We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great inn for skiers!”
Review of Mad River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad River Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Recently, we stayed at the Mad River Inn. The host , Luc, was friendly and helpful. We always looked forward to the tea and homemade cookies after long days on the slopes. Luc made us a great three course breakfast each morning: muffins, fruit and a special main course like eggs benedict! It was cozy and had a fireplace where guests would gather and talk. The rooms and the beds were comfortable. I wish we brought our bathing suits because there is a hot tub. This is our second time coming to the Mad River Inn and we hope to go back again.:>)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 113 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

My wife and I just returned from another excellent ski vacation in VT! This was our third time staying at the Mad River Inn and we could not be happier with our experience. Luc and his wife Karen were excellent hosts and made everyone feel at home. Luc is a superb cook and made a different breakfast every morning, you will never leave the breakfast table hungry. When we came back from skiing or snowshoeing there was hot tea and an assortment of fresh cookies waiting for us. The Inn is very well kept.... our room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was very comfortable with high quality sheets that made us look forward to getting into bed. There is a place to relax downstairs with a pool table and TV. The living room on the main floor has very comfortable couches and a great fireplace. The hot tub was the perfect way to relax after a long day on the slopes. Luc always has great suggestions for places to go for dinner. We cant wait to go back and try a guided horse ride from Karen at her Icelandic Horse Farm!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I booked my vacation through Hidden Trails for an equestrian vacation. This being the first I've taken I didn't really know what to expect. What I did get was a wonderful relaxing weekend away in Vermont during early summer and could not have asked for more. Luc and Karen and their family were wonderful hosts with Luc's fantastic cooking, Karen's knowledge of horses and patience with riders and the inn was charming. After riding all day it was nice to soak in their hot tub with a glass of wine looking at the moutain view. I will definately go back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkittyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Mad River Inn, brought us back to basics. simplicity, best describes life. they serve with love and love to serve. we're looking forward to going back in the fall to have the greatest breakfast on the porch over looking the most magnificent landscape. the value of the service at Mad River Inn versus it's closeness to stowe and other ski resorts makes it a perfect place to stay. we had a great time and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkSting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

It has been my pleasure to stay at the Mad River Inn on many occasions. In fact, I could not imagine staying anywhere else when visiting the Waitsfield, Vermont area. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and immaculate. Luc, the owner and his wife Karen always make you feel welcomed. If you'd like a really special experience, be sure to take a trail ride at the Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm owned by Karen. Last but not least, is the delicious and plentiful gourmet breakfast that Luc serves. You never get up from the table hungry.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank njtraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My wife and I were responsible for escorting our southern friends (2 couples born and raised in the south) for a 9 day tour of New England for a cultural and historic experience. We thought it would be something unique to spend a night at a bed and breakfast in Vermont. We chose The Mad River Inn from their website. We could not have been more pleased. The house was in a wonderful setting with very unique rooms. The breakfast of fresh fruit, homemade muffins and a German pancake were delicious. Luc (our host) and his family were a delightful group to spend time with.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank YankeeJoe008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Great food Luc (the host) suprises you every morning with amazing breakfast dishes we were there for one week and each day was something new, those muffins the smell of them backing and the fresh coffee. We had a beautiful room, the Inn is impecably clean. Theres a beautiful walk that goes for miles a five minute walk from the Inn and there were so many great restaurants that Luc recommended to us being it was our first visit. We also love riding horses and Icelandic Horse Farm is ten minutes away. I highly recomend The Mad River Inn and we will go back in the ski season. The Dubners Palm Beach Fla

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
2.2 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
240 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: $134 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mad River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing