We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary dinner”

Michael's on the Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Michael's on the Hill is located within a circa 1820 farmhouse, picturesquely set on a hill, with breathtaking views of the Green Mountains. The restaurant can comfortably seat 84 guests, and has a full bar with a piano lounge and outside porch available for dining. We boast a large enclosed wrap-around porch dining room (with a view from each table) and a beautifully renovated barn room where guests may dine in luxury, all the while being reminded of the history of the barn. Michael's on the Hill emits a sophisticated charm without the pretentious attitude so commonplace in a restaurant with fine food. We offer locally driven, innovative European cuisine and a welcoming, refined atmosphere. When it comes to elements as vital as flavor, taste and preparation, a great respect for the ingredients must exist. As we believe, a chef's ego should never outshine the true stars, the ingredients. Our dishes are innovative, flavorful and fresh, focusing on local ingredients, and created in a European style. The evening always turns Michael's on the Hill into a romantic, warm, and festive atmosphere for guests to enjoy dinner expertly created by Chef/Owner Michael Kloeti. All dinners start with a warm, linen-wrapped sourdough baguette, sweet butter, and a bowl of marinated olives. Whether sitting near the fire, or on our grapevine-surrounded porch, guests are enveloped in a pleasing comfort, while enjoying the piano and personalized attention. Come for a visit, and allow us to share conversation, hospitality and a bit of home.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were staying in Stowe for three days and chose to go to Michael's for our anniversary dinner. We have eaten there in the past and have always been very pleased. We had another outstanding dinner. The atmosphere is very nice and the service is excellent. It is a very high-quality restaurant. We enjoyed our dinner and would highly recommend it to other people. We will definitely return on our next visit to start. Thanks for helping us celebrate our anniversary.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    35
    10
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, CT
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worthy of the Superlatives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We tried Michael's based on our innkeepers' recommendation and we were not disappointed. Service, ambience, and quality of food were top-shelf. Among the highlights: Oven-roasted cod served over kale, lentils, and garnished with puree of red pepper with chunks of diced bacon (this was a special entree); skillet chicken, which was thick yet tender and moist; sweet corn soup; chocolate truffle torte with raspberry sauce; and a wonderful Bloody Martini created with house-made heirloom tomato juice. Nice touches included a small dish of olives and a small baguette served warm and wrapped kerchief-style (rather than in a basket). This place is a perfect blend of fine ingredients and a skilled chef who knows what to do with them. Our water glasses were always filled, the host worked the tables to ensure that all was well, and our waiter, though brisk-moving, was engaging and gregarious. The attention to detail is evident on the plate, lending credence to all the rave reviews.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Route6ALover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A shame I can't give it 6 stars.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Do not come to Stowe or Waterbury without making a trip here. First off, the views are fantastic, looking out on the valley. But, the food is AMAZING. Every dish we had was top-notch. I don't even know how they can call it calamari. It was like nothing I'd had before. Great service, good wine, great views, amazing food. By far, the best restaurant in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant for a Romantic Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I visited Michael's on the Hill last month during a long weekend away to celebrate our anniversary. The innkeepers at our B&B recommended Michael's immediately as where we should go to celebrate our special night. We are SO thankful he did - Michael's is top notch in terms of service, food quality, drinks, and atmosphere. We had a wonderful table in the glassed in porch and had an amazing view of the sunset over the hills in the distance. The fish dishes we had were fresh, innovative, and so tasty. We will remember the experience fondly and hope to visit again when up in VT!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljp2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our first meal in the Stowe/Waterbury area and it was beyond exceptional!

Food: Phenomenal. They just switched to the summer menu and it was perfect. We ordered steak and halibut and they were cooked perfectly. I could have eaten an entire plate of the sweet corn succotash alone. The steak melted, perfect! Nice wine list.

Atmosphere: Wonderful. Great views of the mountains at sunset. We ate early evening like some old folks because we had driven all day and didn't eat much. Very quiet and pretty.

Staff: Host and server were both exceptional.

When we come back to Stowe again, this place is a guaranteed return. Compliments to the chef!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kscho30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Michael's on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing