We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, cozy skiing destination for family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed in the Morgan Ashlee suite and the Yellow Farmhouse Inn. It was perfect for our family of 4. It was very spacious. Big bedroom, big TV room area for pull out couch, plus there is ample room for a blow up bed mattress. There is a kitchenette area - with small table and chairs, small refrige and sink/counter and microwave that was great for fixing lunches for skiing and apres skiing snacks. The bathroom is huge with a wonderful whirlpool bath. THE ENTIRE FLOORSPACE IS HEATED!!! The breakfasts and afternoon snacks are to die for!!! Great place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4skiersRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 308 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was our first time staying in a B & B and at first we were a bit hesitant. This place however, lives up to its oh so many positive reviews that you will find here on tripadvisor. SO very clean, SO very cozy and SO very comfortable! The innkeepers are a wonderful couple that make you truly feel at home. The food is absolutely fabulous! We loved all of the goodies that they would surprise us with. After coming in from a long cold day at the mountain, we were welcomed to a warm bowl of fresh soup and yummy cookies (all home made). The first morning we had scrumptious pumpkin pancakes with baked pears and custard. Definitely, 5 star service! Can't wait to go back and suggest you do too!
MonLuca

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUrsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Where do we begin? We can't say enough wonderful things about our experience at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn. We stayed for two nights at the beginning of January, but wished that we could have stayed longer. We arrived on Friday night after a snowy trip and were warmly welcomed by Mike. The brownies that were waiting for us were incredible! We stayed in Olivia and it was a fantastic room that included a heavenly king size bed and electric fireplace. Prior to arriving, we had inquired if there was a tv tto watch a big football game on, and we were pleasantly surprised to have a tv ready for us in the room, even though there is one in the common area.

Mike and Sandra are excellent hosts. They ensure that every need is taken care of. They strike a perfect balance of being warm, friendly, and helpful while respecting their guests' privacy (we stayed at a bed and breakfast once where we felt obligated to interact with the host and felt like we could not come and go as we pleased, and we did not feel that way at all at the Yellow Farmhouse). In talking to Mike on Saturday morning, he suggested snowshoeing, which we had never done before. We tried it and loved it (would have done it longer except it was 14 degrees outside).

The food was incredible! Each morning we looked forward to finding out what we would have for breakfast and were far from disappointed. The first morning, we had apple turnovers for the first course, then scrambled eggs with spinach, peppers, and cheese, potato pancakes, and toast with jam. The second morning, we had pineapple custard (it included toasted coconut, which I am normally not a fan of, but it was delicious and I ate the whole thing) for the first course, then lemon cream stuffed french toast with apples and maple sausage. Sandra is a very talented cook and we can't wait to come back and experience more outstanding food.

When we left, we were already trying to figure out when we could come back to the Yellow Farmhouse Inn. We look forward to returning in spring and know it will be a wondeful time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyersFanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

My husband and I had some frequent flyer miles and wanted to take a trip to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. We decided to go somewhere cold and snowy--very different from warm and humid Houston in January. I thought we were staying in your average hotel in the city, but he surprised me with this stay at The Yellow Farmhouse Inn, and we were not disappointed. In fact, it was more than either of us could ever have dreamed! We had a beautiful, spacious room (Catherine) with a jacuzzi tub and a gas fireplace and a roomy king-sized bed. The room itself was perfect enough, but with the view, it was amazing! We looked out over the road to a perfect snow-covered field, complete with red barn and pony with blanket. I'm serious when I say that it looked as though it came straight out of a Currier and Ives painting!!!

The innkeepers, Mike and Sandra, welcomed us into the inn as if they were welcoming us into their own home. Breakfast each morning was delightful--a true gourmet meal made of fresh local ingredients with an obvious touch of the heart. They were sincerely concerned that we have an enjoyable stay and a fun time in Vermont. Mike gave us restaurant recommendations and directed us to nearby attractions. They made us feel totally comfortable, as though we were their friends and not just paying guests!

I sincerely mean it when I write that this short vacation was like a dream. We were truly disappointed to leave, and as of right now I am suffering from a terrible case of Post-Vacation Blues, all because of our wonderful stay at The Yellow Farmhouse Inn.

My husband and I aren't usually the kind of travelers to go back to the same place twice, but we both agree that, should the opportunity arise, we will DEFINITELY be going back to the Yellow Farmhouse.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EttaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

If you're craving a true Vermont, New England experience, book a room in this impeccable, tastefully furnished 1800 or so farmhouse near Sugarbush and Mad River Glen ski resorts. Lots of windows let in views of hills and mountains. Wide pine floors and original beams from the barn (that burned, sadly) remind you that this place really was a milk farm. The hosts are super friendly, easygoing and happy to answer your questions. We arrived late and found a plate of cookies waiting for us plus hot cocoa, a selection of teas and a bowl of candy--all sent a genuine message of welcome.

But that wasn't all. The next morning we sat down to a home cooked, full breakfast, which included a pot of coffee, fresh juice, a mushroom omelet, and fat slices of toast. The morning after that, I was served a crunchy, baked cranberry granola first course followed by real pumpkin pancakes with slices of pear on top. Amazing!

I highly recommend this delightful and serene B & B. Our downstairs room had wonderful views of the mountains, and the quiet country road is just a short 15 minute walk to main street and stores downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bostonontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

My sweetie and I had just one night for a romantic escape while visiting my parents in the Valley. We picked the Yellow Farmhouse Inn based on the many excellent reviews here on TripAdvisor and because we were looking for an affordable room with both a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. In our opinion this place has it all - beautiful location off the main road, gorgeous grounds, and the inn itself is immaculate and tastefully decorated. We loved having a fireplace in our room - it's a nice touch that is hard to come by in this price range. The breakfast and afternoon cookies were delicious, and hosts Mike and Sandra were fantastic - super warm and friendly, very genuine, just chatty enough, and very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and our daytrip to Montpelier. We loved our visit and will definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This is by far the best inn, starting with a warm welcoming and tour of the inn, followed by the most delicious chocolate cookies and then the most stunning and romantic room. We stayed in the Jacqueline room which has a wonderful view of the mountains and the BIGGEST jacuzzi bath tub ever! The breakfast was divine, 4 star quality.
The inn is in wonderful condition and Mike and Sandra were the perfect hosts, always ready with ideas of places to see or where to eat, or just there to engage in wonderful conversation.

We are already planning our winter wonderland retreat back to the Yellow Farm inn.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbear0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
241 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#10 of 15 in Waitsfield
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Farmhouse Inn

Address: 550 Old County Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $129 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Vermont farmhouse, just minutes from Mad River Glen and Sugarbush Resort and Golf Club and all Mad River Valley wedding venues. Luxuriate in our 8 spacious guestrooms, all with elegant private baths and Jacuzzis, some with gas woodstoves. Indulge in our sumptuous breakfasts before experiencing local skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, antiquing or simply relaxing on our 10 acres or our porch swing. Warm fires, breathtaking views and intimate guest rooms make the Yellow Farmhouse Inn the perfect choice for your special Vermont getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing