We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just As Perfect as Last Year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hermitage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Dover B&B and Inns
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just As Perfect as Last Year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We just returned from a four night stay and it was just as memorable as last year. The service continues to be excellent and the inn has all of the amenities of a five star resort without the crowds. We ventured out during the day and had dinner in the tavern every evening. Food is pricey but delicious and the new chef brings a diverse and delicious selection of alternatives for any discriminating foodie! A wonderful spot to take in the beautiful serenity of Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweeneyBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    20
    8
    8
    13
See reviews for
18
78
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Silver, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

had july 4th weekend at the Hermitage. i have been visiting Mt. Snow region for over 35 years. the Hermitage brings a new level of visit to the region.

checked into a room in the main hotel, and the room was, in every way, 5 star !
each evening there was a bed pull down and a freshly baked cookie on the night table.
lucky we didnt have to fight over it, because there was one for each guest.

the inn has it all ! there is nothing to compare. service was gracious with a smile. evenings on the patio with a drink, and sunset were magnificent.

dining was also a great experience.
cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrhkenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

After staying at the inn many times in the 1970's, we decided to return this past fall to check it out and have lunch there. The meal was excellent and the inn had been completely updated. After touring some rooms, we decided to return for an overnight stay and do some cross country skiing. Upon arrival, we had a fantastic lunch overlooking the skiers as the snow was falling heavily. Our waiter, Peter, was wonderful. We stayed in the "Willow" room which was beautifully furnished and had a fireplace. We always loved The Hermitage because you could ski right outside your door. Thanks to the new manager, Steve, the place is better than ever!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogiVenice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

If you go to the Hermitage bar, order the pesto pizza, it's the best !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseytraveler035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

We are local West Dover residents and had dinner at The Hermitage recently to celebrate my birthday. Although the dining room was lovely, and only one other table was occupied on the Monday evening just before Thanksgiving, both the food and the service left much to be desired.

Only after we asked did our server bring a bread basket to our table and then it contained four small slices of bread. My husband's ribeye steak and caesar salad were totally pedestrian. My osso bucco was overcooked and had lost all lusciousness. I had to ask the server for a small fork to try to get the marrow out of the bone - even then, it didn't fit and the marrow remained out of reach. Our shared dessert (apple crumble) was yummy and the high point of our dinner.

Overall, the meal was disappointing and over-priced. Too bad - the location is great and we live only a mile away. We won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

I find it comical, absolutely comical, that anyone can have predominantly bad things to say about this Inn. I have traveled all over the world, and stayed at some of the most luxurious hotels and inns, and this is simply one of the best. I can only guess that people who are saying negative things either don't know what they're talking about or have a business gripe with the Inn (perhaps disgruntled competitors?).

So, the Inn . . . how about newly refurbished, spotless rooms, with wide-planked wooden floors, huge flat screen TVs, ambient lighting, gas fireplaces, marble-tiled oversized showers, comfy beds and robes. Turndown service at night, with homemade cookies.

Oh, and they just added several new rooms in a removed cottage, most, if not all of which, have oversized jacuzzi tubs.

A glamorous, perfectly heated, covered outdoor hot tub with views of the woods and babbling creek below.

A modern fitness and game room, the game room with a huge pool table.

How about the food? Breakfast was excellent, with melt-in-your mouth homemade muffins, great hash browns and bacon, fresh squeezed juices, served in a bright, airy wide wood-planked room. The toast that came with our meals could have been a little better, as well as the french toast (which didn't seem to be made with homemade bread, which should be standard in a gourmet Inn - if the bread was homemade, it was only average), and our breakfast server did not appear to be happy (however, all of our other servers were great).

A modern, long, wood bar, with not only an extensive wine list, but a well-conceived cocktail list as well. Red and white walls add a romantic vibe - it is a great place to have a drink before venturing into the dining room for dinner.

The dining room is vast, perhaps too vast (which takes away from a highly romantic vibe) - think reception area, as opposed to a restaurant - also, the lighting needs to be dimmed - however, those are the only negatives. The most comfortable dining chairs you will ever eat in - plush, royal blue, high-backed chairs.

Excellent cuisine, from the melt-in-your mouth goat cheese artichoke fritters (which would have benefitted from more artichoke), meat-filled ravioli in a truffle cream sauce, and fall-off-the-bone beef short ribs. Truly excellent food.

Finally, the best for last - Steve O'Hern, the innkeeper. Steve is a class act - a gentleman, always with a smile and eager to please. He is simply one of the best innkeepers I have had the pleasure to meet.

Enjoy, everyone. I only hope that word doesn't get out too much, so I can get a reservation next year. Keep the negative reviews coming . . . :))

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SalLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Lookout
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I own a ski house down the road from the Hermitage Inn and I will NEVER eat there again! I waited 30 minutes for bread, nobody checked our table for 45 minutes, our water and cocktail glasses remained empty for 45 minutes, my entre was tough and dry and there was no vegetable or potato- just meat! We had a 6:30 reservation October 11th for 6 girls. Not even half the restaurant was filled and it took 3 and a half hours for our meals to come out. We asked to speak with the manager Sean and the first person we asked claimed he was off that night however, the second person we asked said he had been fired a month ago! Get your stories straight.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyd140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.5 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Inn

Property: The Hermitage Inn
Address: 25 Handle Rd, Dover, VT 05356-9726
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hermitage Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermitage Inn captures a time in Vermont's history, allowing you to relax and rejuvenate in a luxuriously renovated Country Inn. Surrounded by the Green Mountain National Forest, we are privileged to be home to some of the most attractive and beautiful settings Vermont has to offer. Whether you are visiting us during the splendor of snow, the vibrant colors of fall, the beauty of summer, or the awakening of spring, you will be able to enjoy all the Inn has to offer. Embark on a snowshoe tour or hike on our trails, relax in our sauna after a vigorous cross-country ski outing, or enjoy a rousing game of pool in our game room. Fly-fish from the edge of our stocked pond on a crips autumn morning, or relax and lose yourself in your favorite book in our serene apple orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hermitage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hermitage Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing