We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pitcher Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the Calvin Coolidge room. It is beautifully decorated and has a private balcony to watch all the action on the main street through Warren. The General Manager, Ari, is warm and welcoming as are all the employees. The food was delicious, the room comfortable and the setting is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Check out their website to read the description of each room as they all have different personalitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    10
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
87
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

What a fabulous experience.. From the moment I stepped into the reception greeted by the most charming GM, Ari. He personifies customer service ... The attention to detail, from the most delicious Afternoon tea, to the wine selection at dinner and the fire in our room... I loved every moment of my stay. I returned later in the spring with my husband and was given a tour of their rooms.. From the school room to the ski lodge, this unassuming inn is a treasure - a little gem nestled in Vermont. I urge you to go there just to escape from life and be utterly spoilt in utter luxury.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic... If you go off peak season ask to be shown different rooms. They will obl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesbohnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Pitcher Inn is a wonderful experience. My husband and I had the pleasure of staying and dining there for three nights in August. Our room (Colonial) was spacious, clean, and charming. The staff simply couldn't be nicer or more accommodating and Ari, the hotel's general manager, is a hotelier bar none. We left feeling like family and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpsf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

On a ski trip up to Vermont in early February, 2012, my wife and I stayed at the Pitcher Inn for 3 nights. Our purpose was to ski at nearby Sugarbush. The skiing was terrible (bad luck - rained the first day, icy the next). But, The Pitcher Inn was so enjoyable that it compensated to a large extent for the disappointment at the slopes.

The Pitcher Inn, a member of Relais and Chateaux, is literally a gem in small town Vermont (Warren, VT, to be specific). It is set on a quiet street, right across from the historic Warren Store. Each room in the inn is unique. We stayed in the Calvin Coolidge room. It was very enjoyable. The cleaning staff also let us have a look at a few of the other rooms. Each one is decorated after a certain theme, like skiing, hunting, and other motifs. The service was excellent. The property manager was obviously very involved in the daily operation of the inn. It is an older building, but restored and renovated in a way where the historic charm is preserved, but it is modernly equipped. Our bathroom had a large walk-in steam shower, and a separate hot tub. Unlike many old buildings, this building is rock solid and well insulated. You do not hear what goes on in your neighbor's room, or in the restaurant on the main level (or the bar in the basement, for that matter). We just loved The Pitcher Inn.

The on-site restaurant is excellent (as you would expect at a Relais & Chateaux property). We ate dinner there twice. The breakfast the following morning was also excellent. The dining area has abundant windows with a lot of natural light for breakfast. Our two evening meals at The Pitcher Inn restaurant were excellent. The one other night we had available, we drove north about 30 minutes to Waterbury, VT, and ate at Hen of the Wood. That was a really excellent dinner as well. That is definitely worth a 30 minute drive from Warren. We had discovered that restaurant on a prior ski trip to Stowe, VT, and already knew it was excellent.

We hope to go back to The Pitcher Inn sometime in the future, either during ski season to hopefully catch Sugarbush on a few good snow days, or maybe in the fall to enjoy the fall colors. It would be a fantastic place to base yourself on fall colors driving trip throughout southern Vermont.

Room Tip: The Mountain Room would be a great choice if you are a lover of winter sports.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiddenGem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Pitcher Inn is a member of the Relais et Chateaux association - 500 or so of some of the world's finest hotels and restaurants. Stayed at the Pitcher Inn August 7-10 2012 with children and their twin one year olds. I expected difficult logistics but instead we were treated to considerate and spectacular service and courtesy, among the very best I've ever encountered in any hotel anywhere. After multiple visits to 35 US states and over 50 countries, I have exeprienced it all - from superb hotels including those in the R&C association, to hotels that leave you with a DNR (do not return) experience. With delighted smiles, the staff accommodated to our every need, anticipated when and how they could help- e.g. washed baby bottles and portable chairs and delivered them to the room in a timely manner. Staff assisted us in every possible way to make this truly an outstanding experience. The general manager Ari is a gift to the hotel industry - it's hard to shape a more hospitable host and talented manager - he did it all; suggesting hikes and lakes appropriate for one year olds, to recommending excellent wines, to playing with the babies, to making sure that their breakfasts were tailored to their schedule, to arranging an in-room candle lit full service dinner.
Food at the Inn was excellent, with delicious, creative breakfasts, and dinners enjoyed by all. The scones, muffins, egg dishes were memorable at breakfast, along with a choice of newspaper delivered to your table. The evening meal was equally delightful -e.g. a unique coconut. sweet potato soup that lingers, followed by a beautifully flavored veal chop and heavenly dessert.The wine selection is excellent. The rustic decor of the stable two bedroom, complete with antique saddles, anvils, rocking chair, and other rural decorative touches, added to the country atmosphere. The beds, bedding and bathrooms were modern and ultra comfortable. Our room, which had been a barn, was fully clothed in a warm wood - floors, walls ceilings. The room needs more lighting, however because it was hard to read at night. Dining rooms at the hotel are country elegant, as is the library. The bar-game room downstairs is so well designed and decorated that it is a destination. The hotel is on the main street in Warren; it is lined with quaint homes, a small theater for live performances, an excellent general store. A scenic river runs parallel to the main street and a creek runs through the grounds of the Inn. This is a superb destination and home base for anyone longing to explore pastoral, or mountainous northern Vermont. The Pitcher Inn experience was a memorable experience and a definite MGB (must go back)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Warren on July 3, 2012; two 'foreigners' passing through on a tour of New England. The reception staff asked if we had come for the parade which sort of surprised us as Warren is a really small place! There is an interesting general store across the street from the inn and a couple of galleries, one (beautiful!) covered bridge and a handful of homes. Why would we think of coming here for a parade? What a surprise we received on July 4 when this tiny village exploded with visitors (10,000!) to witness the annual July 4 parade in this tiny hamlet. An amazing immersion in 'Americana' for a European and a Canadian!

The inn itself is as quirky as the parade...but with far more class! The rooms that we stayed in were one-of-a-kind but enormously comfortable and perfectly in keeping with Relais & Chateaux standards. The staff was simply outstanding. We felt like friends rather than guests but gently pampered at the same time. The bar, which is on the lower level of the building, was destroyed by flooding during the hurricane that hit Vermont in 2011. It has been beautifully refurbished and is a wonderful spot where we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink and hors d'oeuvre.. We had dinner in the dining room which was absolutely outstanding and perfectly accompanied with a recommended wine. Breakfast the next morning was a perfect start to the day's festivities.

We reluctantly left Warren after one night's stay but look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MmeMac_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband, young baby and I stayed in the Stable Room for our 5-year anniversary this year and we can't say enough about the fantastic service, scrumptious food and absolutely gorgeous accommodations here. Upon check-in, we were greeted with a lovely bouquet of flowers, and our luggage was quickly whisked to our room with a smile. There was a mix-up with a pre-ordered bottle of champagne, which the staff quickly corrected (and then some) with no questions asked.

The B&B is nestled on a creek across from a quaint general store and only a couple of miles away from two beautiful, charming towns with ample shopping and even a weekend farmer's market. We spent days strolling through town and sitting in the peaceful, breezy B&B yard together...the setting is absolutely gorgeous. Our room was fantastic as well and each room is unique (be sure to ask to see a few of the other rooms if they are open for viewing!).

The on-site meals were often the highlight of our days - the food here is exquisite, and we highly recommend enjoying a meal on the lovely back porch if you can. Ari, the hotel Manager, also worked with us to accommodate our young family at mealtime and even invited us to enjoy a picnic on the lawn one afternoon, and a dinner in our room in front of the fireplace with our own waiter to facilitate one evening.

We will definitely be back - in fact, we can't wait to return. Thank you, Pitcher Inn staff!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatskillTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
1.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcher Inn

Property: Pitcher Inn
Address: 275 Main Street, Warren, VT 05674
Location: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a picturesque New England village, the Pitcher Inn and spa provides its guests with the best of Vermont tradition. In each uniquely appointed room, there is a harmony between whimsy and elegance. The restaurant proposes contemporary American cuisine, with regional influences and the areas best-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pitcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitcher Hotel Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing