We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, CO USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2006

My husband just enjoyed a two day stay at Old Stagecoach. It was decorated with lovely holiday ornaments, and had a very warm, cozy feel. We had one of the rooms with a shared bath, which worked just fine. The breakfast was very good - the pancakes were good but nothing to write home about. The omelettes, however, were excellent - literally melt-in-your mouth light on the outside, with a creamy filling of Vermont cheddar cheese and mushrooms. The B&B does not serve dinner, but it is within walking distance to several decent restaurants.
If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this may not be the place for you, at least not in the mornings and evenings. Many of the guests were large families with kids, who were loud and rambunctious at times. In the quiet of the afternoon, though, we could sit on the comfy chairs in the living room by the fire with a cup of tea and the New York Times.
Overall, we had a great time, and I highly recommend the Old Stagecoach. The location is prime, the breakfast is excellent, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlbaBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    61
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
106
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
RI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2005

We stayed in room 6, which has 2 doubles, a single, and a shared bathroom. The breakfast is not fancy but is hearty and very good. Based upon our room, I would agree that the inn is a little worn, but it is quite clean and if I had to choose between fancy and friendly I would choose friendly. The owner and staff were very pleasant and helpful, and made our visit to Vermont a real pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luccasabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2005

We've been there twice now...and we think it is the best deal in VT. To be less than 20 minutes from Stowe, and be able to get a great room for $95 a night is pretty unheard of. We've stayed on the third floor in room 9 both times, it is huge, has a king bed, plus two single beds under the eaves, and a private bathroom with shower. The room and inn are spotless, and very charming. The staff is incredibly nice. They have a small dog, and a parrott, and a fully stocked bar. Waterbury is fine, with a nice brewpub in walking distance of the inn.
The breakfasts are as good as everyone says! Great eggs benedict, huevos rancheros, and potato pancakes. Two thumbs up, and also -- the person who stayed in the kitchenette style apt -- that is a modern addition added onto the back of the inn. I can imagine it might be charmless, and it probably gets a lot of wear and tear from people with dogs (which are allowed) and children who come for longer stays. But don't let that keep you away from the main Inn.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 25, 2004

After extensive research we decided to stay at the Old Stagecoach Inn. The breakfasts were fabulous but our living area left a bit to be desired. We rented a suite with a kitchen and found it overpriced and without the charm we were expecting. The beds were uncomfortable, the kitchen was not fully equiped as we had been told. The suite actually was on the dirty side, and the living area was difficult to make use of. Even the couch was so bad that once we sat on it, we sunk so far down we could hardly get up. However, the staff was friendly, and honestly, the wonderful breakfast made up for the room. I will admit that the rest of the inn seemed quite nice, I think we got stuck with the one really bad room.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 11, 2004

We stayed at the Old Stagecoach Inn in September 2004. We were wandering through Vermont without booked accomodations. We decided to find lodging in the Montpelier area and chose this Inn based on a good Frommer's review. The only room left was the smallest (and least expensive), with a shared bath, but it was more than sufficient. And the OUTSTANDING breakfast more than compensated for the small room. The breakfasts are homemade, ordered from a menu of wonderful selections, and served with a friendly and welcoming attitude. The Inn is beautiful and well appointed in the Victorian style. We will certainly stay there again when we return to Vermont.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
482 reviews
9.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stowe Cabins in the Woods
Stowe Cabins in the Woods
#1 of 1 in Waterbury Center
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Property: Old Stagecoach Inn
Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Eleven tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing