We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean as a whistle, Friendly breakfast atmosphere and perfect food, Wonderful hosts, very well located for access to beautiful drives, walks, bike tours, We would love to go back, Great tips on where to go, what to see, where to eat

Room Tip: All the rooms are as shown online
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
194
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I totally agree with the previous comment, if you are in Waitsfield, stay at Yellow Farmhouse Inn! Don't look further because:-

1) Great location - it's off the main road but still very accessible. Situated on the foot of the hill , providing the best view in town.

2) Friendly hosts - Sandra and Mike has been very attentive and helpful towards our stay, their restaurant recommendation, their local advices and of course their cookies!

Waitsfield is a lovely village and staying in the Yellow Farmhouse Inn makes our trip very memorable!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

First thing first...............stop searching for other B&B's.......you've found the best!!! My wife and I have been staying at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn for years and can honestly say it's head and shoulders above the rest. Sandra and Mike have set the bar extremely high as innkeepers, they always exceed expectations and offer a 5 star experience. The inn is perfectly situated in Waitsfield, close to everything you need but just far enough away to not be in the hustle and bustly. The rooms are spacious, incredibly clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable. The property is absolutely stunning and the views are breathtaking. Sanda's breakfasts are delicious and you are never disappointed. If you plan on visiting the Waitsfield area, you must stay here. You simply can't go wrong!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic............you simply can't go wrong!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We eloped at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn last year and this time invited our closest friends to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary with us. They all loved it as much as we did! This is a picky group of travelers too - many New Yorkers and a lot of folks who have traveled extensively. Everyone remarked on how immaculately clean the B&B was and the attention to detail that Mike and Sandra pay to everything both in furnishing the place and keeping it up. They are certainly the heart of the place and just pure pleasure to be around. Sandra's breakfasts were an immediate hit and so were the views whether during the day or at night when we watched a full moon rise over the mountain ridge. We had a truly amazing and relaxing anniversary weekend and our friends are already asking when we're all going back - I think it will be soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B with two outstanding innkeepers-Mike and Sandra.We stayed for two nights celebrating our 49th anniversary.The relaxing setting at this beautiful country inn with its spacious rooms and excellent breakfasts each morning made our brief trip a memorable one..Mike was helpful in selecting a great restaurant for our celebration.He also helped us in planning a day in the mountains sight seeing and walking.They both were hospitable hosts..We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlblackMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights with Sandra and Mike at their beautiful country inn. Both were welcoming, providing any information one might want about the local area.

We very much enjoyed our stay in the large Catherine room, a corner room with beautiful views both out the front and the side. A large modern bathroom, a comfortable bed, nice wood floors, reliable WiFi - it was all excellent.

Located on a rural road the Inn provides peace and quiet - especially passing time in the rocking chairs on the front veranda - while at the same time is only a pleasant 20 minute walk to town. The outside spaces/gardens, very well landscaped add to the ambiance of the Inn.

Sandra's afternoon cookies were particularly delicious and she was more than willing to provide a copy of her recipes.

If ever back in the area we would certainly again stay at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn.

PS We enjoyed an absolutely wonderful meal in town at Peasant - highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in six Inns/rooms during our short trip - all very nice, but we would place the Catherine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband & I stayed here in July 2013 for our 20th Anniversary and we are so happy we chose the Yellow FarmHouse Inn. The room we stayed in was spacious, very comfortable, and had such beautiful views. Mike & Sandi were very gracious hosts and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. They also provide treats during the day, we had chocolate mint sandwich cookie one day and peanut butter with chocolate filling the other - one word: Yum! There was a small fridge we could store drinks in and the living areas were so comfortable & cozy. We enjoyed a drink & snack while sitting in rocking chairs on the Farmer's Porch looking at the mountains beyond. We also were given 2 excellent recommendations for dinner: Sarducci's in Montpelier and Mary's Restaurant in Bristol - both were outstanding!! Thanks to Mike & Sandi for making our anniversary trip so special!!

Room Tip: They all looked very nicely appointed. If we went back with our 2 boys, we would request the Suite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crmmiller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
315 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
2.2 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
1.3 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Farmhouse Inn

Property: Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Address: 550 Old County Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Vermont farmhouse, just minutes from Mad River Glen and Sugarbush Resort and Golf Club and all Mad River Valley wedding venues. Luxuriate in our 8 spacious guestrooms, all with elegant private baths and Jacuzzis, some with gas woodstoves. Indulge in our sumptuous breakfasts before experiencing local skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, antiquing or simply relaxing on our 10 acres or our porch swing. Warm fires, breathtaking views and intimate guest rooms make the Yellow Farmhouse Inn the perfect choice for your special Vermont getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing