We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Pitcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pitcher Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our family has been going to the Pitcher Inn for over a decade. Perhaps I haven't written a review till now because of my reluctance to share the best place I've ever visited. Ari has transformed this beautifully appointed Inn into our home. That's how Ari and his staff make you and your family, your business associates, or your lover feel. With total professionalism he creates the experience you require. The rooms, the staff, and the dining experience are excellent. They have a knack of understanding each guest's needs. We've travelled extensively and the Pitcher Inn is world class. A true four star European sensibility with out any attitude.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, discuss each room on it's own merits and choose the room that suits you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Pitcher Inn is off the regular path a bit but that was exactly what I was looking for when I booked it for a romantic Christmas present. Over the phone, I was guided into booking the perfect room for us. Stepping foot out of the car was the beginning to the one hell-of-a weekend. The weather was white with snow, which was perfect considering we were there to snowboard.

Our room was the Mountain Room and its charm made you feel like you were staying in a warm cabin at the base of a mountain. It was cozy and clean and very spacious. We certainly got our fair share of the steam shower/bath after three days of being outside on the mountain. At night the metal roof over the bed sounded the falling snowflakes… we were kept lit by a fir place in the other room… It was perfect!

The dining room is cute and the food was fabulous. We enjoyed the company of our server (he had a faux British accent too!) Before we had a chance to order we noticed a couple of our friends sitting across the room… Small world hey? They were staying in the School Room and thoroughly enjoy it ;-)

If you have the opportunity to stay at the Pitcher you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMWilgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the Calvin Coolidge room. It is beautifully decorated and has a private balcony to watch all the action on the main street through Warren. The General Manager, Ari, is warm and welcoming as are all the employees. The food was delicious, the room comfortable and the setting is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Check out their website to read the description of each room as they all have different personalitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a fabulous experience.. From the moment I stepped into the reception greeted by the most charming GM, Ari. He personifies customer service ... The attention to detail, from the most delicious Afternoon tea, to the wine selection at dinner and the fire in our room... I loved every moment of my stay. I returned later in the spring with my husband and was given a tour of their rooms.. From the school room to the ski lodge, this unassuming inn is a treasure - a little gem nestled in Vermont. I urge you to go there just to escape from life and be utterly spoilt in utter luxury.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic... If you go off peak season ask to be shown different rooms. They will obl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesbohnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Pitcher Inn is a wonderful experience. My husband and I had the pleasure of staying and dining there for three nights in August. Our room (Colonial) was spacious, clean, and charming. The staff simply couldn't be nicer or more accommodating and Ari, the hotel's general manager, is a hotelier bar none. We left feeling like family and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpsf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

On a ski trip up to Vermont in early February, 2012, my wife and I stayed at the Pitcher Inn for 3 nights. Our purpose was to ski at nearby Sugarbush. The skiing was terrible (bad luck - rained the first day, icy the next). But, The Pitcher Inn was so enjoyable that it compensated to a large extent for the disappointment at the slopes.

The Pitcher Inn, a member of Relais and Chateaux, is literally a gem in small town Vermont (Warren, VT, to be specific). It is set on a quiet street, right across from the historic Warren Store. Each room in the inn is unique. We stayed in the Calvin Coolidge room. It was very enjoyable. The cleaning staff also let us have a look at a few of the other rooms. Each one is decorated after a certain theme, like skiing, hunting, and other motifs. The service was excellent. The property manager was obviously very involved in the daily operation of the inn. It is an older building, but restored and renovated in a way where the historic charm is preserved, but it is modernly equipped. Our bathroom had a large walk-in steam shower, and a separate hot tub. Unlike many old buildings, this building is rock solid and well insulated. You do not hear what goes on in your neighbor's room, or in the restaurant on the main level (or the bar in the basement, for that matter). We just loved The Pitcher Inn.

The on-site restaurant is excellent (as you would expect at a Relais & Chateaux property). We ate dinner there twice. The breakfast the following morning was also excellent. The dining area has abundant windows with a lot of natural light for breakfast. Our two evening meals at The Pitcher Inn restaurant were excellent. The one other night we had available, we drove north about 30 minutes to Waterbury, VT, and ate at Hen of the Wood. That was a really excellent dinner as well. That is definitely worth a 30 minute drive from Warren. We had discovered that restaurant on a prior ski trip to Stowe, VT, and already knew it was excellent.

We hope to go back to The Pitcher Inn sometime in the future, either during ski season to hopefully catch Sugarbush on a few good snow days, or maybe in the fall to enjoy the fall colors. It would be a fantastic place to base yourself on fall colors driving trip throughout southern Vermont.

Room Tip: The Mountain Room would be a great choice if you are a lover of winter sports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiddenGem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Pitcher Inn is a member of the Relais et Chateaux association - 500 or so of some of the world's finest hotels and restaurants. Stayed at the Pitcher Inn August 7-10 2012 with children and their twin one year olds. I expected difficult logistics but instead we were treated to considerate and spectacular service and courtesy, among the very best I've ever encountered in any hotel anywhere. After multiple visits to 35 US states and over 50 countries, I have exeprienced it all - from superb hotels including those in the R&C association, to hotels that leave you with a DNR (do not return) experience. With delighted smiles, the staff accommodated to our every need, anticipated when and how they could help- e.g. washed baby bottles and portable chairs and delivered them to the room in a timely manner. Staff assisted us in every possible way to make this truly an outstanding experience. The general manager Ari is a gift to the hotel industry - it's hard to shape a more hospitable host and talented manager - he did it all; suggesting hikes and lakes appropriate for one year olds, to recommending excellent wines, to playing with the babies, to making sure that their breakfasts were tailored to their schedule, to arranging an in-room candle lit full service dinner.
Food at the Inn was excellent, with delicious, creative breakfasts, and dinners enjoyed by all. The scones, muffins, egg dishes were memorable at breakfast, along with a choice of newspaper delivered to your table. The evening meal was equally delightful -e.g. a unique coconut. sweet potato soup that lingers, followed by a beautifully flavored veal chop and heavenly dessert.The wine selection is excellent. The rustic decor of the stable two bedroom, complete with antique saddles, anvils, rocking chair, and other rural decorative touches, added to the country atmosphere. The beds, bedding and bathrooms were modern and ultra comfortable. Our room, which had been a barn, was fully clothed in a warm wood - floors, walls ceilings. The room needs more lighting, however because it was hard to read at night. Dining rooms at the hotel are country elegant, as is the library. The bar-game room downstairs is so well designed and decorated that it is a destination. The hotel is on the main street in Warren; it is lined with quaint homes, a small theater for live performances, an excellent general store. A scenic river runs parallel to the main street and a creek runs through the grounds of the Inn. This is a superb destination and home base for anyone longing to explore pastoral, or mountainous northern Vermont. The Pitcher Inn experience was a memorable experience and a definite MGB (must go back)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
317 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
1.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 7 in Warren
518 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcher Inn

Address: 275 Main Street, Warren, VT 05674
Location: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range: $460 - $1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a picturesque New England village, the Pitcher Inn and spa provides its guests with the best of Vermont tradition. In each uniquely appointed room, there is a harmony between whimsy and elegance. The restaurant proposes contemporary American cuisine, with regional influences and the areas best-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pitcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitcher Hotel Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing