We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Summit in the Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have stayed here several times ... the place is alright, but nothing special. The bar is open occassionally (odd I think) and the food options are pretty weak. That said, the mountain is beautiful and the surrounding area has some nice restaurants

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwcjbush, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your observations and I hope you will take the opportunity to visit us again. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our food & beverage team to review how we can improve our culinary options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 326 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Upscale property, but only a few dollars more than the competition. We checked a nearby place that offered much less for only $16 less. This is in the summer which i'm sure is off season. Well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TREK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the Grand summit a few times over the years. We always have come up during the winter season. The Grand summit has very friendly staff and spacious rooms. The restaurant food is very good and the breakfast has excellent options. Full continental and pancakes, waffles and delicious green mountain coffee. The location is great for hitting the slopes as well. We did a snowshoeing tour book in the spa area, it was a lot of fun walking up the mountain after a storm a few days before. The location is great so I highly recommend this hotel for your summer/winter activities.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My daughter Jessica was married last week at Honora Winery in Vermont. We had lots of family attending from across the country. The Grand Summit Resort Hotel was our choice of residence for two nights. They also prepared the food for the Wedding reception and a brunch for our out of towners the morning after the wedding. Everything was superb. The food for the reception was transported from the hotel to the winery about 40 minutes away and was hot, fresh and delicious. The brunch was spectacular with a great variety including fresh fruits, breads, custom made omelets and more. The staff went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and fun. And this was all done in the midst of full occupancy due to the Tough Mudder taking place at the same time. Kudos to Grand Summit Resort. And especially to the catering staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdchap1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Was attending a wedding during the weekend the Tough Mudders were in town, everything was well organized and there wasn't any problems with parking or getting around. They also have fun events like smores evening, or hiking, and yoga. Didn't have time to attend any of them because of the wedding but next time we'd love to come back for a vacation. The food in the restaurant is amazing, they have Vermont fresh produce and everything from the home made clam chowder to the Harvest salad with fresh grilled scallops was delish!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geeneeofdalamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I were doing the New England Tough Mudder and booked a 2-bedroom suite at the Grand Summit for the weekend. There were 3 adults and 1 child in our party. We had a GREAT experience at this hotel and can't wait to return. I'm a little baffled by some of the previous reviews. Obviously it's not a Four Seasons -- it's a New England ski lodge. And our expectations were low since it was an "event weekend" and the hotel was filled to capacity. But I must say, the hotel far exceeded our expectations in just about every way.

The suite was super roomy, comfortable, and well-appointed. I actually think the website does them a disservice -- the accommodations were much nicer than the description and pictures led me to believe. It's not necessarily luxurious, but I much prefer it to anything else we've seen in Dover (i.e. hundred year old B&B's in need of repair). We were very happy with it.

The service was outstanding. This was better service than I've had at some 5-star resorts. The staff seemed very prepared for the weekend and very organized. The front desk was friendly and helpful, housekeeping was very quick to bring extra towels, and even the staff keeping watch at the pool were making sure things ran smoothly.

We did not eat here, so I can't comment on the food. We took advantage of the kitchen and had breakfast in the suite, and then went out into Dover for other meals.

I loved this place. The hotel itself is nice, maybe unremarkable in some ways, but the service and the atmosphere made it very memorable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Mount Snow (or as a "home base" for any Southern VT vacation).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The extended family will wrap up a week at Grand Summit. It has been a delightful stay. The grandchildren attended day camp while the adults did daily touring of the beautiful countryside.

Our respective one-bedroom suites were spacious and clean and we did use our kitchen to cook some basic meals. The restaurants nearby offer decent food fare at reasonable prices. The artisan cheeses and farm-frsh produce are excellent,

The hotel service has been both cordial and helpful.

I would recommend Grand Summit for family get-togethers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.3 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
171 reviews
17.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
681 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
18 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
617 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Address: 39 Mount Snow Road, PO Box 2805, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: $451 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing