We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunned and dissapointed”
Review of Pitcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pitcher Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful cocktail hour and dinner last March. Not inexpensive as I dropped $400.00 for the two fo us but we were celebrating. Afterwards we asked the manager to show us the rooms we had heard so much about. We found one that we thought was particularly charming and told the gentleman that we wanted to reserve it for our anniversary this Feb. I watched as he wrote it into his log book. I called this week in an attempt to add a day to our stay and I was told that they had no record of our reservation. The room we wanted was not available. The young lady on the phone was apologetic and said she would have the manager call me when he returned the next day. No call.....and to day the least I am soured by the experience. Couldn't help but notice the other comments about complacent staff. If you book a room 11 months in advance and think you have a reservation, better think twice.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Jolanta z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ari S, General Manager at Pitcher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Jolanta,
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Sadly, your reservation pointed out a fault in our hotel reservations system that has since been remedied. Unfortunately, it was not caught in time to save us from the scenario you noted which resulted in your preferred room being unavailable for the dates you had requested. We have taken this matter very seriously, have corrected the initial problem and are also undertaking a review of our reservations procedures in the interest of guaranteeing that this never happens again.

I know that you have, since this review was posted, visited us. It is my fondest hope that your experience at The Pitcher Inn has renewed your confidence in the inn and its staff. Please do feel free to contact me personally at ari@pitcherinn.com if I can be of additional service. Please rest assured that, far from being complacent, we take every guest’s experience at The Pitcher Inn very seriously and will always do our very best to ensure that any mistakes are remedied to your satisfaction.

With Warm Regards,
Ari Sadri
General Manager
The Pitcher Inn, Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We gathered the family in from both coasts to the Pitcher Inn for Christmas and New Year, took 4 rooms, including "Ski" with the kitchenette. What a great time we had. Ari, the general manager was present at all hours, answering all our inquiries and making suggestions for hikes, skiing, other activities when we wanted to stay out of the weather, and places to eat. But most of our meals were at the Inn, at Tracks and 275 Main. Breakfast is fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed Chef Susan's tasting dinner with Ari's paired wines. He is passionate about wines, dining, Vermont and his inn. Once you come to stay you won't want to leave… our granddaughter was in tears when we had to go. Kudos to Ari and his staff (especially Matt, Devon, and Betsy); "can't" is not in their vocabulary -- really!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Any Chateau Relais gets my attention. This one has sweetness and character, not a luxury, over the top spot. The food for breakfast was good, french toast afloat in maple syrup (marvelous indulgence), and in a stunning dining room setting, lovely, lovely host and personnel, willing to go the distance. The two rooms I stayed in were both fascinating, one a school room with all the memorabilia of bygone times, a porch, a nice jacuzzi bath, fun, a little dark with windows made into art work shadow boxes, a little noisy from a compressor, however I am such a Princess in the Pea, nobody else would notice or sleep with the windows all open. The room across had a nice fireplace, with a blazing fire built on request by the staff, also a little dark, with windows on the main street, nice bath... so, yes, the location is on a river and that's fun, though it's fenced, great hike nearby at the Bobbin factory, do not miss this, covered bridge, so wonderful, Vermont! For me, this lovely spot was expensive for what it was, the actual rooms, and not on a par with the Inn at Round Barn Farm in nearby Waitsfield for a much lower cost. In all fairness, I did not see the other rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerlynKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of our honeymoon road trip around Vermont, and stayed for two nights on the 'gourmet' package. We have mixed feelings about our experience. First of all, the hotel is beautifully appointed. We stayed in the Ski Lodge room and absolutely loved it - we could have stayed there for several more nights. We loved our wine cellar dinner - absolutely romantic and amazing, and our host Mason was hysterical. We used the fireplace in our room constantly, and staff brought up wood as soon as we ran out (and had it lit when we arrived, as per my request).

However, I think because the Pitcher Inn has earned a spot as a Chateau and Relais hotel, the management and staff have become very complacent, which was a big disappointment. A few examples:

- The staff didn't know we were on the gourmet package, and I needed to show them a booking email to confirm. Because of this the elements of the package were put together in a rush, which was a shame and spoiled the experience a bit
-The first night we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, and the service was appalling - we sat down before a large group arrived, and although we ordered before them, we were completely ignored (for example, asking three times for mustard. By the time it came we had almost finished our steaks). Without our prompting the waitress apologised at the end of the meal - which made the situation slightly worse, because if she knew she was neglecting us then she could have found a solution
- The breakfast waitress was incredibly slow and the items you were offered differed from table to table - some got a muffin basket, others just got butter. On the second day we wised up and my husband went down 30 minutes beforehand to place the order; our tactic didn't work and still took another 20 minutes to arrive after that (and no muffins)
- We got turn down service one night, but the next night the girl came at 5pm and we were in our room - she just passed us the stuff and didn't come back
- The staff were aware that we were checking out on a certain day and were up a staircase without elevator access, and had luggage - no one rang to see if they could help us with our bags
- We chose to have our included picnic on the day we departed, for our long journey home. When we opened it all the cutlery, plates, and glasses were dirty - clearly another guest had used the pack and they didn't clean it when it was returned
- The hotel made our cellar dinner reservation an hour earlier than I booked, which meant that poor Mason was waiting around. He didn't want to disturb us in our room, but we hated him thinking that it was us that was so late!

Will we return? Maybe, but only if they start improving their attention to detail to justify the high rate.

Room Tip: The Ski Lodge really is a beautiful room, but one night is not enough to enjoy it fully. The bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alf577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Pitcher Inn was absolutely the most "perfect" place to stay for a wknd getaway. My wife and I stayed in the Mallard room filled with ducks. And some of the flying I might add:)) The room was the most comfortable we've ever stayed in. WE dined in the formal restaurant and had a fantastic meal. Ari the GM was very engaging and extremely helpful. I would recommend this Inn for anyone looking for authentic Vermont experience!!!!! Also, the Sugar Bush ski resort only minutes away. The drive to and from the Burlington Airport was spectacular with the colors of the fall foliage all around.

Room Tip: "If you love ducks the Mallard room is your only choice"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Pitcher Inn is the perfect place to stay to explore Vermont. We took day trips and then came back to the Inn each afternoon to unwind and get ready for excellent meals at its restaurants. It was really nice to be able to have fine dining just downstairs and not have to drive anywhere after a day of exploring the Vermont countryside and towns. High quality bicycles are also available at the Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mountain room which had an awesome steam shower in addition to the spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberto32459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our family stayed in the Inn for a wedding this last weekend. It is a special place. Each of the rooms are completely different with themes pertaining to the area. The themes are carried out with a tremendous amount of forethought and executed with considerable design expertise.
We stayed in the mountain room which had rock bolted to the wall and hand painted murals. Our bedroom had a tin ceiling and the room had a fireplace. In the morning we took long walks on a piney path along the stream accompanied by the sound of the water cascading over the rocks. The management is extremely gracious and accommodating. We happened to have shipped several pounds of crabmeat up and the management proceeded to take the excess and make cream of crab soup for our entire party to have served with our cocktails. The wedding was beautiful and the area is quintessentially New England with covered bridges, changing leaves and maple syrup everywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mountain Room which was large with a separate bedroom and fireplace. Our friends st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ektlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
1.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 7 in Warren
519 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
97 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcher Inn

Address: 275 Main Street, Warren, VT 05674
Location: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range: $460 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a picturesque New England village, the Pitcher Inn and spa provides its guests with the best of Vermont tradition. In each uniquely appointed room, there is a harmony between whimsy and elegance. The restaurant proposes contemporary American cuisine, with regional influences and the areas best-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pitcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitcher Hotel Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing