We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to report that this is now a non-smoking property!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA area
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Happy to report that this is now a non-smoking property!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed here at least five times over the years, perhaps more. It is an older property but it is well-maintained and some upgrades have recently been made. It is located in a quiet location that is still very close to Route 89, making it very convenient. We have found the service and the condition of this motel to be predictably good. The complimentary breakfast is pretty average but there's plenty to eat. The coffee is very good - the locally roasted Green Mountain coffee. There's plenty of parking. There is a sparkling pool with a hot tub, and there are two saunas, a game room, a modest restaurant (open for dinner most but not all nights), and a conference room. Due to the recent snowstorm we stayed in and had dinner at the restaurant and it was good, not haute cuisine but fresh and tasty.

Contrary to all the hype, Vermont is open for business following Hurricane Irene. In general northern Vermont did not get as much damage. However, if you are going there to do business with the state employees call ahead and check to see where they are now located because the state buildings at Waterbury did receive significant storm damage.

Room Tip: I don't think there's an elevator. If stairs are a problem ask for a ground floor room, of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    278
    55
    18
    9
See reviews for
328
246
32
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a older motel that was renivated at some point. Rooms are furnished with the standard furnature. It was clean and comfortable but nothing exceptional. Kind of felt like a lower end motel, not one that would cost $200 a night. The biggest issue we had is that there isn't an elevator, so we had to pack out luggage to the second floor. The highlight of this motel is the restraunt! Great food and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macdaddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
312 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

Built in the 1970s, this place has a strong "dated" feel about it. Bedroom furniture, cumbersome and dark gives a depressing ambiance. Beds are comfortable but why there is only one blanket per bed in freezing outside weather, I do not know! Bathroom shower past its best, but functional enough. The worst feature of my stay here, is the infernally noisy giant ice-maker, which reverberates like a jet engine every five minutes or so, seriously disturbing sleep and my room isn't even situated next to it!
There is a swimming-pool, smelling so strongly of chlorine that I shall avoid using it.
Complimentary breakfast is fine, but restaurant area is gloomy with no windows. "Gloomy" rather describes the whole place.
The weirdest thing is the instructions for house-keeper card, which asks you if you require your room cleaned or just your trash emptied. I would expect a room, (especially a bathroom) to be thoroughly cleaned daily as a matter of course.
This is a place to sleep(if the ice-maker allows) - nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

well couldn't believe the price $200 for this just plain motel room.. I think the prices for going to Vermont foliage are really to much. I would never bother again for one thing you have to book in advance and pay top dollar and you risk not even seeing hardly any color because each year is different. That said.. this Best Western had a great front desk staff working under lots of pressure with a packed house. I have never asked to change motel rooms but ours smelled stale and not sure the cause I didn't want to get my asthma acting up so they changed us to a new room which was fine. The rooms was not that large ok for a couple but would be cozy with a couple children. Bed was fantastic.. it was quiet and we slept great. Breakfast was very good .. well stocked even though we went late and I am sure it was a very busy morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkettaTroutville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Very impressed with this Best Western. Front staff very professional and welcoming. Location is very good. Room was outstandingly clean and serviced. Free Wi-fi, nice large room, very comfortable bed. They skimped on bedcovers and we had to ask for an additional blanket.Bathroom spotless. The only downsider is you would think after paying $130 or so for a room you would have two drinking cups and a small tube of lotion in the bathroom. Not a dealbreaker but not asking too much either.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra blanket when checking in - they skim on bedcovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrqcace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I wasn't expecting much from this hotel but was pleasantly surprised. It is a Best Western Plus that was right off the highway so it was easy to find. The rooms were better than I expected and I was happy for the free internet. The restaurant was fine and breakfast was included.

It is close to Stowe and to most of the sites in the area such as the Ben and Jerry's factory. Again, it wasn't fancy but a step above what I though a Best Western would offer so I would stay here again! If you get a chance drive up 108 to Smuggler's Gap...it is a great drive! Don't pay for a toll road.

Room Tip: There are only two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were planning a trip up to Vermont to the Stowe area and remembered this hotel fondly from a weekend stay in 2009. It is still as great and convenient as we remembered it.
It is less than a mile to the Ben and Jerry's factory and very close to other attractions we enjoyed (a cider mill, downtown Stowe, etc). Service was quick and efficient, rooms were clean and quaint. The lobby has a really nice fireplace. We enjoyed the breakfast offered and particularly the make-your-own waffles.
We were lucky enough to visit in time for Stowe's Oktoberfest. The next couple of weeks should be spectacular up at the BW with the foliage, the hotel is located up on a hill and will probably provide great visibility of the changing colors.
I would highly recommend this hotel and it will be our hotel of choice next time we make it up to Vermont.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator, so if you can't take the stairs ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minka_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
19.5 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
Address: 45 Blush Hill Rd, Waterbury, VT 05676-9067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterbury - Stowe Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing