We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hyde Away Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Came up mid week to Stay in the Ulla Suite with two friends. Had and absolutely amazing time. I can't remember the last time I went to a place where you can sit down and have a beer with the owners. The room was great and could have slept more than just the three of us with ease. The food was top notch, and the free breakfast hit the spot! Thanks again and see y'all soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiawahisland9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here over New Years, and had a great time. The location is perfect, only about 5 minutes for Mad River and Sugarbush, and another 5 from town. The rooms could use a little updating, but it is made up for by the friendlyness of the owners and staff. Great apres ski bar too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We have travelled many places and this is a gem. Relaxed, simple, friendly staff. We loved the tavern and it's great food. The owner, Margaret, really helped us with what to and the rest of the staff was just as great. Had been there before, and really wish the spinach dip would come back. Also, missed seeing our favorite bartender, Mitch. Love the place! Don't expect elaborate frills but a great, Vermont experience. Can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: The Williams Suite is a really nice room! Loved it with it's big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52oceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Another great family stay at the Hyde Away. Margaret, the owner went out of her way to make us welcome and Mike at the bar was outstanding. Highly rcommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed one night at Hyde Away Inn based on a recommendation from a nearby store. Hyde Away is owned by Bruce and Margaret Hyde who are the most warm, friendly hosts I've ever encountered. It's a very old house with so much character and the hosts make you feel right at home. We had a small room which was very comfy and quant. We hadn't reserved a room so the rest of the inn was full. they have a variety of rooms to choose from. The Inn is very clean and well maintained. there's also a full service restaurant which we had dinner at-the menu offers bar food and regular meals. We were inpressed with the quality of the food-we chose bar food and a salad. They also have a full service bar and game room and a large deck outside for sitting and relaxing. Breakfast was included in our room and we got to choose from a menu what we wanted to eat. Ample selections were offered.

If we ever are in the area again we would definitely reserve a room here. It was a wonderful experience. This is a great area to visit anyway due to scenic drives and lot's of rivers.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have been meaning to write a review about the Hyde Away in the Mad River Valley- the recent tropical storm that severely hurt parts of Vermont made me think of the last visit to the most beautiful state in the union. The Hyde Away is a very cool Inn located a mile or two from the Mad River ski area- which is an extremely great ski experience. The Hyde Away has great food and bar- and the rooms are clean comfortable and geared for families and outdoor sporting crow. The bar is a great place to meet locals and travellers from near and far. Great owners/hosts. Highly recommend this establihment. Vermont offers something for everyone and every season brings its own version of beauty. Support Vermont - visit the Mad River Valley.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAINMAN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have eaten here twice in the past few months and we like the quiet dining room and the unhurried, casual pace. The food is good, the value for your dollar is excellent. Portions are generous and the wait staff is helpful and not pushy. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7367
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $96 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hyde Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a legendary Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. 10 rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families, the Hyde Away House, and retro ski dorm bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hyde Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing