We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERIOR VALUE / LOW PRICES / OUTSTANDING FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of China Fun

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Fun
Ranked #23 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“SUPERIOR VALUE / LOW PRICES / OUTSTANDING FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Yes, it is surprising, fantastic, and has excellent Chinese dishes in abundance. What to order? Spring rolls are better than the egg rolls. Soups, egg drop, hot & sour, and won-ton are equally excellent. I prefer the hot and sour because it has a delicate balance between flavor and spicy hotness. Number 46, beef with mixed vegetables gets the golden Buddha trophy! In every dish having veggies, every veggie has been perfectly cooked, fresh, and in a perfect proportion to the content of the dish. Number 61 "Double Happiness" will truly make you double or triple happy. Go on a day when you can sit outside on one of the four picnic benches in the grassed lawn green space that serves as a small Vermont village square. Restaurant China Fun is indeed fun for both kids and grown-ups.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford,MA
Level Contributor
291 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Didn't realize that this is a take-out restaurant at first. But there are tables to eat on outside. Very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Accommodating for LARGE order at last minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

China Fun were gracious and quick to fill a large order (20 people) at the last minute. We drive from 25 miles away (Rochester, VT) to pick up dinner for a funeral family gathering, and thank them for providing great food even in a snow storm! I know we gave them a confusing order (individual items for everyone), and they came through for us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“CHINESE SPECIALTIES & GREAT VALUES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have sampled take outs from China Fun several years in a row, and we have never been disappointed in the quality or value of the entrees we have eaten. If you want an appetizer, the Pu Pu Platter (for 2) is a great value at $14, 25 with 6 tasty different snacks, and it can be "stretched" for 4 or 5 people. Start off with soup! The dumplings in the Wonton soup are packed full of great tasting white meat chicken. Soup broths are flavorful and not salty, and there are 10 to choose from. Our fave is the Hot & Sour soup. There are picnic tables outside on the Village Square which has a green grass lawn picnic area. Kids love to eat outside at the tables. We like the spicier Sichuan and Hunan offerings, particularly both the Kang Pow Beef and the Hunan pork or beef. The menu also has one page full of non-spicy dishes. The all vegetarian "Chinese Vegetables" had 8 different veggies including baby corn, water chestnuts, and bamboo shoots. The kitchen is open and you can see for yourself that it is clean, well-lighted, and neat. Order takers speak good American English, and handle credit card or cash payments quickly and efficiently. Many customers telephone in their orders so that they can pick up, pay and depart quickly with nicely packaged hot entrees to take home fast. Ask for chop sticks and duck sauce to take home. There is ample parking right outside, and it is lighted brightly at night. In winter, the Village Square parking lot is always promptly plowed of snow and there is easy to access from VT Route 100. Don't forget to take a clearly printed carry out menu for your next dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprising Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

China Fun was a last minute decision to save some money and time on our final afternoon in Waitsfield, but it turned out to be a great meal.
Excellent speed and accuracy of our order.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Fun also viewed

 

Been to China Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing