We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sugarbush Spring Skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Warren
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our fourth time at Sugar Lodge for family ski trips to Sugarbush. The suite we rent is perfect for us, allowing us to cook in half the time while also taking advantage of the area restaurants (don't miss The Common Man). Bob, Susan, and their staff are always very accommodating. Our sons love the breakfast and just hanging out in front of the fire in the cosy common room. Understand, this is not the Ritz, but if you are in the area to take advantage of the skiing, biking, or hiking, the value cannot be beat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 94 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first and last time staying at this hotel. We stayed in a queen select which is suppose to be quieter due to the second floor location. This was not the case...you can hear your neighbors clear as day through the walls...the floors make so much noise it's impossible for the hotel to be quiet. Next, the fact you can't change the heat setting in your room is nuts and completely imconvient considering that if you want to change the setting you need ti go to the front desk but oh wait! The desk is not manned for most of the day so forget that...the beds are as hard as a rock..I asked for an extra pillow after the first night and never got one because besides the beds being hard the pillows are flat and you only get 1 per person...for what you pay per night service should be better and customers should not be ignored.....ohh and one last thing...it's not very clean..I found dark black hair in the bed, blow dryer shower, and towels...now let's just say I have light blonde hair...clearly wasn't me!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajmoore244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Where do I start? There are so many reasons why I wouldn't stay here again. The first being the rooms don't look as advertised. The beds are rock hard. You are only given two pillows on the bed. I asked for another pillow and they never brought me one. Standard cold breakfast not horrible. Poor parking with not enough spots when there is snow on the ground. Vending machines were broken. Heat in the rooms is forced hot water so you hear the air in the pipes ALL night long.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLM715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarLodge, Owner at Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at the Lodge especially in light of the numerous attempts we made to address your concerns. The pillow was not brought to your room as we indicated extra pillows were located in the bottom drawer in the armoire. Parking unfortunately does get tight after a snow storm but generally only until the plows have an opportunity to clear the lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We came up to Vermont during President's day week for a ski vacation with my wife and daughter. The owners, Bob and Susan, are very hospitable and helpful. Quality of the continental breakfast was good, coffee was made fresh and was very good. The location was very close to Sugarbush and a free shuttle bus picks you up right out the front door every 20 minutes on the weekends so that was very convenient. The owners do not want you walking around with ski boots which I can understand because of the hardwood floors and the noise for people on the lower floor. The lockers held my daughter's snowboard and my skiis so that worked out very well for us. Locks for the lockers are provided without charge. Rooms are not overly big but are nicly decorated and very clean. Double beds were very comfortable and we slept very peacfully. The common room was very pleasent with a cathedral ceiling and a large stone fireplace with a real wood fire (not gas log). The common room provides a very nice place to meet and talk with other guests and eat food brought back from a carryout. Speaking of carryout, we highly recommend the "Creamery", a small carryout located in Waitsfield, at the left end of the "L" shopping center, the one with the grocery store. The Creamery has ice cream but also has very good homemade Mexican food that was very reasonably priced. In addition to Sugarbush there are 2 excellent x-country ski areas within a few miles of Sugar Lodge, Ole's and Blueberry Lake. We did two days of x-country and 2 days of downhill skiing and had a great time staying at Sugar Lodge and would definately go back again!

Room Tip: The hotel is a split foyer design. So the "2nd floor" rooms are on the main level of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talasonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar Lodge over President's weekend. It was in a great location; very close to the mountain. The lodge itself is very nice and very well maintained. Our room was nice, a bit on the small side, but it fit our needs (the beds were a bit hard). Our room was on the ground floor so when you read that you can hear people walking above, it is very true. The floors above squeak and you can hear people talking. That would be one of the negatives of staying on the bottom floor. The owners do ask that you be quiet after 9pm, but unfortunately for us, the people above did not follow that rule. At times it sounded like they were stomping around. The breakfast is good - nothing special the basics: bagels, english muffins, cereals, yogurt, fruit, danishes, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juice. There is a hot tub to use in the afternoon. They are a bit picky as to how many people are allowed in it at a time and will limit your use if people are waiting to use it. I really do not think having 7 people in it at a time, as to 6, makes that much of a difference especially when there are young kids in there, but they are a stickler for rule following. They also do not allow you to wear your ski boots in the lodge, which at first we thought was a bit weird, but really after being there can see why not. They have nice hardwood floors and I am sure they do not want them marked up nor have water spots or the salt/dirt from the snow outside being brought in. (Besides they would only make for more noise.) There is a microwave for your use and coined washer/dryers as well as an ice machine and refrigerator. Those are added pluses when you are traveling. The main room is cozy and nice. There is a big sitting area with a lot of games and a huge fireplace. We used this room a lot and enjoyed hanging out there. Overall, we had a great trip and feel like the Sugar Lodge fit all of our needs. We would definitely stay here next time we come back up. You can tell the owners take pride in their place and want their guests to feel welcomed! (The chocolate chip cookies they had each afternoon/evening were yummy)!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodiR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to stay here because of it's great proximity to the mountain and the fact that it had a hot tub. Sugar Lodge is no more then an expensive motel. The customer service is awful. Before arrived we asked to add an extra day to our trip, and they said they would have to add an additional cleaning charge because we would have to switch rooms. (thank god we decided to stay somewhere else on our last night). The Continental breakfast was standard- cherrios and coffee and bagels. The 'ski lockers' that they provide don't fit snowboards, so Instead of leaving one of our snowboards in the car, we brought it to our room- we had a note under our door that said we would be fined $200 if we had a snowboard in our room. The first night that we went in the hot tub, the water was only half way full. The second day, we given a 20 min time limit. The staff was not very friendly, and did not seem like they even wanted to be there.. The rooms were clean.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarLodge, Owner at Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for recognizing our wonderful proximity to Sugarbush as well as the cleanliness of our property. One of the ways we are able to maintain the quality of our guest rooms is by keeping equipment out. If we had known of your difficulty in fitting your snowboard in an equipment locker we would have offered space in our supplemental storage area which we use for bicycles during the summer season. Covertly bringing wet equipment into the Lodge is not recommended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Simple, clean hotel. Stayed here with a large group of people. We reserved 18 of their rooms and yet were repeatedly asked to "keep it down" by the front desk attendant. Great place if you're looking to go to sleep by 9 pm... Not great if you're hoping to have fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blachausse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarLodge, Owner at Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We appreciate all of our guests and their feedback. It is correct that we want to ensure the enjoyment of our property for all guests; therefore as a small property we strictly enforce quiet hours of 9:00 pm to 7:00 am. This group did have 18+ people; however they only occupied 9 of our 24 rooms on a sold out weekend. There were many other individuals staying in the property who were not affiliated with this group; therefore each evening around 9 pm we did remind the group that they would need to minimize their noise level out of respect for the other guests who were retiring for the evening. We find that the majority of our guests appreciate the engagement of on-site management ensuring that the property is kept smoke-free and as quiet as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
318 reviews
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
507 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush

Address: 2197 Sugarbush Access Rd, Rr 1 Box 73, Warren, VT 05674-9313
Location: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Warren
Price Range: $116 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Lodge is a classic mountain lodge less than 1/2 mile from the Sugarbush Ski Area and Robert Trent Jones, Sr, Golf Club in the heart of Central Vermont. The Lodge offers the amenities you would expect from a larger hotel with the ambiance and warmth of a Vermont Country Inn. With our proximity to the lifts and links with unbeatable rates, Sugar Lodge is the ideal choice for your vacation in Vermont.The Mad River Valley is also a special place in the summer. Escape the heat and humidity and head to the mountains with our cool mountain streams, breezy peaks and the pleasure of our unparalleled culinary delights.Continental Breakfast, Cable TV, Beer/Wine Bar, Free WiFi and Outdoor Heated Pool are some of the modern services that seem to blend seamlessly with the historic post and beam Lodge atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Lodge At Sugarbush Hotel Warren
Sugar Hotel Warren
Sugar Hotel At Sugarbush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing