We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vermont Experience!”
Review of Mad River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mad River Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vermont Experience!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the Mad River Inn on six weekends during the summer of 2012 (I love riding at the Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm). The Inn is located in a gorgeous and serene spot in the Mad River Valley and has a warm Victorian feel. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, with private bathrooms, and are excellent for relaxing and resting, especially after a day of riding. The hosts, Luc and Karen and their kids make you feel right at home and Luc's cooking is wonderful! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedbirdO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an old farmhouse that has been maintained pretty well. It is rustic in nature on a very quiet country road. Breakfast was very good served by Luc's daughters who were very well suited for the job. If you are looking for a rustic setting in a beautiful location this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchSonora_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Warm, beautiful, comfortable, clean, welcoming and delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Thank you Luke for being such an attentive Inn-Keeper. The company at the Inn during our stay were interesting people from all over America. The hot tub was hot and the views excellent. We whole-heatedly recommend this small, intimate, family owned business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tranquility
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had not visited Luc and the inn for several years so we were happy to return. The inn was just as we remembered and the grounds beautifully maintained. Attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. The outdoor eating area is accessed through the kitchen so each guest can see the cleanliness of the kitchen. Breakfast is a delightful happening with Luc explaining the main course and the ingredients.

On our last night there, we were very fortunate to be included in the family dinner. Since the Mad River Inn is associated with the Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm three summer employees of the farm joined us. They, along with Luc and Karen’s two children and a young cousin provided for a very entertaining evening.

Take time to enjoy the gazebo for a quite afternoon and the hot tub after a day of riding. While there take a trip to Stowe and stop at Ben and Jerry’s before or after taking a trip to Mt. Mansfield.

We will not let so much time pass again before we return to the Mad River Inn. It is a wonderful B & B experience.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm and a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at the Mad River Inn on the weekend of May 18, 2012. This was the second time that we stayed here This bed and breakfast is fabulous. The owner Luc and his wife Karen and children make you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious and we met guests ( a family ) that were so nice. We really enjoyed our week-end. The rooms were very clean and it was nice to be away from home . I would and am recommending this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent two night at the Mad River Inn in September 2010 (it's been awhile but we're thinking about visiting again and I realized I never wrote a review...so here it is!).

We though the property was absolutely beautiful. The owners were very kind and helpful, but always gave you privacy. The accommodations were comfortable and the photos on the website accurately reflect the rooms look and feel.

We had two breakfast meals and they were both out of this world! The weather was cool and we sat on the back porch enjoying a lovely morning with some seriously delicious food.

I recommend this B&B to everyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in the George Martin room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Its confusing, or it was to me at least. This B&B is accessed via the same website as the Icelandic Horse Farm but although run by a married couple, the accommodation and the riding are two completely separate businesses, run by each of them at separate properties.

I thought I had booked 5 days at a B&B on a horse property and was not the only person there who had made this mistake. If you are booking, be aware that riding groups book out the rides months in advance. The website could mention this for the sake of idiots like me.... We did eventually get on a horse after I made a nuisance of myself and Karen kindly made space for us.

The accommodation is adequate and the breakfasts very eggy and sweet for our Australian palates. We longed for good bread and unadulterated fruit. Unlike most B&Bs, everyone sits down together at one table for a long, drawn out breakfast 8-9am and there is no way to have that morning privacy you often crave whilst travelling.

I have to say Luc and Karen work extremely hard to make all this happen but its a difficult business model to bring off with the sort of ease that makes a stay at a B&B a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMD-sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Property: Mad River Inn
Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Location: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing