We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak and service”
Review of Pitcher Inn

Pitcher Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Pitcher Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Warren
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and service”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

These folks had their wine cellar and basement bar wiped out by Tropical Storm Irene. But the kitchen is back and dishing out fantastic meals one more. We both ordered the filet - one medium well and one medium rare - and they were both done to perfection!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4ontheroadMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    17
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive, but one of a kind!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We opted for the private fixed menu experience. Sadly the wine cellar had been flooded by Hurricane Irene, so the private part was lost. The food was fantastic, and the wine pairings were spot on. It was one of the most expensive meals we had ever had, but the service was impeccable, and the experience truly unique. We would visit again (and probably will next fall), but will stick tot he regular menu.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jasoneconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic dinner”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Loved everything about our dinner here. Quaint and rustic, but also elegant and romantic. Wonderful service. And all of our food was sooo good. Tasty scallops and ravioli, very fresh salad, absurdly good veal chop and a lemon/vanilla tiramisu - I recommend all of it. Extensive wine list and helpful recommendations for choosing something perfect. Would go back over and over.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca07476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeilaart
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A different class”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Of course the food in this inn, member of relais et chateaux, is good and the service is impeccable. If you are in for a chique dinner in top style, go there. A nice well dressed dinnçing room. Staff that is welcoming you in a very friendly way, but doesn´t exagerate. The food was good, but I will allow myself a couple of detailed comments. This in view of the price you pay. My starter was a rillette of duck. good and tasty. However I had the impression that it was cooled down after preparation under pressure. The texture was too hard. Normally a rillette you would be able to smear. That was not the case. But anyhow I ate it with pleasure. My wife had a rack of lamb. The cuisson was 100% right, the meat tender, a classical dish, but very well prepared. The meat did not come however from a lamb (3 months or less) but was from a young sheep of about 9 to 12 months. But also this was delicious. My entree was a veal chop. Ahain high quality, the cuisson exactly to my liking, but a bit short on the seasoning, pepper and salt. All in all, what was served was of high quality and taste, but for this prive you would have expected something special and that I didn´t find. From this comes the score ´very good, whereas many people would have calssified this dinner as being excellent.
The winelist was excellent and had a variety and spread that is hardly seen.The general manager was an excellent sommelier who knew his wines. All the wines were however well overpriced. It was hard to find a bottle under $ 80, there were only a few. An excellent restaurant but it does not entirely meet the expectations raised by the price level.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Good Option for a Nice Dinner”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I had dinner at The Pitcher Inn on a Friday night in February. Despite not having a reservation, the staff happily accomodated my party. The service was very good. The wine list was strong. The food was very good. The menu is heavy on the meat options. The atmosphere was nice - classic New England inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitcher Inn also viewed

 

Been to Pitcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing