We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tanglewoods - CLOSED

Tanglewoods
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was a little leery about going here based on some reviews, but it was a great decision. My boyfriends duck was perfect. The side dish of sweet potato fries seemed an odd one for duck, but I shared my red potatoes with him so it was good. My filet mignon was out of this world! Melted in my mouth!!!! I just wished it had been available in a petite since I couldn't take the leftovers back to the B&B. The rolls were perfect too. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will absolutely go back when back in the area.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keh469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good entrees, overpriced, disinterested wait staff, good parking space”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

The décor overuses artificial flower arrangements. The entree "white truffle mac and cheese“ was tasty, a big portion, but overly rich with too much cream sauce. The wait staff is attentive, but coldly mechanical. They may be efficient, but they seem unfriendly. The daily specials feature Southwestern ingredients, and they are tasty but overpriced. Appetizers are the best menu values. Salads have beautiful premium greens which are well trimmed. Small freshly baked rolls are served hot. New England clam chowder made with garlic flavor is an "ugh!" downer. The wine and beer list is small, limited, but well-chosen to provide reasonable choices. There are some good values for "by the glass" wines. We believe that the entire desert menu is overpriced. Overall it was a mixed experience, and we may try it again, but not soon.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The best meal we had while in Stowe/Waterbury area for a week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very cute place - super nice staff - very attentive.
The decor is country cabin feel. That’s ok, it fit in with the rural feel of the area.

Food - very good. The best meal on the last day we were in the area (7 days).

We had one of the specials offered that day - Tuna steak (fresh) with asparagus wrapped in prosciutto, veg medley and fingerling potatoes. The tuna was severed med-well (which is fine with us) otherwise you will need to ask for med-rare.

Appetizer was the cheese, artichoke and spinach dip. Very good.

Fresh and hot complimentary bread served. Drinks were refilled numerous times.

If you get the chance - stop in and eat.

Only concern, the boths are close and we had a family on one side that could not stop talking about religion and the proper way of life (OMG get over yourself) and on the other, senior citizens talking about how crash Sex In The City was to watch (so turn to a different channel). But that goes with going out to eat, sometimes, your sat next to the 'crazies'.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddintheRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love Love Love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have been to Tanglewoods many, many, MANY times and we love it. The service is always great - very nice and down to earth. The food and atmosphere is always wonderful - its a great "date night" every time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinnVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quintessentially Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Tanglewood's, located not far from Waterbury Vermont had to be the cullinary highlight of our recent New England RV trip. Really I cannot reccomend it high enough. Set in a typical rural Vermont valley, in a typical Vermont red Dutch Barn, serving freshly made from local ingredients. As far as restaurants go, Tanglewood's is quintessentially Vermont.
The intimate, warmly lit, dining room was cosy in when we visited in summer but I can only imagine how amazing it must be in winter with the open fireplace roaring.
Now for the food: quite simply it is incredible. Cooked by a father and son team (doesn't that, for some reason, make the food all the better?) the food, which focuses on American classics with an ethnic/European twist, comes out fresh, hot and unbelievably delicious. Of particular reccomendation for starts is the crab cakes, some of the best I've had; and the potato chips with cheese and truffle oil: sounds poor, tastes stunning. Of all the menu though, the crowning glory has to be the fillet mignon covered in gorgonzola and a mushroom demiglaze. It was revelatory.
Location: 3/5
Ambiance: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Value: 3/5
Overall: if you are in Waterbury, visit this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanglewoods also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing