We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4, great for kids, good food and atmosphere!”
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hyde Away Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our family of 4 (and 2 young girls) stayed President's Weekend. It's the perfect place in the perfect location with easy ski access. Margaret was very nice and the food/atmosphere in the dining room and adjoining bar was the way apres-ski should be....nice people...fun. The bartenders were both great and fast. We only ate 1 night elsewhere....the other 3 nights we ate at Hydeaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stopped in over Thanksgiving wknd. On a recommendation from friends that have been going there for years and we were not disappointed!! Great food, great beers and great atmosphere. Bob the bartender was most entertaining! Then MK came in to join Bob behind the bar and to watch the two of them interact with one another and customers was special! I can see why people love going there when you have staff like that greeting you!! Thank You Bob and MK, we will be back again and again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlickRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have eaten there several times now and have yet to be disappointed. The service is prompt and friendly and the food very good. They have a well stocked bar that dares to have interesting products -- their beer selection shows an effort to provide the best that local Vermont has to offer.

The last visit, a few weeks ago (I go to the Hyde Away at least once a month) was another happy evening. The Mehuron's Market special steak was done to perfection, the garlic mash competent and was washed down with a can of Heady Topper. What more could you ask from a local Inn? There are no pretensions of "fancy", just clean, fresh and tasty. I was, however, sorely tempted by the stuffed pork chop also on special -- which I was reliably informed by a fellow diner at the bar to be delicious.

Service was, as usual, friendly and fast. This is a well run establishment and the waitstaff properly trained. No pressure, not overly attentive, but when you are ready for something they are there.

And value. The Hyde Away provides excellent value. It is the conjunction of value and quality that gives it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your time at the Hyde Away! Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family of four stayed here over a long weekend for a family wedding just down the road. Close to Burlington and lots of hiking and scenery. Many of the guests were cyclists. The location is great, and the accommodations were fine. The woman who checked us in was very friendly, had helpful suggestions for all of our interests, took us on a brief tour of the place and showed us how to get to the breakfast rooms by a short cut through the kitchen, since our room was in the rear. As other reviewers have said, the furniture could use an upgrade, but the tavern was a great place to unwind at the end of the day. The local brews were tasty and we watched the baseball playoffs with the locals and other guests.

Breakfast was good, not massive portions but local syrup and blueberries for the pancakes.

Room Tip: The Fireplace Room was perfect for a family, and we used the fireplace every night. The bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Motorcycle ride to the Mad River valley and stayed overnight at the Hyde. Mike at the bar was excellent, the selection of local craft beer outstanding and the new flights of tequila tasting menu was an unexpected but welcomed add on. New menu rocks, try the Mehurons steak with black beans, big as the platter and expertly done to order. Only suggestion: time to upgrade the furniture in the restaurant, the college dorm room look does not do justice to the meals served and theres no available privacy if wanted or needed. Tavern is where its at anyway.

Room Tip: Rooms B1 and B2 or the porch rooms M2 & M3 are the best value choice for stag weekends (either m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a friend's beautiful wedding. This is definitely a great place for families or people just looking for a quiet, friendly retreat in the mountains. It's near plenty of outdoor recreational activities and only about 45 minutes from Burlington.

This place is bed & breakfast style and run by a very sweet family. The rooms are clean, recently renovated and spacious. My friends and I got the Ulla Suite so we could have some privacy between the three of us and it was perfect. The breakfasts were great and filling. There's also a great tavern attached to the inn as well where I noticed some locals tend to hang. I loved hanging out there for a night cap each night.

I can't wait to come back next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikumpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've stayed at the Hyde Away twice now and will be going back again soon. The place is in a fantasic location, cosy rooms great food, bar with a good selection of beer and most of all really nice people and a lovely terrace to sit on. What more can I say!
For bikers it is a perfect destination, great motorcycling roads and once you are parked up for the night there is no need to go out again looking for food or a beer. Put the bike to bed and enjoy!!

Room Tip: I like the chalet rooms (M2 M3) just outside of the main area but with easy covered access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
0.3 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7367
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $106 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hyde Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a legendary Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. 10 rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families, the Hyde Away House, and retro ski dorm bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hyde Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing