We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim P”
Review of Mad River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mad River Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Old Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jim P”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and four children had awesome stay at the Mad River Inn. We normally rent houses for ski vacations, mostly for privacy. When we arrived we immediately felt welcome. A large living room with a fire was a great place to relax after skiing.Luc and his wife, Kathy run a first rate bed and breakfast while maintaining a relaxed atmosphere. Luc prepared breakfasts every morning, cookies and tea in the afternoon and all my kids (ages 8-15) enjoyed the hot tub after skiiing. They also enjoyed a pool table and tv on the lower level.The rooms and the bathrooms were immaculate. My children had a great time and they felt at home with Luc and his family. We would highly recommend a stay at the Mad River Inn and plan to visit again.




immaculate

Room Tip: We rented three rooms and they were all cozy and clean. Beds were really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at many B&B's over the years, all around the country. We have to say that this B&B was by far the best trip so far. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants an enjoyable stay. The Inn Keepers are very friendly and accommodating and they have beautiful well behaved dogs. They also have an Icelandic Horse Farm. It almost feels like it's your own home, as they let you hang out in their kitchen. Oh yeah, they also have a great outdoor hot tub on the back deck with beautiful views. I practically lived out there during my stay.

My daughter Emily became best friends with their daughter Amelie during our stay. We are definitely going back there soon.

Don & Jackie G.

Room Tip: They have all types of rooms for singles, couples and families. We had a 2 bedroom with bath with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I love the Mad River Inn! We went up for a ski vacation and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. When we came back from skiing there were cookies and tea waiting and a fire in the fireplace. The Inn is a great place to relax after skiing. Weather you want to sit by the fire in the living room or relax in the hot tub on the deck while looking at the great views of the mountains. Luc, the owner, really makes you feel at home and is an excellent host. We were there for 4 days and every morning he made a different breakfast, and they were incredible!! Everything is made fresh each morning and there was plenty of food. The rooms are very nice, the beds are comfortable and every room has it's own bathroom. The entire inn is spotless. While there we met Luc's wife, Karen. Karen owns an Icelandic horse farm. We decided to take an hour long ride on the one day we didn't ski. The horse farms is amazing as well as the horses. It was an experience that we will never forget. We would definitely recommend the Mad River Inn as an excellent place to stay and will be going back again for sure.

Room Tip: From what we could tell all the rooms look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The accommodations at the inn were first-rate; the staff was helpful,friendly and polite; and the breakfast was a great starter to the day. I have no qualms about referring friends and family to stay here---my wife and I definitely will! W'ere a little old for riding the Icelandic horses, but that must be a fun way to explore the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that my wife and I have stayed in are comfortable and have their own unique charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, CT
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I love the Mad River Inn! Luc and Karen and their two amazing daughters are fantastic people, the inn is comfortable and welcoming, the food is incredible, and the icelandic horses are sure-footed and great fun! I had a terrific time. Coming home after a ride in the cold autumn air to tea and delicious cookies was a real treat. I felt pampered and relaxed and it couldn't have been a better getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Mad River Inn is a beautiful country Inn tucked into a beautiful valley surrounded by fields and farms. The owner, Luc, is charming and fun and really makes the experience truly wonderful. His wife, Karen, runs the Vermont Icelandic horse farm, which is about five miles away. There were six of us at the Inn staying during a week-long horseback riding package. Between Luc's hospitality and Karen's knowledge of her Icelandic horses and the Vermont countryside - it is impossible to pick just a few things to review. It was a very unique experience with wonderful people who clearly enjoy their life in Vermont. If you love rustic and beautiful country Inns, superb hospitality in a quiet and gorgeous setting - then the Mad River Inn is for you. Just loved it.

Room Tip: I had a beautiful room on the first floor - two windows that looked out into the rolling fields. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsville, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you appreciate nice food prepared with excellent quality ingredients, you will delight in the meals here! We had not expected such abundance at both breakfast and dinner, and with such beautiful presentation as well. We had the run of the house during our stay and were so glad that we chose the Mad River Inn for our stay.
The Innkeepers could not have been more accommodating!

Mike &Kelly

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Gazebo and hills beyond is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
315 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
2.2 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
209 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#10 of 15 in Waitsfield
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Property: Mad River Inn
Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing