We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain View Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Waitsfield
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Spa
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rustic Restaurant and Motel(Northfield Falls)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
9
3
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
3
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsown bathroommad river glenspencerfreddwellingssugarbushfarmhouseguestshostsvermont
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 16 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The owners, Fred and Suzy, are very friendly and do a great job operating this cozy inn. The location is ideal, located about 5 minutes by car from Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, and the town. The breakfast, especially the blueberry pancakes, bacon, and cofffee, was excellent. The house has a historic feel to it and the owners have done a tasteful job with the interior decorating. I highly recommend you stay here the next time you are in the Sugarbush / Mad River area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedritoEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Mountain View Inn for one night as the beginning of our Country Inns along the Trail hiking experience in Vermont. Fred and Suzy have owned the inn for something like 38 years, and they have done a lovely job of making it feel homey and comfortable. We had a nice dinner on the night of our arrival, and learned about the trails we could consider hiking the next day. After dinner, our group (there were 8 of us) played Apples to Apples until it was time to go to bed. We had a nice breakfast, packed up our cars, and headed to the Mount Abraham trailhead for our first taste of Vermont trails - hiking on lots of rock! Mount Abraham was our hardest hike of the week, and we were glad we did it first, while we were still fresh. It was a lovely trail, and I recommend it - as well as Mountain View Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

AAAAARGH! How can people open a B&B and make hosts stay in a room full of pictures of the son....with the drawers plenty of the stuff of the son....I had a nightmare, dreaming that I was sleeping with this guy and not with my girlfriend! The room was dusty and smelly...the bed was kept horyzontal with a couple of books....The location and the breakfast are ok.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is the third time we stayed at the Mountain View inn, and it is always a wonderful experience. The owners are so nice and welcoming, and we feel very comfortable being there. The rooms are very comfortable, they are each decorated a little differently, and they all have their own bathrooms.

The location is great for many activities, including skiing at Mad River Glen (just a couple miles up the road) and Sugarbush (maybe 5 or so miles away?). Its really close to lots of hiking, including the long trail. And its proximity to American Flatbread is really important too (if you've experienced American Flatbread you'll know what I mean! its the best pizza!)

The house has been beautifully renovated, I think it was built in the early 1800's, and its what you would expect from an unpretentious Vermont B&B, with lots of country charm and a little rustic with exposed beams and hardwood floors. Very simple and relaxing!

Breakfast was awesome and incredibly filling: we usually started out with 1/2 a grapefruit, coffee, juice, and then had either blueberry pancakes and bacon, or an egg souffle ( i think its called) with blueberry sauce, which was awesome! We even got chocolate covered strawberries to start since we were there on Valentine's day!

In the three times we've stayed here, the house has been spotless, the showers wonderfully hot after a day of skiing, and the hosts couldn't be more welcoming. We go to this area often and will definitely always stay at Mountain View.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProvenceLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We were a bit apprehensive because of a bad review, so we were most pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spotless, the bathrooms small but functional, and the service wonderful and friendly. No TV but lots of games for the teen-agers. Also, after a full day of skiing and dinner, we were all quite tired. Breakfast was delicious and healthy. The house is old but full of charm. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0000christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews