We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate dining experience in the wine cellar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcher Inn

Pitcher Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Pitcher Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Warren
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Intimate dining experience in the wine cellar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I opted to have a romantic candle-lit dinner in the Pitcher Inn's wine cellar, a cozy space downstairs from the main restaurant and near the casual dining/drinks area of the hotel.

Our biggest concern, as with any wine cellar, is the privacy. You don't want your candle-lit dinner to be constantly interrupted by waiters rummaging around for a bottle of Chablis. Much to our surprise, the room used for these private meals is separated from the main wine storage and prep areas, allowing for you to have all the privacy you want, while still sitting in a bottle-lined cave.

Our food was very good, although I will say that as former Manhattanites and now San Franciscians, it wasn't what blew us away. Instead it was the personal service we received from the sommelier and hotel general manager, Ari. He masterfully helped us pair some wine with our meal and even had us try a few special dessert wines (on the house!) that he thought played well with the dishes we were having. As a whole, it was a dinner that we'd put on par with the top restaurants in New York or California.

If you are looking for a special place in Warren, definitely consider booking the wine room at the Pitcher Inn.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    16
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Favorite Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Always go here several times during our 2 months in VT each summer. NEVER disappointed.
Good food, wine and atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not your typical American Restaurant - worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurent and hotel was our pitstop for the night on our way from Maine to the Adirondacks. The meal was excellent - food arrived very quickly - a bit too fast to be honest between courses but extremely tasty. The homemade ice cream was delicious.

Breakfast the following day was truly outstanding - the bacon and cheese omelette was incredible!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Middle of Nowhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Pitcher Inn is a built from scratch re-creation of an old stagecoach stop that is simply elegant! I could go through all the appetizers and entrees the four of us had, but all that needs to be said is that all were outstanding with not even one suggested change. The filet mignon with "chicken mushrooms" is a must, if only to check out the mushrooms which you would swear were pieces of chicken. The service was excellent, the atmosphere was truly romantic (but relaxed) and the downstairs bar/eatery "Tracks" was also unbelievable. The only missing item was a Malbec on the wine list: my personal preference, but the Merlot was superb. It is difficult to comment on the expense...because the value is so high and I'm not kidding!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Meal of My Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The town of Warren is dissected by a deep ravine with raging water, and the Pitcher Inn sits in a garden on that ravine. The furnishings in the dining room are subdued and elegant-nothing cute or jarring. We were welcomed with complimentary champagne--the real thing. We each had two courses and shared a dessert. Everything we ate could not have been better planned or executed. This kitchen knows how to do food where the taste is the really big thing rather than relying on presentation alone. The wine list is a bit pricey but very good value considering the quality of what we ordered. Professional dining room staff was the final perfection to an incredible meal. Who knew you could get this quality in Warren VT!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OnthegoNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitcher Inn also viewed

 

Been to Pitcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing