We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“a gem”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B with two outstanding innkeepers-Mike and Sandra.We stayed for two nights celebrating our 49th anniversary.The relaxing setting at this beautiful country inn with its spacious rooms and excellent breakfasts each morning made our brief trip a memorable one..Mike was helpful in selecting a great restaurant for our celebration.He also helped us in planning a day in the mountains sight seeing and walking.They both were hospitable hosts..We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlblackMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
194
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent two nights with Sandra and Mike at their beautiful country inn. Both were welcoming, providing any information one might want about the local area.

We very much enjoyed our stay in the large Catherine room, a corner room with beautiful views both out the front and the side. A large modern bathroom, a comfortable bed, nice wood floors, reliable WiFi - it was all excellent.

Located on a rural road the Inn provides peace and quiet - especially passing time in the rocking chairs on the front veranda - while at the same time is only a pleasant 20 minute walk to town. The outside spaces/gardens, very well landscaped add to the ambiance of the Inn.

Sandra's afternoon cookies were particularly delicious and she was more than willing to provide a copy of her recipes.

If ever back in the area we would certainly again stay at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn.

PS We enjoyed an absolutely wonderful meal in town at Peasant - highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in six Inns/rooms during our short trip - all very nice, but we would place the Catherine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSMoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband & I stayed here in July 2013 for our 20th Anniversary and we are so happy we chose the Yellow FarmHouse Inn. The room we stayed in was spacious, very comfortable, and had such beautiful views. Mike & Sandi were very gracious hosts and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. They also provide treats during the day, we had chocolate mint sandwich cookie one day and peanut butter with chocolate filling the other - one word: Yum! There was a small fridge we could store drinks in and the living areas were so comfortable & cozy. We enjoyed a drink & snack while sitting in rocking chairs on the Farmer's Porch looking at the mountains beyond. We also were given 2 excellent recommendations for dinner: Sarducci's in Montpelier and Mary's Restaurant in Bristol - both were outstanding!! Thanks to Mike & Sandi for making our anniversary trip so special!!

Room Tip: They all looked very nicely appointed. If we went back with our 2 boys, we would request the Suite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crmmiller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I recently spent couple of nights here and we couldn't have had a better time. Mike and Sandra were incredibly welcoming and made our stay truly memorable. The inn is beautiful and the perfect place to relax. Waitsfield is a cute town and just a minute from the inn. We cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn a while ago and I've been meaning to share our wonderful experience there. The Inn is very clean and very well maintained. Mike & Sandra were welcoming and friendly. They cooked a delicious breakfast for us and provided lots of useful advice. Waitsfield is a beautiful little town and an excellent location for exploring Vermont.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyajeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Yellow Farmhouse Inn & felt like we had been away for days! It is a lovely inn - very comfortable and relaxing. Mike & Sandra could not have been more welcoming and their dog Dolly was a bonus! Breakfast was delicious. They gave us great advice on restaurants, biking routes, swimming holes, & other fun activities. There are little touches like a guest frig, wine glasses, and fresh cookies and tea in the afternoon. The view from the front porch is lovely - a nice place to spend time with a book. The rooms are nicely decorated as is the rest of the farmhouse - lovely grounds as well. We will return to this inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoot06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our second stay with Mike and Sandra of the Yellow Farmhouse Inn. We stayed for 3 nights and it was wonderful again as expected. Mike and Sandra are very welcoming and will immediately put you at ease and share with you the best places in town to visit. We were in town for the marathon and after feeding us an early pre-race breakfast they came out to the race course to cheer us on as we started the race. Wonderful people and a beautiful inn. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
315 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
2.2 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
1.3 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Farmhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Farmhouse Inn

Property: Yellow Farmhouse Inn
Address: 550 Old County Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic Vermont farmhouse, just minutes from Mad River Glen and Sugarbush Resort and Golf Club and all Mad River Valley wedding venues. Luxuriate in our 8 spacious guestrooms, all with elegant private baths and Jacuzzis, some with gas woodstoves. Indulge in our sumptuous breakfasts before experiencing local skiing, hiking, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, antiquing or simply relaxing on our 10 acres or our porch swing. Warm fires, breathtaking views and intimate guest rooms make the Yellow Farmhouse Inn the perfect choice for your special Vermont getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing