We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a quick and meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arvads

Arvads
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick and meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Active with locals, fun place with a good bar. Outdoor seating available weather permitting.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    95
    44
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Skip this one during the busy season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had been here before with some friends, so we decided to pay a return visit. I will never go during peak season again.

The waitress was good, so was the atmosphere, the drinks were worth the price.

While the food was good, the portions had shrunk to a fraction of their size. I asked to substitute my baked potatoe for double vegetables and got ten string beans. Our appetizers were literally half the size that they had been just one month earlier.

I will return again....but NEVER during tourist season.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worc County
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Prices & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were on our way to the nearby microbrewary (alchemist) right aside of this place to learn it didn't open up till 4pm. We sas this purple awning and said why not. Avards has an outside eating and two main eating places with one upstairs and the other downstairs on the street level. The seating arrangement is not fancy by any means but on this trip the service was good, the food better and the prices much less expensive than stowe. Service, this day, was good.

One must try the "rum bull" cocktail (with rum, peach schnapps & a red bull) as it is different and on a hot day (as it was with 100 degree/hi humidity temps) very refreshing. For $7.75 it was worth it. The two burgers; an Ultimate $10.79 & a Calif Burger $10.49 were cooked as requested and not overcooked. The Grazzin Platter $10.99 was crispy and plentiful and great portion of onion rings, mazzarella sticks, & chicken wings. The Broccoli Salad was different with raisins & water chestnuts. Cole slaw wasn't something to write home about

Add 2 otter pale ales at $4.50 ea and the bill rings out at $55.27 + tax and gratuity.

All in all, not a bad place to stop for lunch especially if you aren't going out for a big dinner later on..

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Averageish bar and grill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Decent, typical bar food, but nothing exceptional. The potato skins were particularly good, burgers were just so-so. Not a bad place to stop for a bite to eat, just don't expect anything memorable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockdog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Lots of choices. Had the deluxe cheeseburger - it was great. Beer is cold and taps are unlimited. Salad is good. Service could have been better, our waitress never checked in on us. Ate outside and had a nice view of South Main Street. Plenty of on-street parking. Quaint shops nearby.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arvads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing