We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of The Waitsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waitsfield Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A few friends and I stayed here on a ski trip this March. This inn was the coolest place that I've ever stayed. The innkeepers, Jon and Vickie, were genuinely the nicest people I've ever came across. Anything that they could have done to make our stay more enjoyable, they made sure to do. They even pushed their breakfast back to 7:30 instead of 8:00 for us just so that we'd be able to enjoy it before our clinic started. Speaking of the breakfast, it was absolutely phenomenal. Best I've ever had. The room was beautiful, and so was the rest of the inn. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Mad River Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Whenever I'm able to get in a few days of skiiing at Mad River Glen, I spend my nights at the Waitsfield Inn. The Inn is homey, with comfortable, clean rooms. Jon and Vicki are great, very attentive hosts, and the atmosphere is casual and friendly. Breakfasts are varied, hearty and tasty, prepared creatively and in portions that furnish fuel for the day's skiing without popping the buttons on my ski pants .The Inn's central location makes the trip to the mountain or to local stores and restaurants easy. Reservations are sure and efficient, and rates are reasonable. Reliable, consistent, accommodating, excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A weekend of unexpected "bumps in the road" was made tolerable with the kind, sincere service we received at the Waitsfield Inn. The kind of hospitaltity that makes you feel at home. The Inn is clean, quiet, simple and comfortable. Ask yourself, if you broke down in a small town, what kind of service would make your "bump" more tolerable... Owners Jon and Vickie would be your answer! There there when you need/want them, and invincible when you wanna feel like your at home.

Room Tip: Ask the owners, they will place you where you'll be most comfortable, depending upon current vac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The best amenity at The Waitsfield Inn is the owners, John and Vickie. Their hospitality, kindness, and bend-over-backwards attitudes made what could have been a disastrous weekend of car troubles, into one never to forget! Beautiful clean rooms, a comfortable and cozy den/game room, a filling and delicious breakfast were only outdone by their hospitality. We will definitely be returning to the Waitsfield Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been going to the Waitsfield in for about 20 years, and it was wonderful! The owners Vicki and Jon are delightful hosts, catering to your needs. The breakfast was outstanding each day, with a gourmet touch, and the chocolate and cranberry cookies with an additional choice of chocolates and almonds in the evenings was a warm and wonderful surprise after skiing so hard all day. What a welcome sight it was to come "home" to a clean room, warm hosts and outstanding food and drink! We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: I've stayed at Davis, Roderick and Lovila; the latter is the largest and very comfortable, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been visiting the historic,charming Waitsfield Inn yearly for 21 years! We have known four owners and I must say they have all been wonderful hosts but Jon and Vicki are the best. Jon and Vicki welcome you with a warm, genuine smile and will do anything to make your stay a memorable experience. Jon is an impressive cook that will wow you with his delicious breakfasts! We ski Sugarbush at both Mount Lincoln and Ellen which are only 20 minutes from the Inn. Mad River is also close and Stowe is 50 minutes from the Inn. We have stayed at most of the rooms in the Inn over the years and they all have their own charm. We can't imagine staying anywhere else on our yearly Vermont ski trip. We highly recommend staying at the Waitsfield Inn and by the way, all this for an extremely affordable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Waitsfield Inn for skiing in February. The experience could not have been better. John and Vicky were wonderful. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had at a B&B. The great room with the fire roaring in the fireplace and hot cider and fresh cookies waiting after our day at Mad River could not have been more perfect.

 

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipewrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
328 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.4 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#4 of 15 in Waitsfield
113 reviews
2.5 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
162 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waitsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waitsfield Inn

Address: 5267 Main Street, Route 100, PO Box 969, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $139 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Waitsfield Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Waitsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing