We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Staff, Great Accommodations, and Awesome Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hyde Away Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff, Great Accommodations, and Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The staff at the amazing Hyde Away Inn were super helpful & extremely nice! They gave us a great rate on one of their biggest rooms and they were very helpful in giving suggestions of what to do around the beautiful state of Vermont. The breakfast was more than just ordinary, it was made to order with local foods & made you feel at home! The bar was very welcoming & the staff was very friendly. The food at their restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced considering it is all locally grown goods. Not only is this a great place to go in the winter, but it is an awesome place to go in the summer. There are many watering holes where you can layout or swim and a ton of trails where you can explore the wild. This place is great for a weekend vacation, a family get away, or for any occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We also enjoyed the bar scene and the bartender was cool making us drinks of our own design like a Maple Syrup Russian. Thats a white russian with obviously a dash of real Vermont maple syrup. We met the Owner too.

Room Tip: Did not spend the night just had dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have stayed here twice now to ski at Mad River Glen. Both times we stayed in the adjacent 2 story guest house. The house is wonderfully comfortable with everything you could need. The kitchen is perfectly equipped for cooking all meals. The beds are very comfortable and the bedrooms extremely roomy. There is a nice size bathroom with plenty of fluffy towels. A cozy fireplace and plenty of seating for everyone. The nicest part is that they allow the four legged family member to come and stay as well. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

For the past five years, we have made an annual pilgrimmage to ski at Mad River Glen and Sugarbush. When we do, we stay at The Hydeaway. Margaret and Bruce are wonderful innkeepers and the breakfasts included in your stay are delicious. We usually eat dinner at the restaurant at least once each visit also. Never disappointed. Staying here is a great value!

Room Tip: The Fireplace Room is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our family of 4 (and 2 young girls) stayed President's Weekend. It's the perfect place in the perfect location with easy ski access. Margaret was very nice and the food/atmosphere in the dining room and adjoining bar was the way apres-ski should be....nice people...fun. The bartenders were both great and fast. We only ate 1 night elsewhere....the other 3 nights we ate at Hydeaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stopped in over Thanksgiving wknd. On a recommendation from friends that have been going there for years and we were not disappointed!! Great food, great beers and great atmosphere. Bob the bartender was most entertaining! Then MK came in to join Bob behind the bar and to watch the two of them interact with one another and customers was special! I can see why people love going there when you have staff like that greeting you!! Thank You Bob and MK, we will be back again and again!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlickRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have eaten there several times now and have yet to be disappointed. The service is prompt and friendly and the food very good. They have a well stocked bar that dares to have interesting products -- their beer selection shows an effort to provide the best that local Vermont has to offer.

The last visit, a few weeks ago (I go to the Hyde Away at least once a month) was another happy evening. The Mehuron's Market special steak was done to perfection, the garlic mash competent and was washed down with a can of Heady Topper. What more could you ask from a local Inn? There are no pretensions of "fancy", just clean, fresh and tasty. I was, however, sorely tempted by the stuffed pork chop also on special -- which I was reliably informed by a fellow diner at the bar to be delicious.

Service was, as usual, friendly and fast. This is a well run establishment and the waitstaff properly trained. No pressure, not overly attentive, but when you are ready for something they are there.

And value. The Hyde Away provides excellent value. It is the conjunction of value and quality that gives it 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Hyde Away! Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
0.6 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Property: The Hyde Away Inn
Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7367
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hyde Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a legendary Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. 10 rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families, the Hyde Away House, and retro ski dorm bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hyde Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing