We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and enjoyable”
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hyde Away Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The new menu looks great, ribs were awesome! Service was excellent, as usual !!. Skiing,hiking, biking,fishing and boating all near by. what more could you want?!
Would recommend to any and all, southerners and northerners alike!
Steve & Marge

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the new menu which will be changing every month or so. Highlighting seasonal offerings and guest requests. We certainly appreciate your business! Thanks, Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

We did not stay at the Inn. My husband and I ate dinner at the restaurant. When the waitress noticed my southern accent, she suddenly became rude and even offensive. The bread and salads were great. The entree was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank cayo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We also appreciated you all taking the time to call us and talk to us about your experience. We have certainly listened and taken appropriate steps.

We are so disappointed that your experience was not what it should have been. As we said before, if you're in the area again, please let us know. Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hydeaway for 2 days because of its location for a cycling weekend. A few comments;

It took 3 phone calls to get them to send me a confirmation of my on-line reservation.

Upon arrival, I could find no one to show me my room until I wandered into the kitchen where the cooks assistant finally found the owner.

My wife and I had a small picnic lunch with one beer on a picnic table in the backyard. The bartender ran out and told me I was welcome to drink my beer in my room but not on his table.

The tapwater in the room smelled strongly of sulfur and was undrinkable and harsh to bathe in.
The bathtub drain was partially plugged.

Peeling paint in the bathroom and bedroom.

No one came to clean the room or make the bed.

While our ground floor room stayed cool our friends room in the attic was so hot they couldn't stay there during the day.

On Sat. afternoon having just lay down to take a nap the fire alarm goes off. No owner in sight, no way to turn it off. After several attempts to contact the owner and local fire department the volunteers show up and suggest that one of us pulled the alarm!

Did the owner apologize? No. He didn't even acknowledge that something had happened. And our reward for all this? Undercooked pancakes for breakfast.

I think the owner wants to concentrate on his bar business and he should because I thought this was a terrible way to treat a guest. It's a bit hard to find lodging in this area because many are not on the web. But there are better options for the $$.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are certainly disheartened that your stay with us was less than desirable.

Being a smaller, family owned property we try to do our best. We do not have a front desk. But you shouldn’t have had to wander around to find someone to help you. We have since posted a note for our first time guests as to where to go to check in.

We are sorry for the inconvenience of not being able to have your own beer in the backyard. Once our Restaurant is open at 4 pm- it is not legal to have outside beverages consumed in our licensed area.

It sounds like your room was a disappointment. You were in one of our smaller, less expensive rooms, which are slated for renovations. We will put that as more of a priority. Had we known of your dissatisfaction during your stay, we could have tried to rectify problems and also offered you our larger, upgraded rooms.

The accidental fire alarm was such an unfortunate incident. We are so sorry that our guests were bothered. We are so thankful that it was a false alarm. I am aware that our Manager spoke with members of your group on several occasions expressing apologies. The next morning when I addressed this, the focus shifted to your friend who had the biking accident and his well being.

Once again, we are so sorry for what seems to be so many mishaps during your stay. While we always welcome both positive and negative feedback, it is certainly disheartening to hear the negative. But we can assure you that we take all comments very seriously and try to work on our business so that everyone wants to come back and back.

Please feel free to give me a call if you have other thoughts and ideas (802-496-2322) Thank you, Bruce Hyde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Found this place via rough guide and tripadvisor. Only meant to stay for one night during a six night trip round New England. Stayed a second night as location, food, service and price all superb. Perfect place to explore the area from and the barman was very educational on baseball (but I still think it makes little sense and is just a version of rounders). Would definitely recommend and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Hyde Away was a great place to stay. We brought our St. Bernard along with us to enjoy Vermont. We got the Fireplace room, and was shocked by how large the room was. Queen bed and bunks on one side of the room. We had 3 people and a huge dog, and all had plenty of room. The best part about this place is the restaurant attached to the inn. The food was AMAZING! Right down the road from Sugarbush and Mad River, you can't ask for more. We used a doggie day care place that came and picked our dog up before we headed out to the mountain, and dropped him off at the end of the day. Couldn't have asked for better service up at the Hyde Away. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomcal731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Came up mid week to Stay in the Ulla Suite with two friends. Had and absolutely amazing time. I can't remember the last time I went to a place where you can sit down and have a beer with the owners. The room was great and could have slept more than just the three of us with ease. The food was top notch, and the free breakfast hit the spot! Thanks again and see y'all soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiawahisland9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here over New Years, and had a great time. The location is perfect, only about 5 minutes for Mad River and Sugarbush, and another 5 from town. The rooms could use a little updating, but it is made up for by the friendlyness of the owners and staff. Great apres ski bar too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7367
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $96 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hyde Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a legendary Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. 10 rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families, the Hyde Away House, and retro ski dorm bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hyde Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing