We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West Dover Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Dover Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
“Would definitely go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Clean, surprisingly quiet, quaint, great food, warm hospitality. Went with a Living Social Deal, was not disappointed. Was welcomed in my room by a bottle of wine and a cheese tray...yummy. Phil was very friendly and helpful with his information. It was all you would want in an Inn. The food at the Inn with outside seating was outstanding along with the service. The location was great, central to all areas. Got all the history from the floods by all the local shopkeepers. My son went to college in VT and we spent a lot of time there exploring all areas. Can't beat the down to earth friendliness and beauty of the State. Just loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
102
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The west dover Inn is a old historic inn with a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They can give you a plan for a day which will have a stop for everyone. The Inn feels like your visiting Grandma's, house with a living area and reading area for you along with your own bedroom to hang out in. We stayed in the green mountain room and it was a decent sized room with nice features. The mattress was not very comfortable but the room was very comforting. The room was very clean even cleaned the walls and under the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed at the Inn 2 nights via a package that included breakfast (cooked to order) each morning, a picnic lunch and a discount coupon for dinner all at the tavern on the property.
The Inn is beautiful and the room was very nice. Complimentry wine and chocolates were part of our package also. Phil, the innkeeper knows the area well and gave us printed directions to area attractions and explained all in detail.
The area offers plenty to see and do and yet is relaxing and quiet if that is what you wish. I definately will go back to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

For my college graduation, my girlfriend got us a weekend getaway at the West Dover Inn, and I can safely say everything was perfect! The Inn itself was a beautiful Vermont Inn, it's one of the oldest still in operation. They do a great job of preserving its history, while making sure you have all of the modern amenities. The staff is what really made this trip wonderful though. Phil was very helpful in showing us what the area had to offer, from breweries to secret swimming holes. Although it doesn't have an actual swimming pool or fitness center, Phil has great suggestions for day hikes and swimming holes! He has several different day trips planned out depending on what your tastes are. The tavern that is attached to the Inn is a gem as well. The prices were reasonable, I enjoyed the 'burger and brew for $9.99' deal frequently.

Definitely want to go back soon! We've heard that there is a GREAT magician that goes every Saturday night as dinner entertainment during the ski season too. This was the perfect VT getaway vacation destination!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Mountain Room, which had a fireplace which would have been PERFECT if we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The biggest pluses are the friendly owner and the restaurant under the same roof. The biggest OKs are the accommodations, but all I need to say there is that you're staying in a house that's just 34 years shy of 2 centuries - this is not a downtown hotel with the latest amenities. Adjust your expectations. The biggest minuses are nothing.

We had a great time relaxing in Southern VT, with lots of help from the owner on how we can spend our days. The breakfasts were good, and the dinner was absolutely delicious. We did a little bit of exploring, a little bit of lounging, and a little bit of chatting with the owner - very pleased with this getaway!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruzimon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was such a wonderful wonderful place to stay. Phil was extremely hospitable and everyone at the inn was so accommodating and kept us extremely happy. Phil knew the area well and helped plan out a great visit to Vermont. The rooms were beautiful and the inn itself was in a gorgeous Vermont area near the Green Mountains. The food was delicious and the service phenomenal. Definitely would stay again when we're back in Vermont. I would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npham722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

So I just got home from a weekend at The West Dover Inn, and I must say that I had an AMAZING time. Let me start from the beginning:

This weekend I planned to propose to my girlfriend. I decided this needed to be a big production. You (hopefully) only get married once. Phil Gilpin, the innkeeper, was a HUGE help. He recommended a wonderful ranch to go horseback riding (The Mountain View Ranch) as well as a florist to fill the room with flowers (Heather's Flower Shop). He knows the area VERY well and is amazingly friendly. He really goes that extra mile to make you feel welcome, at home, at ease, and taken care of. As a side note, he has as thick Boston accept that reminds me of one of my uncles, whom I love, so that immediately set me at ease.

All of his suggestions added up to a wonderful proposal (in a beautiful meadow with a gorgeous mountain view - that ranch lives up to its name!). I proposed on a Sunday; the flower shop wasn't open on a Sunday. Phil received the flowers on Saturday, before we even GOT to the inn, held on to them, then placed them in the room while we were gone. My now-fiancee (she said yes!) was absolutely thrilled!

The room itself (the Dover Room) was cute. It was a bigger room, designed for families with kids - there were multiple beds. (The multiple beds actually worked out well since one night, I was tossing and turning a bit because I hurt my shoulder during the day, and I knew it would keep my fiancee up, so I slept in the smaller bed.)

The room was well kept, clean, and nice. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were nice (I'm picky about pillows). It also had a Vizio HDTV, which I didn't expect. My laptop has an HDMI output - I could've brought an HDMI cable to watch movies! :) As a side bonus, the conditioning shampoo did some really nice things to my hair - and I have long, thick, occasionally very unmanageable black hair. I could hear the bar beneath us just slightly, but they stopped at 10:30, long before we needed to go to sleep.

Also, free, fast wi-fi. None of this garbage with paying per day, or paying for data. It was free. PERIOD. I cannot STAND it when hotels charge you for wifi. My SO and I were able to enjoy all the streaming Netflix we wanted.

I would've been very happy with all of that, but the 1846 Tavern and Restaurant was FANTASTIC! We went here on a Living Social deal, so we got a $25 credit there. So of course, we tried it the first night. BLOWN. AWAY. I had the panko-fried chicken with this absolutely HEAVENLY maple bourbon cream reduction. It was heaven, heaven I tell you! I poured the rest of the sauce (they're generous with it) on my mashed potatoes, which were creamy and delicious. We had a soft-shell crab appetizer too, which was very crispy and delicious.

My significant other got the scallops, which were spicy, tender, and absolutely wonderful. I've never really loved scallops, but that dish made me a believer. I couldn't decide which one I liked more!

The next night, we returned and I had the demi glazed 12 oz steak (it was huge - none of this, "12 oz before we cooked it" crap like in NYC) which was perfect pink and medium rare. The glaze was thick and delicious. My SO got the honey roasted salmon which she loved.

Also, on the weekend nights we were there, this guy Michael Flynn was playing covers of old 60s rock and folk songs. Really helped set the mood. I enjoyed him immensely.

As a side note: my fiancee and I are from Jersey City, NJ, right across the river from Manhattan. We're used to excellent food and people being enormous jerks all the time. The food at the 1846 was fantastic and exceeded our high expectations for chow. And the people in Vermont? The nicest I've ever met. People were smiling, saying hello, being sweet and unpretentious and kind and... god, it was just so refreshing!! To remember that not everyone is doing the hard sprint through life like we do in the big city. That some people, people who maybe have their heads screwed on a bit straighter than the rest of us, have figured out how to be good at something, do it well, and be really happy while they do it. And to spread that happiness around.

Vermont, man. There's nothing like it.

As a side side side note: I'm Chinese. My fiancee is a blonde-haired, blue-eyed white girl. I didn't get trouble from ANYONE. Not one sideways glance. Nothing. I've been to states where this has been a real issue for us (Pennsylvania, I'm looking at you). None of that in Vermont. I love it here, and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dover hotels
2.6 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#8 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Dover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Dover Inn

Property: West Dover Inn
Address: 108 Route 100, Box 1208, Dover, VT 05356
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Dover Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Dover Inn continues an important tradition begun in 1846. Originally built as a stage coach stop and tavern, the inn has been lovingly restored and now provides quiet luxury, comfortable accommodations and memorable dining in a central, yet serene location in southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Dover Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Dover Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing