We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arvads

Arvads
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was another one of those places where we didn't feel all that welcome when we walked in. Do we really look that much like Californians?? Anyway, once we got settled in, the food was good. Service was so-so.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjbouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    94
    44
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went there on a Saturday afternoon. The food was good, except for the French fries. They tasted like they were cooked in old oil. I explained that to the waitress. Her response was "we have new French Fries". We didn't eat them. I was expecting to not have to pay for them but no such luck. The rest of the food was fine. Nothing really special. We had to pay 9$ for a grilled cheese sandwich for my son because they didn't "have such a thing" so we had to order a meat sandwich and they just didn't put the meat on it. Not very accommodating restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“walk away......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were seated quickly but didn't see a waitress for quite a while. When she did arrive at our table she took our drink order, brought it to us and then disappeared for way too long. When she appeared again she took the food order for the people who came in AFTER us! She finally took our order and we waited and waited and waited some more. It didn't help that the people at the next table were obnoxious! (not the restaurants fault of course). Our order came but my meal was wrong so she took it back and we waited again. When it came time to pay for this meal we gave her a coupon along with the cash. She came back and informed us that the coupon was for a lunch meal not an evening meal and wouldn't let us use it. Come ON! After the poor service we got it was the least she could have done! Never again will we dine in this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebirds77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a coworker. We sat on the porch during a rainstorm and when it cooled off quickly, we asked them to turn on the heaters which quickly warmed us in the evening chill. The seating is beside Main Street's sidewalk so being able to people watch while having a drink is a relaxing way to spend the evening. The service was friendly and the food delivered while it was very hot which I always appreciate.

I had the tilapia with seasonal vegetables and a baked potato. The tilapia was coated with spices and breadcrumbs and grilled to a crispy coating. It was delicious. My friend had the cheese quesadillas which were huge and filled with Vermont cheddar cheese - yummy!

The menu had many items I want to try so I will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanny_on_the_scene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We got off the highway in Vermont and headed to Stowe, looking for a lunch spot that could accommodate trailer parking and didn't find anything. We headed back toward the highway and decided to make one last attempt by going in the other direction. We discovered downtown Waterbury and more importantly, Arvad's Grill & Pub. We had a great server, who suggested things and answered all of our questions. I had a pulled pork sandwich, which was very good and my husband had buffalo chicken mac and cheese, which was also very good. He really enjoyed the beer suggested by the server. The best part was the strawberry bread pudding that we shared for dessert!! If you're in the Waterbury/Stowe area, definitely worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ptzmom_nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arvads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing