We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great bar”
Review of Peasant

Peasant
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Rustic French and Italian
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great bar”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I couldn't get a reservation so we sat at the bar. What a great choice! Had great cocktails (the Maple Old Fashioned is amazing) and a delicious meal. Food is substantial, so wish we had shared one entree instead of ordering two. Delightful and attentive owner and staff. Can't wait to come back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LM1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    39
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Upscale Comfort Food!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This is quaint establishment that really seems to focus on fresh local ingredients. The waiter actaully forgot to tell us they were out of salmon; but when my wife ordered it, he apologized profusely and checked with the chef. They actually went next door to the fish market and bought some more. Honestly, it might be te best salmon I've ever tasted. I had the Moroccan beef stew which was awesome. Both dishes were around $20.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hutch28139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“green mountain gem”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Would agree with every other review here - Peasant has been the find of the winter ski season for us. Great food, great service, an all-around terrific experience. Went in with four adults and four kids on a Saturday. While we were admittedly on the early side (a 6pm reservation), the staff allowed us to split seating between a kids table and an adults table, which was fun for both groups (and greatly appreciated by the parents!) The wait staff was great - as attentive to the kids as to us, which speaks volumes about the homey atmosphere. Kids ordered off the main menu with about a zillion minor changes (no this, can you do that, etc) which the kitchen staff happily accommodated. The food is superb. Every one of the adults ordered something different, and we all began picking off each other's plates - none of us could decide which meal was better - everything was superb. If this restaurant were in Boston or New York, you would go out of your way to eat there. That it is in Waitsfield Vermont makes the four hour trip from Boston something to look forward to and almost reason enough to ski at Sugarbush.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeeclipper555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over the top fabulous!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a unique and wonderful dining experience we had last Friday evening! Their slogan is "a simple feast"....but it is anything but simple and here's why...
I had the brussel sprout salad with apple, lardons, and asiago. It was crisp with different tastes working together to create a taste sensation....the mild flavor of the brussels, crisp tart apple, sweet thick bacon, and asiago. Yum!
With the exception of the salad, we (party of 4) ordered the specials of the evening....rabbit, fish chowder with a parsnip purée, and pork osso buco. No one was disappointed.
It is a very popular spot so I recommend making reservations as soon as you can. We had to take the only reservation left on Friday....5:30 p.m. We tried for a reservation for Sat. evening (did we love it there or what?) but they were completely booked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cressytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Simple, Flavorful and Outstanding”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After 6 visits, it is definitely time to write a review! Peasant is an outstanding addition to the Waitsfield restaurant scene - the ambience is relaxed and casual, staff knowledgeable and attentive and the food has never failed to impress us. The menu is not extensive but there are always a selection of wonderful specials in addition to the normal menu offerings. The entree dishes are both incredibly flavorful and mouth wateringly tender where the meats are concerned and last week's baked Mahi Mahi was exquisite, as incidentally was the Winter Squash Soup and the Coq Au Vin. My husband has had the meat ball appetizer on several occasions which is almost a meal in itself and lets not forget the Vermont Cheese platter - another regular menu item. Enjoying a glass of wine or bottle with dinner does not break the bank and there's a really interesting selection to choose from including items from the Chef's own small vineyard. Have to say love that the owner/chef frequently comes out of the kitchen to meet everyone - makes you feel like one of the family. Do make reservations on the weekend, this is no longer a new 'best kept secret' and space is limited.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peasant also viewed

 

Been to Peasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing