We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Yellow Farmhouse Inn for two nights. Our stay was very enjoyable in a very relaxing environment. We stayed in the Stephanie Room which had a lovely outlook over a perfect country view. Mike and Sandra were very welcoming and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. The breakfasts were made with fresh local produce, which were a treat each morning. Mike gave us some great advice on scenic drives and also some great restaurants nearby. In all, a totally memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 306 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean as a whistle, Friendly breakfast atmosphere and perfect food, Wonderful hosts, very well located for access to beautiful drives, walks, bike tours, We would love to go back, Great tips on where to go, what to see, where to eat

Room Tip: All the rooms are as shown online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I totally agree with the previous comment, if you are in Waitsfield, stay at Yellow Farmhouse Inn! Don't look further because:-

1) Great location - it's off the main road but still very accessible. Situated on the foot of the hill , providing the best view in town.

2) Friendly hosts - Sandra and Mike has been very attentive and helpful towards our stay, their restaurant recommendation, their local advices and of course their cookies!

Waitsfield is a lovely village and staying in the Yellow Farmhouse Inn makes our trip very memorable!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First thing first...............stop searching for other B&B's.......you've found the best!!! My wife and I have been staying at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn for years and can honestly say it's head and shoulders above the rest. Sandra and Mike have set the bar extremely high as innkeepers, they always exceed expectations and offer a 5 star experience. The inn is perfectly situated in Waitsfield, close to everything you need but just far enough away to not be in the hustle and bustly. The rooms are spacious, incredibly clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable. The property is absolutely stunning and the views are breathtaking. Sanda's breakfasts are delicious and you are never disappointed. If you plan on visiting the Waitsfield area, you must stay here. You simply can't go wrong!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic............you simply can't go wrong!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We eloped at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn last year and this time invited our closest friends to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary with us. They all loved it as much as we did! This is a picky group of travelers too - many New Yorkers and a lot of folks who have traveled extensively. Everyone remarked on how immaculately clean the B&B was and the attention to detail that Mike and Sandra pay to everything both in furnishing the place and keeping it up. They are certainly the heart of the place and just pure pleasure to be around. Sandra's breakfasts were an immediate hit and so were the views whether during the day or at night when we watched a full moon rise over the mountain ridge. We had a truly amazing and relaxing anniversary weekend and our friends are already asking when we're all going back - I think it will be soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B with two outstanding innkeepers-Mike and Sandra.We stayed for two nights celebrating our 49th anniversary.The relaxing setting at this beautiful country inn with its spacious rooms and excellent breakfasts each morning made our brief trip a memorable one..Mike was helpful in selecting a great restaurant for our celebration.He also helped us in planning a day in the mountains sight seeing and walking.They both were hospitable hosts..We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlblackMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights with Sandra and Mike at their beautiful country inn. Both were welcoming, providing any information one might want about the local area.

We very much enjoyed our stay in the large Catherine room, a corner room with beautiful views both out the front and the side. A large modern bathroom, a comfortable bed, nice wood floors, reliable WiFi - it was all excellent.

Located on a rural road the Inn provides peace and quiet - especially passing time in the rocking chairs on the front veranda - while at the same time is only a pleasant 20 minute walk to town. The outside spaces/gardens, very well landscaped add to the ambiance of the Inn.

Sandra's afternoon cookies were particularly delicious and she was more than willing to provide a copy of her recipes.

If ever back in the area we would certainly again stay at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn.

PS We enjoyed an absolutely wonderful meal in town at Peasant - highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in six Inns/rooms during our short trip - all very nice, but we would place the Catherine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
97 reviews
3.6 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
104 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Farmhouse Inn

Address: 550 Old County Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $129 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Vermont farmhouse, just minutes from Mad River Glen and Sugarbush Resort and Golf Club and all Mad River Valley wedding venues. Luxuriate in our 8 spacious guestrooms, all with elegant private baths and Jacuzzis, some with gas woodstoves. Indulge in our sumptuous breakfasts before experiencing local skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, antiquing or simply relaxing on our 10 acres or our porch swing. Warm fires, breathtaking views and intimate guest rooms make the Yellow Farmhouse Inn the perfect choice for your special Vermont getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing