We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Hill House B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Spa
Rustic Restaurant and Motel(Northfield Falls)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Middlebury(Middlebury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middlebury Inn(Middlebury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
516
22
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparis suitewildflower roompeter susanother guestsbed and breakfastjacuzzi tubhighland roomwonderful hostsbreakfast dessertpool tablecommon areasprivate entrancelooking forward to our next visitdietary restrictionssun roomthought of everythingwesthill house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 539 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend, intending on skiing at Sugarbush but the weather didn't quite cooperate. It's very conveniently located from the mountain though, less than 5 minutes. And if you did want to ski there's a shuttle that will take you.

We stayed in the Paris Suite which is lovely- quite large with a bathroom, room with jacuzzi/fireplace, sitting room and bedroom with another fireplace. It was super comfy and perfect for a romantic getaway. It had a separate entrance with porch that I'm sure is nice in the summer. It also has a spiral staircase down to the rest of the inn which is full of various cozy rooms with fireplaces, books, games and movies- plus two cute kitties.

Breakfast was delicious, and always included breakfast dessert! That, and the rest of the hospitality offered by Peter and Susan was fantastic. Overall, a great place to enjoy Northern Vermont!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank BuffaloGal017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at West Hill House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Our thanks to BuffaloGal017 for what turned out to be the 300th 5 star review of our B&B. The Paris Suite is one of our premier suite choices and is enjoyed by many of our guests for a romantic get-away.

Indeed we still haven't figured out how to control the weather(!) however the skiing conditions next door at Sugarbush have been generally good this year except for a week or so during an early January thaw. The good news is that there are always lots of other things to do both in and around West Hill House B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I drove up to the West Hill B&B for a weekend of skiing at Sugarbush! We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely atmosphere and cozy charm of the B&B. We were right down the street from the mountain, making it very convenient by shuttle or driving. Susan and Peter are fabulous hosts and make you feel right at home. Our room was very quaint and had a great bathroom with a steam shower. My husband and I loved the hot cocoa and cookies, not to mention waking up both morning to a great breakfast. We had a perfect weekend and will definitely plan on staying here again next year! Thank you Susan and Peter:)

Room Tip: We loved the Stetson suite. Great bathroom with soaker tub and fireplace!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The West Hill House is a charming and beautifully-maintained B&B in close proximity to Sugarbush ski resort. A shuttle is available to convey you the less than five minute drive to the ski area so no convenience is lost to skiers - there is only a lovely, more personalized experience and a great value gained by those who select this B&B over the ski resort accomodations.

The owners, Susan and Peter, are what make this place. They are incredibly personable and are continually aiming to provide nothing but the best experience for their guests. They made our stay a very comfortable and homey one!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We could not have been more pleased with West Hill House. Peter and Susan were exceptionally kind and thoughtful in the preparation and delivery of our intimate wedding ceremony. Being that we are from New Orleans and our guests were from all across the US, it was wonderful how little we had to do or worry about with Peter and Susan taking care of everything. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. My husband and I cannot wait for an opportunity to return.

Room Tip: The Paris Suite was beautiful and private.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I decided to celebrate our first anniversary at this charming B&B in Vermont and it turned out to be the perfect choice. The host Peter and Susan thought of everything and the service was on par with the priciest five star hotels. Even before our arrival, Peter and Susan made us feel welcome, sending thoughtful e-mails with directions and suggested stops. Upon check-in, we were greeted warmly with homemade cookies and a thorough tour of the room and property. Each day we were introduced to the new guests, treated to a three course breakfast, and sent out for the day with maps, tour suggestions, and anything else we needed to make the days adventures a success.

The Inn itself was beautiful. We stayed in the Logan Suite, which I would highly recommend for this seeking a quiet getaway. It is a two story suite with a kitchen bad bath on the lower level and a bedroom and master bath on the top floor. The bedroom is heated by a fireplace heater, SO COZY! The bathroom has heated floors and a heart shaped tub which is AMAZING!

It was a fantastic three nights. I cannon reconvened enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, Owner at West Hill House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in our Logan Suite to celebrate your first anniversary. This Suite is the most recent addition to our B&B, and we created it by converting the artist's studio that the previous owner had in the same space. It was a natural choice for the studio as the windows offer the best views of the surrounding area—views that our Logan Suite guests can now enjoy as well as all the comforts that you describe in your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews