We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in September. We booked a room for three through the Best Western site. The room was a nice size with two queen beds; it was pleasant and clean. We had very little contact with the staff but the few times we did need them they were friendly, polite and helpful. It's true that this two story hotel has no elevator. However, when we checked in we were asked if we wanted a ground floor or a second story one. Breakfast is complimentary and self service. However unlike similar hotels that serve complimentary breakfast real plates and cutlery are used and not disposable ones, it really makes a difference. Breakfast consisted of fruit, bagels, English muffins, other pastries, waffles hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cold cereal, and I saw packets of hot cereal there too. They also had fruit juice tea and good coffee. We did not have dinner at the cafe in the hotel because some of the reviews here scared us off, so we had a lovely dinner at Arvad's Grill and Pub in Waterbury.

Behind the hotel there is a nice covered bridge, some wooden benches, and swings. We did not use the gym or the pool but we peeked inside and it looked nice.

I would stay there again, but if I have more than a handbag, I would ask for a room on the ground floor.

Room Tip: If you are carrying luggage then ask for a room on the ground floor, because the hotel has no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPWaterburyStowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast in the cafe' and do hope you give dinner a try during your next visit. We are happy we were able to offer you a choice of rooms on either floor and are confident that our new elevator will fill the bill no matter how much luggage you may bring on your next visit. Construction of the new elevator will be completed in November 2012. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    285
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
336
254
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel itself is very nice, the outside area and grounds are really pretty. There's even a little covered bridge over by a pond that had benches so you could relax. The downside is that there was no elevator - if you are lugging your vacation-heavy suitcases up those stairs, it's not much fun. We weren't even offered a ground floor room although the couple behind us, a walk-in, was offered one! No bellman. When we got to our room, our view from the window was scaffolding as there was some construction going on. Fairly noisy. We requested a room change, which was granted and which we appreciated. The restaurant is quite good and breakfast was simply great there. A nice place - not the greatest location because of traffic at the bottom can get noisy, but it's a nice place nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPWaterburyStowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your September 2012 visit to Vermont, and thank you for your comments. We appreciate your time to provide feedback and find it a valuable tool to continually strive to improve our service.

The scaffolding you referred to was actually the construction of an elevator at the hotel. The elevator is scheduled to be completed in November 2012. Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We do hope you'll stay with us again during your next visit to the Waterbury-Stowe area and experience the convenience of the new elevator first hand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the BW Waterbury because it was close to Ben and Jerrys/Cabot Cheese/Cider Mill..etc..Just a side note, Ben and Jerry's doesn't make ice cream on Sundays, so plan accordingly..So glad we picked this hotel. Rooms were large and clean, and didn't dissapoint. The property was pretty with a covered bridge, and outside seating to enjoy an early fall evening.
Front desk was very friendly, and helpful. We went to dinner at a pub in Waterbury, can't think of the name but it was very good, and close to the hotel. Went back to the hotel and enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub.. It was very relaxing and not overly crowded. The hotel also had a nice game room that seemed to stay very busy with teenagers playing air hockey and other games.
Overall a great stay, and woke up to a continental breakfast of waffles and breakfast sandwiches. Would def. stay at this property again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPWaterburyStowe, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your September stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a great stay. Look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked 2 nights in Waterbury as a finish to our Vermont trip.. The Best Western has a tremendous hill to its entrance.. amusing really, but the winter left us wondering...?? anyway, check in was simple and easy, we booked a fireplace queen room.. it was nice however the second night we switched to a mountain view queen room. Much better.. comfortable seating area.. table for eating and a queen size bed.. very comfortable.. the grounds of the hotel were delightful.. close to the highway, but set off so you would never know it.. there is a pool (indoor) a whirlpool.. a game room and comfort area inside.. outside there a swings for kids, a swing for adults .. a wonderful romantic covered bridge with pond to relax by and ponder.. The area kept us amused for the day,, but to head back and relax at the hotel spoke volumes.. thanks you

Room Tip: why not try and get a mountain view.. what would it hurt to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling love... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

By far this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at and because of that we continue to stay there. Clean rooms! Friendly staff. Pool area clean and working, games room for the kids, continental breakfast (cereals, bagels, muffins, waffles, breakfast sandwiches). We love the Keurig coffee, and now there is a Keurig machine in each room. Central to local attractions "Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory", "Cold Hollow Mill Cider", "Cabot Creamery" just to name a few. Great views, covered bridge out back and a play area for kids. Oh and Stowe is just up the road! Again, can't say how comfortable and clean this place is.
You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: First floor closer to the pool if you have kids (you may be going there a lot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaryTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is close to the highway but in a nice green area. Rooms are clean but nothing special, bathrooms are not very modern. There is free wi-fi and free coffee in the room, a small fridge and iron. The breakfast buffet was not very good, choice was limited and not of great quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a belated honeymoon trip. Truly loved the view of the mountains out the window. Great hotel in a great location. Ben & Jerry's, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Champlain Chocolates, all a short drive away (under 15 minutes). Entrance to interstate close-by for trips to Burlington, or elsewhere. Quaint and lively village of Stowe also a short (picturesque) drive away.

Room was nice. A bit smaller than some of the other Best Westerns I've stayed at, but we only really came back to sleep and unwind.
Drive up the hotel a little steep, but only for a few moments.
Grounds are really lovely and well-kept. Lots of great places to sit and admire the surroundings.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked great.

Was disappointed with the bathroom only. It was bright, but outdated. Lights buzzed and bathtub was not clean. (This was not at all a housekeeping issue so much as it just being an old bathtub with signs of mold and rust). It could do with an update.

Staff was pleasant. Was given an extra blanket at front desk when I asked. Also, was given tea for the Keurig machine when I said I wasn't a coffee drinker. (My husband is and loved the local coffee. Now when we see Green Mountain sold here in Toronto we smile)

Breakfast in the morning was just okay. Boxed cereal, hard-boiled eggs, fruit salad-the basics. But, LOVED the Wandering Moose for dinner. Their cheddar-ale soup was delicious. I am thinking of it fondly, with a little longing as I write this. :o) (I also had a pretty good, home-tasting turkey dinner on another night) A cheery space to relax at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor, on the mountain side. It's the same side as the parking lot, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LazySundayTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
12.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
8.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe

Property: Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Address: 45 Blush Hill Rd, Waterbury, VT 05676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterbury - Stowe Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing