We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clay Brook at Sugarbush
Nearby Hotels
$179
$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$119
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilltop Inn(Montpelier)
$50
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Middlebury(Middlebury)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe(Waterbury)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
96
36
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
36
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimbers restaurantski valetslope sideoutdoor poolhot tubs areamazing resortvalet servicemountain topmulti bedroomsummer weddinggas fireplaceonsite restaurantfour poster bedchez henriski resortnice perkan excellent experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 148 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I have stayed at this resort with my husband and also with my husband and chldren. It is a beautiful, comfortable, clean resort with wonderful amenities ( hot tubs,heated outdoor pool, workout room, warming hut for skis and boots, hot cookies, tea/coffee/hot chocolate) located right on the mountain at Sugarbush resort.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, with balconies, gas firsplaces, beautiful beds with awesome linens and beatiful bathrooms with large baths and really nice bath products and a full kitchen

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Our family recently spent a week at Clay Brook at Sugarbush. This is really a terrific place to stay. The location is unbeatable - right at the base of the slopes. The condos are very nice - comfortable, nice furniture, granite counters, solid kitchen, spacious, big windows looking onto the mountain. Unlike a lot of cheap ski area condos, this one seemed very solidly built - we couldn't hear any noise at all from neighboring rooms. And you have to see this place up close from the outside to appreciate what these folks have done - build this new slopeside condo development in the shape (and with the paint colors) of a traditional Vermont barn. What a cool idea.

We loved:
* having the boot room, where they store and retrieve your boots every day.
* the ski shack up near the lifts, where they stored our skis overnight so we didn't have to trek them back to our room.
* the nice outdoor hot tubs which seemed clean and well-maintained, where we could watch the groomers working the slopes..
* the outdoor heated pool (well, our kids loved that anyway).
* being able to walk down the hall to Timbers, which is a beautiful restaurant with pretty good food overall.

We found the staff at Clay Brook, and at the mountain, to be very friendly and helpful.

The other thing to mention is that Sugarbush is just a fantastic ski area. We think it is the best in the east because it has a lot of terrain, very diverse for skiers of all levels, and you get access to both Sugarbush and Mt. Ellen ski areas on your ticket. Great skiing while we were there, and a good lift system to get you around the mountain without a lot of long traverses. We enjoyed our mid-mountain lunch at the small Allen's Lodge cabin (try their yummy clam chowder - seriously!).

The whole Mad River Valley has a very laid back and low key feel, which we enjoyed, but there are also some very good restaurants if you want to splurge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Granite_Stater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Before arriving at the Clay Brook I had confirmed with the booking office the total balance owed for a 4-night stay. The total was $1101.28. Upon arrival they told us that instead of a King L/O we would get a studio with no breakfast included. I reminded them that breakfast was included and the balance was $1101.28. We accepted the studio. They finally agreed to the total owed. Upon check out we received a bill for about $2,700 or about $1,600 more than we were promised on check in. After a discussion with the manager we got the bill reduced by $1,800! The manager apologized for the mistake.

Breakfast at the Timbers was not good. The service was poor (had to run down the waiter a few times) even though we were the only ones in the room. The French toast came out burnt and the pancakes also came out burnt.

Our room was fine and access to the ski slopes was exceptional. Overall our stay at the Clay Brook was satisfactory for the price we eventually received.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ishpudejko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

The accommodations were exceeded only by the friendly and helpful staff of both Claybrook and Sugarbush Mtn. If you do go during the winter, do sign up for the Snow Cat ride to the summit. The entire family thoroughly enjoyed our private tour of the mountainside, and especially our guide Mike. The skiing was great, no lines for lifts, and the easy access from room to mountain, boot and ski valets, delicious onsite Timbers Restaurant, outdoor heated pool and hot tubs all added together to make our stay most enjoyable. My husband, 16 year old daughter and 19 year old son and I all had a great time. The full kitchen enabled us to be joined for dinner by my extended family. Can't say enough great things about this place. If you requested it, the staff bent over backwards to see that you got it...from grocery shopping for us to in-room massages. If this area is your destination, you need to check out the Claybrook.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank seamimr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My wife and I just returned from Claybrook,Sugarbush. Went there for a quiet weekend before we start skiing. We're used to the hustle and bustle of every day life - this was a quiet break from that. This time of year most places are closed and the resort is quiet, for us this was a major plus. We wanted to spend time together and not worry about traffic.

Alan at the front desk recommended (and now we do too) - the Hide Away (5 minute drive) - local bar and restaurant... Good Beer and wings, nightly specials

Also we hiked up Sugarbush and Camel's Hump (25 mins away) - 2 clear days and fantastic views. We had a kitchen so we packed lunch daily.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boraboravt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews