out to a porch, that had it not been freezing and covered with snow, we would have used.

The Inn as a whole was decorated nicely, and the extra touches like the wine and cheese/cracker hour in the mid afternoon made it extra special. Cyndee also included the bottled water and juice in the Inn's fridge, and a late night snack of some muffins from the wonderful breakfast made for us!!

The location was private and easy to find, our room quiet and cozy.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zoehunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Snow Goose Inn in West Dover is a snug, cozy spot in a gorgeous setting. As charming as the place is, however, the real reason to go here is the owner, Cyndee. She treated me like family and made me feel very welcome.
My room had a fireplace and was quite large. Her breakfast was delicious. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stanleyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Great place to stay. Ron and Cyndee are phenominal hosts. There was wine and cheese in front of a fireplace in the main room, and a fabulous breakfast cooked by Cyndee in the morning. We stayed in a beautiful room with a nice fireplace and a 2 person jacuzzi. The bed was very comfortable too, I wish I could take it home. Free soda and water available at all times and an open kitchen which we used for some 2am hot chocolate. All in all, a great experience and will be back shortly for another romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scottrpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We stayed one night (July 28th) and boy were we pleasantly surprised. The place was wonderful and the owners were as helpful, friendly and accommodating as could be! We had a great room with a king bed, fireplace, TV, stereo, air conditioning unit, jacuzzi bathtub for two and french doors that open up to the balcony. they have several nice touches worth mentioning like candles in the room, fresh starter wood and paper for the fireplace. Full instructions on the fireplace and jacuzzi. They have a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon, with full breakfast in the morning cooked by the owners. They also offer sparkling water and soda available anytime. We hightly recommend this place if you want to have a romantic getaway. It's just perfect and the owners are really fantastic! We wished we had stayed longer. Truly a gem of a place!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mrsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
309 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#8 of 12 in Dover
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $180 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing