We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly, well-located”
Review of West Dover Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Dover Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Richmond Hill, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly, well-located”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Like many reviewers for the West Dover Inn, my wife and I came on a LivingSocial package - two nights in a regular room, two breakfasts, a picnic lunch, discounted excursion rental. For the money, this was well worth it.

The regular rooms aren't the height of elegance, but they are tastefully decorated and generally comfortable. The TV was a tiny little old, low-quality tube unit stuck awkwardly in a cupboard. That was a little discouraging to see given that the room next door had a nice wall-mounted flat screen. But, the TV was hardly a focal point of our visit, and I'd find it most regrettable were anyone to make TV a high priority when traveling to such a beautiful place.

They're still dealing with the damage caused by Irene, so there was no heat, but that'll be fixed soon as repairmen where there all day working on it. Our second night did dip into the 50's so we did have to cover up well. I won't lie - there was something a bit off about the bed. I'm not sure what, but I didn't sleep as deeply as I had hoped - some tossing and turning. Maybe it was the unevenness of the old floors resulting in a uneven bed surface - a trade-off staying in such an old place, I guess.

After a 4+ hour drive up from NYC, we weren't terribly adventurous on our day of arrival. But pulling out a chess set from their assortment of board games and enjoying a quiet game in the sitting room made for a pleasant way to pass the time ahead of dinner.

I've reviewed the attached restaurant in a separate review, but I can say that the breakfasts included in the package were FANTASTIC - classic, filling, fresh. If we ever visit the area again without staying in the West Dover Inn, we still might come by for breakfast - it's that good. The dinner food, though not included in our package, was really quite good, too.

The service was really great. Phil loves his business and knows the area very well. On our second day we were committed to taking advantage of the kayak rental from Equipe. Phil gave us wonderful directions and a nice little picnic lunch. Somerset Reservoir is a FANTASTIC place to go kayaking, and with the coupon from the LivingSocial package, it only cost us $27 to rent a two-person kayak. On our departure day, he helped us pick a good hike at Jamaica State Park that we could fit in before having to drive back to New York - considering getting back to the Interstate and all those practical considerations.

It's safe to say that we definitely got our money's worth with the LivingSocial deal. I'm not 100% sold on coming back at full price, when and if we can afford it. We'd probably aim for a higher-quality room instead of one of the basic rooms. But the quality of service does go a long way.

Room Tip: The Green Mountain room was kind of uninspiring in the late afternoon/evening when we arrived, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XenophonJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
102
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, using a great deal from Living Social. We paid $229 for 2 nights, which included a full, off the menu breakfast both days and a picnic lunch for one of those days...great value!

We had been upgraded tp a suite, which consisted of a separate sitting room with a gas fireplace and a small TV, a bedroom with a queen sized bed and a television, and a large, separate bathroom with a jacuzzi tub/shower and double sinks. Accommodations were decorated in a country style, fitting to the Inn, and were clean and comfortable. We had use of a balcony/porch near our bedroom entrance...the view was not great, as there was some construction vehicles and the parking lot to look at, but that was just when we were there---I am sure that in the future there will be lovely greenery or gardens to look at. It was quiet and private.

The innkeeper we met, Phil, is very friendly and helpful..we felt very welcomed and comfortable there. There is a large "parlor" decorated in the style of 1846 that anyone could enjoy; that was the only place I could get wifi on my tablet, which was not a problem for me. Phil provided us with a mapped out route to drive to some of the attractions we had wanted to see, like a cheese factory, the Vermont Country Store, and Harpoon Brewery.

We had our complimentary breakfast in the restaurant attached to the Inn, the 1846 Restaurant...our breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, as was the coffee! One night, we had dinner at the restaurant; we shared a mozzarella/tomato salad appetizer and a honey/beet/salmon dish, a soda and an iced tea, and 1 piece of cake to go....the bill came to around $69 (inc. tip). It was very well prepared, but (I thought) a little pricey. We enjoyed it very much, though.

I'm sure the price of this (and other local) inn doubles during the winter months, due to its proximity to Mt Snow Ski Resort, but we felt we had an excellent deal and enjoyed our stay for its comfort and value, very much!!

Room Tip: ask if you could be upgraded to a suite, especially if staying during the week during the summer mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieA08904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for three nights (we're a 50-something couple) as part of an extended NE vacation. If you are accustomed to older B&B's (think Cape May, NJ), then you will know what to expect. We learned of the Inn through Living Social and got a terrific deal, including a third night at the LS deal price from talking directly to Phil, the innkeeper. Deal included room (bottle of wine and chocolates were a surprise), breakfast each am, coupon for a "boxed lunch," $15 off a dinner at the 1846 Tavern (adjacent to Inn), 50% off kayaks, $10.00 of a massage. We took advantage of everything but the massage - just ran out of time. Our room was clean and adequate in size. We stayed in a front room which had access to a balcony/porch facing the street - we enjoyed sitting for a glass of wine there in the evening. We are used to a really dark and quiet bedroom for sleeping, so if that is a big deal for you, perhaps another room in back of Inn might be better. The food at the Inn was really terrific (superb actually), but we did also try out some other local restaurants (there are plenty in the area). Phil gave excellent recommendations for hiking and kayaking. We drove into Wilmington (only down the road) and into Manchester, VT (about an hour away) and feel that the location of the Inn provided us some flexibility in what to do/where to explore. Would recommend the Inn provided you are ok with the older B&B type of accommodations. This was an excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at many inns, but West Dover Inn is the absolute best ever. Innkeepers are so friendly, they make you feel right at home. Food is gourmet style and fabulous. Fun entertainment. I have gone back to the Inn a few times and every room has been immaculate and beds are so comfortable. Staying at the West Dover Inn is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Each room has its own special uniqueness so you can't go wrong no matter what room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMarrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is our fifth visit here and it's always a wonderful experience. Very comfortable and cozy accomodations, truly great restaurant and bar as well as lots of entertainment. The InnKeepers (Phil & Kathy Gilpin) are terrific and knowledgeable hosts. This place is also immaculate!
Be sure to try hiking in the area. Phil will get you directions to any kind of places you'd like to go and send you off with a great lunch in a cooler to go.
Just down the street from the Mt. Snow ski resort, there are lots of other restaurants and inns, but this one is by far the best.
Be sure to ask about the history of this 1846 inn.
We'll be coming back over and over again. Hope to see you there!!

Room Tip: Try the suites....jacuzzi tibs, fireplaces, living rooms, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had such a blast at this inn!! It was very clean, staff was friendly, and it was very homey and comfortable!! I would definitely go back any time with family and friends. It was a great trip! It wasn't noisy and it was nice and peaceful! Thanks for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Clean, surprisingly quiet, quaint, great food, warm hospitality. Went with a Living Social Deal, was not disappointed. Was welcomed in my room by a bottle of wine and a cheese tray...yummy. Phil was very friendly and helpful with his information. It was all you would want in an Inn. The food at the Inn with outside seating was outstanding along with the service. The location was great, central to all areas. Got all the history from the floods by all the local shopkeepers. My son went to college in VT and we spent a lot of time there exploring all areas. Can't beat the down to earth friendliness and beauty of the State. Just loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.7 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Dover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Dover Inn

Property: West Dover Inn
Address: 108 Route 100, Box 1208, Dover, VT 05356-4407
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Dover Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Dover Inn continues an important tradition begun in 1846. Originally built as a stage coach stop and tavern, the inn has been lovingly restored and now provides quiet luxury, comfortable accommodations and memorable dining in a central, yet serene location in southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Dover Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Dover Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing