We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An Absolute Gem in the Mad River Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Tevere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Tevere
Save
You added Hostel Tevere to your Saves list
203 Powderhound Rd., Warren, VT 05674   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Absolute Gem in the Mad River Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed at Hostel Tevere in mid-September and knew I was in the right place when I read the sign in their bar area: "All we do is have fun all the time!" Beds are incredibly clean and warm. Hostels have a bad reputation in America; this establishment could swing an entire shift in cultural thought because of the safe, fun, and cozy atmosphere right in the heart of the Sugarbush valley. I can't think of a better place to enjoy foliage sight-seeing or skiing or just a simple weekend getaway. The food is gourmet-quality at incredibly reasonable prices! If you are going to the Mad River Valley, look no further than Hostel Tevere!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoffSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
4
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

This was an excellent find. The hostel was clean, warm and welcoming and very modern inside with a great bar and restaurant area. There's a pool out back and we were a stone's throw away from Warren Falls which was recommneded to us by the couple that run the hostel. The food they served was delicious. They always chatted to us and offered advice on where to visit-Ben & Jerry's factory! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachLou2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Perfect place for people they travel along Highway 100. Friendly, nice, clean, great restaurant.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pangiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Last summer, 2009, I visited Hostel Tevere several times for breakfast or brunch. This year my first visit was for breakfast on July 31, 2010 . This year it was a total disappointment. The coffee thermos jugs were empty. When refilled, I found the blends selected were way off center and almost undrinkable. The grill cook had the grill exceptionally to hot. Eggs sunny side up were overly cooked on the bottoms, thus making the yokes solid and hard. We felt the sausage was of poor quality and almost flavorless. Pancakes were made from thick batter that did not spread thin, so that the outsides were very crisp, but the pancake was overly thick and spongy in the center. I paid extra to get maple syrup and asked that it be heated. The syrup was served cold straight from the refrigerator. Eggs that were to scrabled soft came out hard. The server volunteered to return to the kitchen and get soft scrambled eggs. On her return the new scrambled eggs were a small improvement but not really soft. We told the server about each disappointing item and asked her to tell the manager. i will not return this year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My friends and I wen to the Mad River Valley just to stay at Hostel Tevere. It is that cool. The artistic and modern flair of the hostel decor is amazing and a welcome addition to small town Vermont. It's perfect--you get the outdoor beauty of Vermont with the design sensibility of Western Europe. The food is tasty, the bar is fun, and the sleeping accomodations are comfy. In fact, I think the bed was more comfortable than the one I have in my own home. There are many common areas to gather and meet people, and 2 Macs available to check email and make ongoing travel plans. Such a wonderful addition to the area. And such a good value. Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarbush,Vermont
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We live in the area and love to come for breakfast. The buttermilk pancakes are fantastic. They make their own yogurt! Sit outside on the desk if weather permits. Great service, casual atmosphere, fresh local food.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarbushvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Came for a ski weekend in March. Three of us stayed in a comfortable 2 bedroom condo which gave us privacy but was next to the hostel so we could enjoy the terrific restaurant and great bar scene. This place is an unbelievable value and a fun place to stay. Hostel Tevere is run by Sarah and Giles who couldn't be friendlier or more accommodating. Food is prepared by Jessica, Sarah's sister, a Culinary Institute grad. Her meals are delicious, healthy and a bargain as prices are low and the portions generous. We ate 2 breakfasts and dinners there and loved everything we ate. There was even a great band playing there on Saturday night. This place is great for singles, couples or large groups. We'll be going back soon and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvonCTgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 4 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 8 in Warren
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 8 in Warren
5.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 8 in Warren
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bridges Family Resort & Tennis Club
2.3 mi away
Clay Brook at Sugarbush
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Tevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Tevere

Property: Hostel Tevere
Address: 203 Powderhound Rd., Warren, VT 05674
Location: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Tevere is a 4 room - 24 bed hostel, welcoming guests of all ages! We serve dinner Wednesday - Saturday evenings in our dining room, and breakfast Sunday morning. We are open to our guests and the public alike! We offer a new, comfortable, clean, modern and affordable lodging option in the Mad River Valley, Vermont! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Tevere Hotel Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing