We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and want to go back!”
Review of West Dover Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Dover Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Despite the rainy weather, we loved our stay at West Dover Inn. The moment we checked in we were greeted by Phil Jr. who was beyond accommodating and down right made us feel like we were friends. Phil along with all staff we encountered on our stay (rest. included) were very helpful with tips about the area, and enjoyed small talk about our favorite Boston sports teams. What's not to love about a place where the bar hours are based around the Red Sox schedule?! Our room, #4, was recently updated and we found it very clean, spacious, and comfortable for our stay. We were part of the Living Social special, and every part of the deal... from the wine and cheese tray, to the bagged lunch and artist visit was truly special. We found our dinners at 1846 Tavern to be exceptional. We had the Scallops dinner, and the Salmon dinner, as well as the Crab Cake app. and special Clam app, all of which I will be craving for some time to come and rivaled what Boston (our home turf) has to offer. The second night we stopped by the bar for some burgers and gobbled those monsters up with no problem. Our trip could have easily been a rained out unenjoyable few days, but thanks to Phil Jr. and the staff at West Dover Inn, we loved our time in Vermont and hopefully will be back sooner rather than later! Thank you Phil and everyone else.

Room Tip: We had room #4, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristenc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

booked strictly due to livingsocial we loved it. we did the suite and comfortably it was lots of space for a weekend getaway. loved the breakfast and dinner we definitely want to come back for the winter. ALSO check out Apres Vous on 19 south main st its one town over in WILMINGTON,VT on 19 south main st. lovely place with fabulous drinks and the service is phenominal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divanaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We just got back from the West Dover Inn and I wanted to write this review while it was still fresh in my mind. We had a wonderful time here! The owners were very down to earth and there if you needed them, but respected our privacy at the same time. The main reason that I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I felt that the overall ambience was not consistent. It felt a bit like several generations of owners had decorated the home and that its identity is a bit confused. It makes sense, the West Dover Inn has been an Inn since 1846 which gives it a rich amount of beauty and history, but i think that some decorative specifications and some spring cleaning is in order. That said, the heart of the home is strong, caring and well-meaning. The food is absolutely amazing, I would eat here every night if I could and that means a lot coming from a New York foodie. If anything, go to the 1846 Restaurant and Tavern for dinner one night even if you don't end up staying at the Inn. We came here with our baby and everyone, including the other guests were very sweet to him and to us and that meant a lot. What I loved most about the West Dover Inn is that they made you feel like a local rather than a tourist and helped us to find activities to do without making us feel annoying or burdensome..or like tourists. For you, the reader who is trying to decide where to stay my advice to you would be to evaluate what you need in a B&B. Is it the relationships between the owners and staff? West Dover Inn is great for this. Is it location? West Dover is also very good for this if you want to be near the slopes, hiking or favorite local spots. Is it comfort, cleanliness and ambience? West Dover is not the strongest in this field, but I think it could easily be improved. Is it food? West Dover Inn and 1846 Tavern is off the charts here. All in all, I would probably stay here again. The food and good company is just too good to pass up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephchrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Just got back from a weekend at the West Dover Inn -- we were one of many in town for the Tough Mudder event. We had a fantastic weekend. The Inn is very homey and quaint. The outside is very pretty -- quintessential Vermont. But as far as the rooms are concerned, I think some updating is necessary just for comfort's sake. Our room was very basic and no frills. The mattresses, as a previous reviewer mentioned, were not at all comfortable. And I'm not even sure why there was a TV in there -- it was so tiny and the reception was so poor, it was kind of pointless. I think a little updating in the rooms would go a long way.

That being said, the rooms were very clean and they were just fine for our needs. And the Innkeeper and other staff were VERY nice and accommodating. The overall feel of the place was so warm. We ate twice in the restaurant (breakfast and dinner) and the food was very good. During dinner there was great live music and a magician going table-to-table (which my daughter loved). And the location was very convenient to Mount Snow.

So, I do think that a little updating in some of the older rooms would be nice. But overall I enjoyed our stay -- kindness and good service go a long way for me.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We received a ski package to the West Dover Inn as a retirement gift from our dear friends. And what a gift it turned out to be! Upon our arrival, we were led to our suite complete with a sitting room boasting a gas fired fireplace. The bathroom was equipped with a jacuzzi which we knew would come in handy after our day of skiing. After unpacking we headed to the bar area which was bustling. We brought our generously poured drinks to an intimate table next to the fireplace in the dining room. Dinner was delicious starting with a delectable tomato soup with sun dried tomatoes. Our server was happy, smiling, and accommodating. As our stay continued, we enjoyed breakfasts cooked to order and warm and easy going conversation with our innkeeper, Phil, and his staff. The comfortable atmosphere made us feel almost like family.
Mt. Snow could be seen from the Inn and we were thrilled to find excellent skiing conditions and no lines during the third week of March.
We were rejuvinated and happy as our stay ended. We highly recommend the West Dover Inn and are anxious to return during the golf season.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retireees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day trip to the southern part of Vermont. We stayed at the charming West Dover Inn which is several miles south of the Mt. Snow Ski Resort. We visit Vermont on a regular basis because we love the mountains, streams, snow and snow mobiling. The beauty of Vermont can only be surpassed by coziness and warmth of the historic 1846 West Dover Inn, its owners and staff.

We have visited the West Dover Inn for the past 4 years-- during the Fall to view the Fall Foliage and several times in the winter to partake of winter activities. The Inn has 11 beautifully decorated rooms, several with gas fireplaces, sitting rooms and Jacuzzis. There is also a 2 room dining area, complete with wood burning fireplace. The menu has many choices and you can have either full dinners or light fare. There is a cozy bar with cushy chairs which is the perfect place to sip a cocktail while watching it snow or having a friendly conversation with others around you.

From Wednesday through Sunday, there is live music and singing; Saturdays you will see Jay McMahon visiting every table with his incredible magic tricks. Jay is truly amazing and I challenge you to figure out how he does his tricks. There are 2 new chefs-- Dennis in the morning and Kyle in the evening. They both cook up meals that are mouth wateringly delicious. A new twist on Kyle’s butternut squash ravioli is that it is accompanied by a maple bourbon cream sauce with dried cranberries. I simply could not resist having this entrée several times during our stay. There are plenty of other foods to enjoy on the menu which are equally as delicious, whether it’s fish, pork, chicken or steak. They also have an extensive wine list for your sipping pleasure.

We stayed in the Mt. Snow Suite which is very clean and more than met our expectations. On other visits, we have stayed in the Haystack Suite and the North and South Suites and each of the rooms is uniquely charming and very comfortable. Each time we visit, we always look forward to talking with the friendly owners and staff and they all do so much to make our stay memorable which always makes us wish our visit could last just a couple more days.

The Inn is no more than 2 miles south of Mt. Snow for those who enjoy skiing, snow mobiling, tubing and other winter activities. Across from Mt. Snow, Timber Creek offers snow shoeing as well as cross country skiing in a lovely pristine setting with many trails. Since the Inn is on Route 100 and close to Route 9, it is easily accessible.

Next time you want to travel to Vermont, think seriously about staying at the West Dover Inn. Considering the exceptional accommodations, food, nearby activities and best of all, the people, it doesn’t get any better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We chose the West Dover Inn for a relaxing weekend retreat because we heard that Kyle Garell (formerly from The Charlotte Inn in Martha's Vineyard) was the Executive Chef. We didn't go for the winter sports at Mt. Snow. For us, a wonderful culinary experience with some great wine is more exciting than skiing. The West Dover Inn is a relatively small B&B Inn with only12 rooms but they typically serve well over 150 dinners on a weekend night. I guess the word got out that there’s a new Chef in town. We enjoyed an outstanding gourmet dinner on Saturday night. The quality of the food and service makes this place stand out as one of the finer dining experiences I’ve had anywhere.

Thank you Innkeeper Phil for being a great host. You made our short stay, fun and relaxing. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefDonJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.1 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
308 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
132 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Wilmington Inn
The Wilmington Inn
#1 of 10 in Wilmington
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Dover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Dover Inn

Address: 108 Route 100, Box 1208, Dover, VT 05356-4407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: $107 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Dover Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Dover Inn continues an important tradition begun in 1846. Originally built as a stage coach stop and tavern, the inn has been lovingly restored and now provides quiet luxury, comfortable accommodations and memorable dining in a central, yet serene location in southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Dover Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Dover Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing