We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Ambiance, Wonderful Staff and Fabulous Breakfast!”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here during our road trip through New England. What a beautiful Inn! We arrived late one evening and John greeted us and helped us find somewhere for dinner. The room was large and clean and very comfortable. The bathroom sink did still have 2 faucets for hot and cold, so that was challenging... but fun and unique! The breakfast served by the staff was by far the best part of the Inn. Absolutely delicious!! The blueberry pancakes were amazing... as was everything else too! It rained during our stay and one of the staffers loaned us her umbrella for our sighteseeing trip. John also sent us on a sightseeing trip through Stowe, over the Green Mountains and to Burlington. It was beautiful scenery and dinner in Burlington was great. The trip back to the Inn only took about 30 minutes via I-89. We had a wonderful trip and would love to visit again, if we ever get back to Vermont.

Room Tip: 10% discount to AAA Members
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCFisher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

This Inn was right in the centre of Waterbury village within easy walking distance of some lovely places to eat dinner. It was not far from the Ben & Jerry's factory and in easy driving distance of Stowe.

The Inn itself was quite big and filled with antiques. The room we had was huge but the carpets and quilts etc looked a little tired and we certainly not as bright as the ones shown on the website.

All in all is was fine for a one night stay, but was certainly not up to the standard of some of the other places we stayed for either the same or lover cost.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theatregirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights on the top floor where there were 2 twin beds and a king. The floor sloped some which made my daughter feel like she would roll out onto the floor. Sky light in roof which was nice during day but sun comes up early and woke us up. There was a room air conditioner that we didn't use cause the breeze on the third floor was cool. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. Not many places to eat in Waterbury. Maxis was very good though.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hounds20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend & I spent a night here during a road trip through Vermont. We rocked and got the last room with private bathroom (for some reason it was crazy busy on a random Thursday night). Cute place with lots of character - Room clean & comfortable with an ok shower. Bed very creaky and walls very thin. Free Wi-Fi, but not the quickest connection. Breakfast in the morning very good with coffee, juice, pastries, cereal and fresh, cooked to order eggs, bacon etc.

All in all, for $100 good value

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghost77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Two friends and I arrived late one fall evening and lucked out to find a cute suite available (they had a last minute cancellation). The place was adorable, comfortable and relaxing. My favorite part was the made-to-order breakfast! The waffles, coffee, pastries, juices, etc. were all fabulous and the Vermont Cheddar omelet was quite possibly the best thing I have EVER eaten. Yum! I highly recommend Old Stagecoach!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunniK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I were traveling through New York, Vermont, & New Hampshire without any firm plans. We saw the Old Stagecoach Inn in the AAA book and called for availability. They had a room available for 2 nights; we loved it there. John & Jack are very accomodating hosts and John fixes fantastic breakfasts. Try the Huevos Rancheros - they were great. The Inn is less than 2 blocks from restaraunts and shops in Waterbury and close to scenic drives & hikes. There are rooms for two people as well as rooms that can accomodate up to six. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

A warm friendly atmosphere where everyone is made to feel right at home.The inn mascot is a cute little dog named MAX. Early morning dining was fantastic with quite an extensive selection to choose from. We did not leave hungry!!!!! Rooms are cute with many antiques and the prices were very reasonable.Being pet friendly is also very important for the 3rd member of our family.A GREAT holiday weekend for us......................Thank You

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank streetracer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
11.1 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range: $102 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Stagecoach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Eleven tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing