We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Stagecoach Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe(Waterbury)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe(Waterbury)(Great Value!)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$109
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
$131
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
108
65
24
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
65
24
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathshared bathroomfocal bangergreen mountain coffeestreet noisewithin walking distanceliving roomstage coachheady topperafrican grey parrotgreat beerfront of the housesingle nighthuevosnew englandblueberry pancakesair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 213 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have to write this because I have read some reviews that are just ridiculous. The place is lovely! It has a historic feel and certainly is not a posh "NEW" b & b. However if you are looking to get away and have a romantic evening by the fire and the sense that you stepped back in time, with possibly the best breakfast on the planet this place is for you. The owners are amazing. Room 1 is our favorite but we've stayed in several of the rooms. We absolutely love the place. As for those who say they brought their pets to the "pet friendly room" I can't believe that you would bring your pet on vacation, even more, I can't believe that you may be surprised if the "pet friendly room" smells like urine or may be potentially dingy... YOU ARE BRINGING YOUR ANIMAL TO A ROOM WHERE ANIMALS HAVE STAYED! Is it a surprise that an animal may have peed on the carpet? Or the furniture isn't pristine?!?! This place is amazing. Do yourself a favor and rent room 1. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Love Room 1 (there is a fireplace)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicNicHeisHeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lovely, quaint, homely inn with a few quirky decorations, a lovely dog and a chatty parrot. When we arrived on the first day we immediately loved the look of the place we had chosen, another good trip advisor find. We went up to the rooms, they were lovely and had a real period feel, to fit in with the rest of the building, my only comment would be the covers on the bases of the beds could do with changing. The Owners were very helpful and the breakfast was amazing. Looked forward to the “straight out of the oven” cinnamon rolls and Huevos Rancheros breakfast in the morning. The menu was extensive and everything that came out of the kitchen looked very tasty. The Inn is set in the middle of Waterbury with lovely views of the Autumn trees up the hills. It’s also only 30 mins drive to Burlington, close to Stowe and Ben and Jerry’s factory. We had a lovely three day stay, well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fraggles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Watch out for what you get here! My wife and I called Old Stagecoach late in the evening based on a recommendation from a local in the area. We were told they'd just had a cancellation, that it was perhaps their best room in the house, had a King bed and then offered it to us for a 10% discount. Great! After checking in, paying and going to our room, we find an old weathered and disgusting couch, a kitchenette and decor made with cheap 1970's style and quality of cabinets and fixtures - the kind you might find in the clear-out pile at the local Home Depot. It looked and felt really dirty. Then we notice it's not a King but a Queen bed - which means we're not even in the room we paid for. When I go back downstairs to take it up with the owner, I'm told, "Well, my father must have been mistaken about which room was available - sorry, nothing we can do." And that's as far as their service goes. We were too tired and it was too late to make anything more of it. So we then suffered the night in a bed that I kept waking up to the smell of urine in. I'll give them credit for a good breakfast. But we got out of there first thing in the morning. For a gorgeous historic building, this kind of service, maintenance and room finishing is appalling. Their rates were the highest we paid in our two-week, off-season trip through New England and was the worst stay of all. Perhaps there are nicer rooms in the place, but watch out - check out what you're getting first. I think we were in room #11, but not certain - it might have been 10.

Room Tip: Check out the room you're getting before you pay or make reservation!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent two nights in this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. We were three women traveling together, and the Inn had two rooms on the third floor which had a king and two twin beds. We stayed in room #8 which was half of the third floor. Yes it was a climb, but well worth it. The room was very large with private bath and a small setting area in the hall. Just the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine. The breakfast both mornings were cooked to order and were very tasty. One of my traveling friends had a cousin living close by. We were able to invite him to eat breakfast with us one morning, cost $12. Couldn't have gotten his eggs benedict any place for that price. The first evening we returned to a fire going in the fire place. What a cozy place to warm up on a cool evening. They even have an old bar that was fun to set around and enjoy a drink one night after dinner. It's a great place to stay and then take day trips out of Waterbury.

Room Tip: Room #7 or #8 if there are three or four traveling together. Great family room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHCIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our two day stay at this charming historical inn met all of our expectations. My husband and I stayed in Room #1 and my mom and aunt stayed in room #4; both located on the 2nd floor and each with a private bathroom. Coffee, fruit and pastries were available first thing in the morning and then we sat down to a delicious made-to-order breakfast, which was amazing. Everyone in our party enjoyed the blueberry pancakes and Huevos Rancheros, as well as bacon, sausage and delicious potato pancakes. John and Jack were were so helpful, from the initial questions prior to booking the reservations to the checkout. The staff was also very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews