We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No grandma quilts!”
Review of 1824 House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1824 House Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No grandma quilts!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Enjoyed a leisurely two days in the comfort of the 1824 house. Loved the delicious baked goods, whipped up by very helpful and knowledgeable innkeeper Emily. No grandma quilts here, the inn and its rooms are tastefully and simply decorated. Enjoyed dinner at The Barn Door restaurant, which in on the premises. Lots of interesting food and drink combos- my favorite being the gin/lemonade concoction. Perfect summer trip in NE!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UGASB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at the 1824 House for one night while attending a wedding. The owners of the inn are wonderful people and instantly made us feel right at home. They offered us delicious freshly made banana muffins and showed us to our room. The owners purchased the inn about six months ago after the former owners were foreclosed upon. They have done a great job decorating and renovating the inn. Breakfast was included the next morning and it was just perfect. I would highly recommend staying here if you're in the Mad River valley area. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBurghardt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston/Cape Cod
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Had dinner their Sunday - prime rib prix fixe for only $26! Worth the drive from Sugarbush.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank BigCJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Original plan for weekend didn't include a stay here but had heard of it previously and were happy we ended up both staying and dining there.
Tastefully and warmly decorated, complete with roaring fire and yummy chocolate brownies and coffee on request on the grand piano after delicious dinner at the barn.
Excellent meal, accommodating waitstaff (popped open champagne for my kir royale) and chef (I'm particular about how I like my duck prepared... he crisped up the skin on request then came out to check on us and happily discoursed on a variety of topics).
French toast and crumbcake for breakfast were tasty, but the baked grapefruit was an acquired taste.
Free wifi was a nice bonus (esp when checking on weather etc). Road noise was there but I live in a city so not a big deal and in any case, it makes sense to travel w/ear plugs.
John and Trae (spelling?) were great hosts - warm, friendly and solicitous, lovely taste in decorating (down to attention to details like q-tips and cotton balls in pretty Japanese bowl in our bathroom), and with friendly but low-profile dogs.

  • Liked — Our hosts
  • Disliked — Lack of control on room temperature
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTravelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2009

My partner and I decided at the last minute to head to Vermont for some skiing. We went online and booked our stay at the 1824 House, there prices were the best in that entire area. When we got there, after a rather hectic travel day, we were greeted buy the innkeepers, Trae & John, who are delightful. They had a fire already going and offered us warm beverages. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud and the breakfast the next morning was DELICIOUS! We spent a brief time at the slope as the skiing was really awful, but dinner that night in the 1824 House restaurant, more than made up for it. We are truly looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Liked — The innkeepers and restaurant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjumani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2008

I stay at the 1824 House any chance I get while visiting Waitsfield. In fact, I enjoy staying there so much that when the Inn is booked, I am sad. The beds are VERY comfortable, food is great, never had a bad breakfast or dinner. Monday night BBQ when available is the best.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My husband and I spent 2 nights here last week and had a very nice time. As some others have mentioned, we are happy to be on our own and had already planned our days, but we did hear Trey giving sight-seeing advice to others and making a box lunch for some hikers. We were in the Caledonia room, which was very comfortably roomy with a king-sized bed and a sitting area. There was also a small patio outside but unfortunately the weather did not permit us to use that. This room was sufficiently far from the road that we were not bothered by traffic noise. We also enjoyed seeing the dogs, and especially JJ the magnificent Maine coon cat. We ate dinner in the barn restaurant and had fabulous meals both nights. As someone else wrote here, the rack of lamb was wonderful, and so was my husband's steak...both items perfectly done. Service was very good also, and the barn is very atmospheric. Strangely, however, we did not feel the breakfasts were of the same quality as the dinners. Again, to quote another reviewer, "grilled pineapple with balsamic vinegar is an acquired taste"..and I haven't quite acquired it yet. The blueberry crumble coffee cake we had the first morning was excellent, but each of us then received one ok pancake and one burned one! Not good. Sausage both days was very good, however. All in all, we enjoyed our time there.

  • Liked — comfortable room and great dinners
  • Disliked — breakfast only ok
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb3449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
315 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
0.6 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
141 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
3.0 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1824 House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1824 House Inn

Property: 1824 House Inn
Address: 2150 Main St., Waitsfield, VT 05673-6173
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1824 House Inn resonates with the charm of the past, while retaining the comforts of today. Conveniently located on historic Rt 100, The 1824 House is just minutes to both Sugarbush and Mad River Glen ski resorts. We are proud to offer eight comfortable rooms with private baths, featherbeds, beautiful views and hearty homemade breakfasts. Guests also enjoy our cozy fireplace, wi-fi access throughout as well as a television in the common room. Swim in our clear Mad River swimming hole in the summer and snowshoe or sled our property in the winter! The inn also serves as an idyllic Vermont wedding and event venue. Don't miss our rustic barn or the views from our river-front pasture and hilltop meadow which serve as the property's most celebrated event sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing